Louis Andriessen

© Marco Borggreve

Louis Andriessen

It is all too easy to classify the Dutch composer Louis Andriessen (* 1939) as a representative of Minimal Music. However, he distinguishes himself from many, above all American colleagues of this style, by a less pleasing, more rebellious, but immediately accessible musical language. Andriessen’s music is not aimed at the opulence of the late-Romantic orchestra, but is rather influenced by the hardened sound of Stravinsky's music and has also received significant impulses from jazz. The composer has created a number of great orchestral works in which he also uses, for example, electric guitars and drum sets, as most recently in the October 2018 commissioned by the New York Philharmonic premiere piece “Agamemnon”. However, he prefers smaller chamber music ensembles, whereby works for singing voice play an important part.

Louis Andriessen was born in 1939 into a musical family. Both his father Hendrik (1892 – 1981) and his younger brother Juriaan (1925 – 1996) are distinguished composers. Andriessen studied among others with his father, later with Kees van Baaren at the Hague Conservatory and with Luciano Berio. After compositional beginnings in the name of political protest and the polemics against the routine of concert life, he succeeded in 1976 with “De Staat” for women’s voices and a large wind ensemble; this was the international breakthrough as one of the important voices of contemporary music. In this multi-award-winning and worldwide played work Andriessen musically deals with a basic text of Western philosophy and political science, Plato’s “Politeia”.

In his extensive, multifaceted oeuvre, which also includes six works of dramatic music, Louis Andriessen has been inspired by very different sources from the classical antiquity to the abstract paintings of Piet Mondriaan and repeatedly thematised philosophical subjects. For example in his work “De Materie” (1985 – 1988), whose four parts can also be performed separately, it is about the relationship between mind and matter, and in his work cycle “Trilogy of the Last Day” about mortality and death. Louis Andriessen has collaborated on several projects with artists and directors such as Robert Wilson and Hal Hartley. Particularly productive was the artistic partnership with the director Peter Greenaway in the 1990s, who wrote, among other things, the libretto to Andriessen’s opera “Writing to Vermeer” (1997 – 1998).

Andriessen on Andriessen (Video on the website of Boosey & Hawkes)

As of May 2019

Past Events

Louis Andriessen

Nur all zu leicht ordnet man den niederländischen Komponisten Louis Andriessen (*1939) in die Strömung der Minimal Music ein. Von vielen, vor allem amerikanischen Kollegen dieser Stilrichtung unterscheidet er sich aber durch eine weniger gefällige, widerborstigere, dabei unmittelbar zugängliche Tonsprache. Andriessens Musik zielt nicht auf die Üppigkeit des spätromantischen Orchesters, sondern ist vielmehr von dem gehärteten Klang der Musik Strawinskys beeinflusst und hat zudem auch deutliche Impulse vom Jazz erhalten. Der Komponist hat eine Reihe großer Orchesterwerke geschaffen, in denen er zum Beispiel auch E-Gitarren und Drum Sets einsetzt, wie zuletzt in dem im Oktober 2018 als Auftragswerk des New York Philharmonic uraufgeführten Stück „Agamemnon“. Er bevorzugt aber kleinere Kammermusikbesetzungen, wobei insgesamt Werke für Singstimme einen breiten Raum einnehmen.

Louis Andriessen wurde 1939 in eine musikalische Familie hineingeboren. Sowohl sein Vater Hendrik (1892 – 1981) als auch sein jüngerer Bruder Juriaan (1925 – 1996) sind profilierte Komponisten. Andriessen studierte unter anderem bei seinem Vater, dann bei Kees van Baaren am Konservatorium von Den Haag und bei Luciano Berio. Nach kompositorischen Anfängen im Zeichen des politischen Protests und der Polemik gegen die Routine des Konzertbetriebs gelang ihm 1976 mit „De Staat“ für Frauenstimmen und ein großes Bläserensemble der internationale Durchbruch als eine der gewichtigen Stimmen der zeitgenössischen Musik. In dem mehrfach ausgezeichneten und in aller Welt nachgespielten Werk setzt sich Andriessen musikalisch mit einem Grundlagentext der abendländischen Philosophie und Staatslehre auseinander, Platons „Politeia“.

In seinem umfangreichen, vielfältigen Œuvre, das auch sechs musikdramatische Werke umfasst, hat sich Louis Andriessen von ganz verschiedenartigen Quellen von der Antike bis zu den abstrakten Gemälden von Piet Mondriaans anregen lassen und dabei immer wieder philosophisch geprägte Begriffe thematisiert. So geht es in dem Bühnenwerk „De Materie“ (1985 – 1988), dessen vier Teile auch separat aufführbar sind, um das Verhältnis zwischen Geist und Materie und in dem Werkzyklus „Trilogy of the Last Day“ um Sterblichkeit und Tod. Louis Andriessen hat in mehreren Projekten mit Künstlern und Regisseuren wie Robert Wilson und Hal Hartley zusammengearbeitet. Besonders produktiv war in den 1990er Jahren die künstlerische Partnerschaft mit dem Regisseur Peter Greenaway, der unter anderem das Libretto zu Andriessens Oper „Writing to Vermeer“ (1997 – 1998) verfasste.

Stand: Mai 2019

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen