Anna Prohaska

Award-winning Austrian-English soprano Anna Prohaska made her debut aged 18 at Berlin's Komische Oper as Flora in Britten’s “The Turn of the Screw” and soon after with the Staatsoper Unter den Linden Berlin with whom she has been closely associated since the age of 20. She has since gone on to have an extraordinary international career with some of the world’s greatest opera houses and orchestras, including Theater an der Wien, La Scala, The Royal Opera House, Paris Opera, Hamburg State Opera, Festival d‘Aix-en-Provence, Bavarian State Opera and the Salzburg Festival.

Operatic highlights include “Pelléas et Mélisande” for Hamburgische Staatsoper; “Saul”, “Orlando”, “Anne Trulove”, “Marzelline” and Purcell’s “Fairy Queen” for Theater an der Wien, Zerlina (“Don Giovanni”) for La Scala; Constance (“Les Dialogues des Carmélites”) and Nannetta (“Falstaff”) for the Royal Opera House ; Blonde (“Die Entführung aus dem Serail”) for Paris Opera; Morgana (“Alcina”) for Festival d‘Aix-en-Provence; Sophie in Baden-Baden, Iphis (“Jephtha”) for Dutch National Opera and Blonde and Phani (“Les Indes Galantes”) for Bavarian State Opera.

A regular guest at the Salzburg Festival, Anna has appeared as Vitellia, Zerlina, Despina, Deola in Luigi Nono’s “Al Gran Sole Carico d'Amore”, Cordelia in Aribert Reimann's rendition of “King Lear” and in concert with the NHK Symphony and the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestras.

Last season Anna made her role debut as Vitellia (“La Clemenza di Tito”) for the Salzburg Festival, and sang Ännchen in “Der Freischütz” for the Bayerische Staatsoper and Merab (“Saul”) for Theater an der Wien. Anna’s concert performances included an auspicious Artist Residency at the Konzerthaus Berlin featuring seven projects across the season, including Pergolesi’s “Stabat Mater” with Philippe Jaroussky and Andrea Macron. Concert highlights included “Les Illuminations” with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra at the Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, a concert of Haydn and Mozart at the Teatro del Maggio Musicale in Florence, conduced by Adam Fischer, and appearances with the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra, conducted by Gilbert. Anna toured both her “Glorious Revolution” and “Celebration” programmes with La Folia Barockorchester.

Highlights of the 2021/22 season include several productions for the Deutsche Staatsoper, including Susanna (“Le nozze di Figaro”) with Daniel Barenboim, Aricie (“Hippolyte”) and “Das Paradies und die Peri” with Simon Rattle, the title role in “Orfeo ed Euridice” and Anna Reich (“Die Lusitge Weiber”). For the Bayerische Staatsoper Anna sings Ännchen (“Der Freischutz”) and Susanna (“Le nozze di Figaro”) for Teatro Nuovo Giovanni da Udine . On the concert platform Anna will be Artist in Residence with the Kammerakademie Potsdam, perform Mahler 2. Symphony with Riccardo Chailly and the Orchestra of Teatro alla Scala and undertake touring projects with Il pomo d'oro and Kammerorchester Basel. Anna will give the world premiere of her “Witch of Endor” programme at the Musikfest Berlin and tour the project with Nicholas Altstadt and Francesco Corti as part of the Babylon Trio. Further ahead Anna returns to the Royal Opera House, Aix-en-Provence Festival and Deutsche Staatsoper alongside a host of European and international tours.

Anna’s various recordings and music videos made her the subject of a documentary feature “The Fabulous World of Anna Prohaska” in 2013. Her first solo album “Sirène” was released in 2011 on the Deutsche Grammophon label, followed by “Enchanted Forest” in 2013 and “Behind the Lines” in 2014. Recent albums include chart-topping “Serpent & Fire” with Il Giardino Armonico, “Paradise Lost” with Julius Drake and “Bach: Redemption” with Lautten Compagney for Alpha Classics.

Past Events

Anna Prohaska

Die preisgekrönte österreichisch-englische Sopranistin Anna Prohaska debütierte im Alter von 18 Jahren an der Komischen Oper Berlin als Flora in Brittens "The Turn of the Screw" und bald darauf an der Staatsoper Unter den Linden Berlin, mit der sie seit ihrem 20. Lebensjahr eng verbunden ist. Seitdem hat sie eine außergewöhnliche, internationale Karriere mit einigen der größten Opernhäusern und Orchestern der Welt hinter sich, darunter das Theater an der Wien, das Teatro alla Scala, das Royal Opera House, die Pariser Oper, die Hamburgische Staatsoper, das Festival d'Aix-en-Provence, die Bayerische Staatsoper und die Salzburger Festspiele.

Zu den Opernhighlights zählen "Pelléas et Mélisande" für die Hamburgische Staatsoper; Purcells "Fairy Queen" für das Theater an der Wien, Zerlina ("Don Giovanni") für die Scala; Constance ("Les Dialogues des Carmélites") und Nannetta ("Falstaff") für das Royal Opera House; Blonde ("Die Entführung aus dem Serail") für die Pariser Oper; Morgana ("Alcina") für das Festival d'Aix-en-Provence; Iphis ("Jephtha") für die Niederländische Nationaloper und Blonde und Phani ("Les Indes Galantes") für die Bayerische Staatsoper.

Als regelmäßiger Gast bei den Salzburger Festspielen trat Anna als Vitellia, Zerlina, Despina, Deola in Luigi Nonos "Al Gran Sole Carico d'Amore", Cordelia in Aribert Reimanns Inszenierung von "King Lear" und in Konzerten mit dem NHK Symphony und den Wiener Philharmonikern auf.

In der letzten Saison gab Anna ihr Rollendebüt als Vitellia ("La Clemenza di Tito") bei den Salzburger Festspielen und sang Ännchen in "Der Freischütz" an der Bayerischen Staatsoper und Merab ("Saul") am Theater an der Wien. Zu Annas Konzerttätigkeit gehörte eine vielversprechende Artist Residency am Konzerthaus Berlin mit sieben Projekten in der gesamten Saison, darunter Pergolesis "Stabat Mater" mit Philippe Jaroussky und Andrea Macron. Konzert-Highlights waren "Les Illuminations" mit dem Mahler Chamber Orchestra in der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, ein Konzert mit Haydn und Mozart am Teatro del Maggio Musicale in Florenz unter der Leitung von Adam Fischer sowie Auftritte mit dem NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester unter der Leitung von Alan Gilbert. Mit dem La Folia Barockorchester ging Anna mit den Programmen "Glorious Revolution" und "Celebration" auf Tournee.

Zu den Höhepunkten der Spielzeit 2021/22 gehören mehrere Produktionen für die Deutsche Staatsoper, darunter Susanna ("Le nozze di Figaro") mit Daniel Barenboim, Aricie ("Hippolyte") und "Das Paradies und die Peri" mit Simon Rattle, die Titelrolle in "Orfeo ed Euridice" und Anna Reich ("Die Lusitge Weiber"). Für die Bayerische Staatsoper singt Anna Ännchen ("Der Freischutz") und Susanna ("Le nozze di Figaro") am Teatro Nuovo Giovanni da Udine. Auf dem Konzertpodium wird Anna als Artist in Residence mit der Kammerakademie Potsdam Mahlers 2. Symphonie mit Riccardo Chailly und dem Orchester des Teatro alla Scala aufführen und Tourneeprojekte mit Il pomo d'oro und dem Kammerorchester Basel durchführen. Anna wird die Weltpremiere ihres "Witch of Endor"-Programms beim Musikfest Berlin geben und das Projekt mit Nicholas Altstadt und Francesco Corti als Teil des Babylon Trios touren. Darüber hinaus kehrt Anna an das Royal Opera House, das Aix-en-Provence Festival und die Deutsche Staatsoper zurück, neben einer Reihe von europäischen und internationalen Tourneen.

Annas verschiedene Aufnahmen und Musikvideos machten sie 2013 zum Thema des Dokumentarfilms "The Fabulous World of Anna Prohaska". Ihr erstes Soloalbum "Sirène" erschien 2011 bei der Deutschen Grammophon, gefolgt von "Enchanted Forest" im Jahr 2013 und "Behind the Lines" im Jahr 2014. Zu den jüngsten Alben gehören die Chartstürmer "Serpent & Fire" mit Il Giardino Armonico, "Paradise Lost" mit Julius Drake und "Bach: Redemption" mit Lautten Compagney für Alpha Classics.

Juni 2021

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen

Vergangene Veranstaltungen