Sashko Brama

© Mariana Klochko

Sashko Brama

Sasko Brama, born in 1988, is an independent playwright and stage director of experimental theatre based on a documentary framework. His artistic path began in 2008, when he participated in an amateur theatre group. After that he wrote several plays, amongst them “Pork liver” (2011), “COMA” (2012) and “iDream” (2013).

His first directorial work “Diploma” was developed in 2014. The project was based on a sociological study and presented a critical view on the Ukrainian education system. The actors were cast from amongst the students of the Ivan Franko National University of Lviv’s Drama faculty. The shows took place in the Les Kurbas Theatre and at the Ivan Franko National University of Lviv.

In 2014, the political situation in the Ukraine worsened, which led to revolution and war. These events were reflected in two of Brama’s projects. In 2015, the performance-concert “R + J” was created, a Shakespearean tragedy about Romeo and Juliet adapted to modern-day Ukraine and laid out as a history lesson about events of the recent past, told in the language of heavy alternative music. The performance was shown at the following festivals: radikal jung (Munich, Germany), GOGOLFEST (Kiev, Ukraine), Divadelná Nitra (Nitra, Slovakia), GLOBALIZE:COLOGNE (Cologne, Germany), In Schönheit sterben (Berlin, Germany). The occupation with the militaristic theme was continued in the project “Call sighn Rama”, created 2017 in cooperation with the Pôtoň Theatre in Slovakia. The plot is based on the testimony of people who have experienced the war in eastern Ukraine.

Brama defines his further works as a theatre of experience, since his artistic work is based on his own life experiences, which he obtaines through deliberate immersion into and the engagement with a particular subject. Doing research on the subject of aging, transience and (un)fulfilled longings, he regularly visited the senior home in Lviv together with a group of artists over a period of one year. The collected material resulted in the performance “Fall on Pluto” and was presented at the festivals DESANT UA! Pierwszy Przegląd Teatrów Ukraińskich (Warsaw, Poland), DEMOLUDY (Olsztyn, Poland), and also was a part of the Ukrainian showcase within the international theatre conference IETM. Currently Brama works, together with post theater (Berlin, Germany), on the musical multimedia performance “Orpheus UA”, which is based on material collected by the author during a seven-month expedition from the EU border to the east of the Ukraine.

As of February 2019

Past Events

Sashko Brama

© Mariana Klochko

Sashko Brama

 

Sashko Brama, geboren 1988, ist Dramatiker und Regisseur mit inhaltlichem Fokus auf experimentell-dokumentarischem Theater. Sein künstlerischer Werdegang begann 2008 in einer Amateur-Theatergruppe, im Anschluss schrieb er seine ersten Theaterstücke „Pork Leber“ (2011), „COMA“ (2012) und „iDream“ (2013).

Bramas erste Regiearbeit „Diploma“ entstand 2014. Das Projekt basierte auf einer soziologischen Studie und warf einen kritischen Blick auf das ukrainische Bildungssystem. Die Schauspieler*innen wählte Brama unter den Studierenden der Theater-Fakultät der Ivan Franko National University of Lviv aus. Das Projekt wurde im Les Kurbas Theater und an der Ivan Franko National University of Lviv aufgeführt.

Im Jahr 2014 verschlechterte sich die politische Situation in der Ukraine und führte zu Revolution und Krieg. Diese Ereignisse spiegeln sich in zwei späteren Projekten Bramas wider. 2015 wurde das Performance-Konzert „R + J“ aufgeführt, eine Shakespeare-Tragödie über Romeo und Julia, verlegt in die heutige Ukraine und angelegt als Geschichtslektion über Ereignisse der neueren Vergangenheit, erzählt in der Sprache alternativer Musik. „R + J“ wurde zu den folgenden Festivals eingeladen: radikal jung (München, Deutschland), GOGOLFEST (Kiew, Ukraine), Divadelná Nitra (Nitra, Slowakei), GLOBALIZE:COLOGNE (Köln), In Schönheit sterben (Berlin, Deutschland). Die Beschäftigung mit dem militaristischen Thema setzte Brama im Projekt „Call sighn Rama“ fort, das 2017 in Zusammenarbeit mit dem slowakischen Theater Pôtoň erarbeitet wurde. Die Grundlage des Projekts bildeten Interviews mit Personen, die den Krieg in der Ost-Ukraine miterlebt haben.

Brama definiert seine weiteren Werke als ein Theater des Erlebens, da sein künstlerisches Schaffen auf seinen eigenen Lebenserfahrungen beruht, die er durch das bewusste Eintauchen in und durch die Auseinandersetzung mit einer bestimmten Materie erhält. In einer Recherche rund um die Themen Altern, Vergänglichkeit und (un)erfüllte Sehnsüchte besuchte er zusammen mit einer Gruppe von Künstler*innen ein Jahr lang regelmäßig das Senior*innenheim in Lviv. Das dort gesammelte Material bildete die Grundlage für das Projekt „Fall on Pluto“, das auf den Festivals DESANT UA! Pierwszy Przegląd Teatrów Ukraińskich (Warschau, Polen) und DEMOLUDY (Olsztyn, Polen) präsentiert wurde und auch in der ukrainischen Auswahl der internationalen Theaterkonferenz IETM vertreten war. Derzeit arbeitet Brama zusammen mit post theater (Berlin, Deutschland) an der musikalischen Multimedia-Performance „Orpheus UA“. Für diese Arbeit soll Material verwendet werden, das der Autor während einer siebenmonatigen Expedition von der EU-Grenze in den Osten der Ukraine gesammelt hat.

Stand: Februar 2019