Ryoko Aoki

Ryoko Aoki

Ryoko Aoki holds a unique position in the field of Noh theatre as a female singer and performer. She has performed in several traditional Noh plays, historically the reserve of male actors. Above all, she is the pioneer of and inspiration for a new artistic form combining Noh with contemporary music. More than 50 works have been written for her.

Ryoko Aoki made appearances at festivals including the Asia-Pacific Weeks Berlin, Bartok Festival Szombathely, Xenakis Festival in New York and the Takefu International Music Festival. She has performed with ensembles and orchestras including the Arditti Quartet, the Quatour Diotima, the Munich Chamber Orchestra and the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra.

In 2013, Ryoko Aoki made her debut at the Teatro Real de Madrid in Wolfgang Rihm’s opera “The Conquest of Mexico” in the role of Malinche. In 2016 she premiered Noriko Baba’s Nopera “AOI” with the Ensemble 2e2m in Paris. 2017 she performed the world premieres of two works composed for her: Federico Gardella’s “Two Souls” at the Teatro del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino as well as Toshio Hosokawa’s “Futari Shizuka” (“The Maiden from the Sea”) with the Ensemble intercontemporain at the Philharmonie de Paris and Kölner Philharmonie.

Her 2018/19 season included performances of “Futari Shizuka” at the University of Toronto and during the TIMF Festival in Tongyeong/Korea. Another highlight of this season was the world premiere of Peter Eötvös’ “Secret kiss” with the Gageego Ensemble in Gothenburg, followed by performances in Tokyo, with the Remix Ensemble in Porto and with the Plural Ensemble in Madrid.

The 2019/20 season starts with Secret kiss and the Ensemble Musikfabrik in Berlin, Cologne and Budapest.

Ryoko Aoki obtained a BA and a Master of Music from the Faculty of Music at the Tokyo National University of Fine Art and Music with a focus on the Kanze school of Noh theatre, before obtaining a PhD at the University of London, School of Oriental and African Studies, with a thesis on “Women and Noh”.

www.ryokoaoki.net

As of July 2019

Upcoming Events

Past Events

Ryoko Aoki

Ryoko Aoki

Ryoko Aoki hat im Bereich des Nō-Theaters als weibliche Sängerin und Darstellerin eine einzigartige Position inne: Sie wirkt nicht nur bei Aufführungen von Nō-Werken mit, die traditionell männlichen Darstellern vorbehalten sind, sondern ist auch eine Pionierin künstlerischer Formen, die Nō mit zeitgenössischer Musik kombinieren. Mehr als 50 Werke wurden bereits für sie geschrieben.

Ryoko Aoki war zu Gast bei Festivals wie der Asia-Pacific Week Berlin, dem Bartók Fesztivál in Szombathely, dem Xenakis Festival in New York sowie dem Takefu International Music Festival und arbeitete mit Ensembles und Orchestern wie dem Arditti Quartet, dem Quatuor Diotima, dem Münchener Kammerorchester und dem Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam.

2013 gab sie ihr Debüt am Teatro Real in Madrid in Wolfgang Rihms Oper Die Eroberung von Mexico in der Rolle der Malinche, 2016 wirkte sie bei der Uraufführung von Noriko Babas Nopera AOI mit dem Ensemble 2e2m in Paris mit. 2017 folgten die Uraufführungen zweier eigens für sie komponierter Werke: Federico Gardellas Two Souls am Teatro del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino sowie Toshio Hosokawas Futari Shizuka (The Maiden from the Sea) mit dem Ensemble intercontemporain an der Philharmonie de Paris und der Kölner Philharmonie.

In der Saison 2018/19 war Futari Shizuka an der University of Toronto und beim Tongyeong International Music Festival (TIMF) in Südkorea zu sehen. Ein weiterer Höhepunkt dieser Saison war die Uraufführung von Peter Eötvös‘ Secret Kiss mit dem Ensemble Gageego! in Göteborg, gefolgt von Aufführungen in Tokyo, in Porto mit dem Remix Ensemble und in Madrid mit dem Plural Ensemble. In die Saison 2019/20 startet Ryoko Aoki mit Eötvös‘ Secret Kiss zusammen mit dem Ensemble Musikfabrik in Berlin, Köln und Budapest.

Ryoko Aoki studierte Musik an der Tokyo National University of Fine Art and Music und spezialisierte sich auf die Kanze-Schule des Nō-Theaters; an der University of London erwarb sie ihren Doktortitel mit der Arbeit Women and Noh.

www.ryokoaoki.net

Stand: Juli 2019

Vergangene Veranstaltungen