Matilda Hofman

Matilda Hofman has a varied conducting schedule in both California and Europe. She has performed at the Salzburg Festival, Musikfest Berlin, Holland Festival, Ruhrtriennale, Luzern Festival and Paris Autumn Festival with groups including Ensemble Modern, ensemble recherche, Bochumer Symphoniker and Luzern Sinfonieorchester. Matilda has also conducted the SWR Symphonieorchester and Kammerakademie Potsdam in concert and has worked with Schola Heidelburg and ChorWerk Ruhr. She is on the faculty for soundSCAPE new music Festival in Italy in 2018.

In California Matilda is works regularly with new music groups Empyrean Ensemble and the Left Coast Chamber Ensemble. She has recorded Kurt Rohde’s Concertino, and given the premiere of his operas “Death with Interruptions” and “Never was a Knight”. Reviews have described her conducting as “taut and finely controlled” and as giving “a striking sense of purpose” (“San Francisco Classical Voice”). Matilda is also director of the Early Music choir at University of California, Davis and works with San Francisco’s professional new music choir Volti.Matilda is Music Director of the Diablo Symphony Orchestra and conductor for the Sacramento Ballet. She has cooperated with the Fremont Symphony Orchestra, San Francisco Ballet, Festival Opera, and Sierra Summer Festival.

Matilda studied at Cambridge University, the Royal Academy of Music and the Eastman School of Music, and also as a conducting fellow at the Aspen Music Festival and School. She has received awards from the League of American Orchestras and the Conductors’ Guild of America. Mentors have included Ingo Metzmacher and Martyn Brabbins.

As of July 2018

Past Events

Matilda Hofman

 

Matilda Hofmans künstlerische Entwicklung wurde geprägt durch vielfältige Dirigate in Kalifornien und Europa. Sie dirigierte bei den Salzburger Festspielen, beim Musikfest Berlin , dem Holland Festival, der Ruhrtriennale, den Luzerner Festspielen und dem Pariser Herbstfestival unter anderem Ensembles wie das Ensemble Modern, das ensemble recherche, die Bochumer Symphonikernund das Luzerner Sinfonieorchester. Matilda Hofman leitete auch das SWR Symphonieorchester und die Kammerakademie Potsdam und arbeitete mit der Schola Heidelberg und dem ChorWerk Ruhr zusammen. Im Jahr 2018 dirigiert und unterrichtet sie beim Festival für Neue Musik soundSCAPE in Italien.

In Kalifornien arbeitet Matilda Hofman regelmäßig mit Ensembles für Neue Musik, dem Empyrean Ensemble und dem Left Coast Chamber Ensemble. Sie hat Kurt Rohdes Concertino aufgenommen und seine zwei Opern uraufgeführt. Matilda Hofman ist Leiterin des Early Music Choirs an der Uuniversität von Kalifornien, Davis und eng verbunden mit dem Chor für Neue Musik Volti in San Francisco. Sie ist Musikdirektorin des Diablo Symphony Orchestra und Dirigentin beim Sacramento Ballett. Weitere Kooperationen fanden mit dem San Francisco Ballett, dem Fremont Symphony Orchestra, der Festival Opera in Walnut Creek und dem Sierra Summer Festival statt.

Kritiker haben ihren Dirigierstil als „spannungsvoll und fein kontrolliert” und ihr „herausragendes Gespür für die Bedeutung der Musik” gelobt („San Francisco Classical Voice”).

Matilda Hofman studierte an der Cambridge University, der Royal Academy of Music und der Eastman School of Music. Sie war in der Dirigierklasse beim Aspen Music Festival and School. Zu ihren Mentoren zählen Martyn Brabbins und Ingo Metzmacher, bei denen sie Meisterklassen besuchte.

Stand: Juli 2018

Vergangene Veranstaltungen