Jens Larsen

© Jan Windszus

Jens Larsen

Kammersänger Jens Larsen, born in Hamburg, studied with William Workman and Prof. Kurt Moll in Hamburg and Köln. After first joining the opera houses of Darmstadt and Basel, he became a member of the ensemble of the Komische Oper Berlin in 2001, where he was named a Berlin Kammersänger in 2013.

His extensive repertoire ranges from Monteverdi to contemporary composers and from roles such a Baron Ochs auf Lerchenau, King Marke, Veit Pogner, Osmin, Sarastro, Rocco, Doctor (“Wozzeck”), Schigolch (“Lulu”), Wesener (“Die Soldaten”), Astradamors (“Le Grand Macabre”) to many other roles of the bass fach. Jens Larsen regularly appears as a lied singer at the Komische Oper Berlin, where he has performed programs with works by Franz Schubert and Carl Loewe in recent seasons.

Jens Larsen worked with directors such as Calixto Bieito, Barrie Kosky, Andreas Homoki, Hans Neuenfels, Peter Konwitschny, Herbert Wernicke and Christoph Marthaler. He performed at the Salzburg Festival, Vienna State Opera, National Theatre Munich, Deutsche Oper am Rhein, in Moscow and Santiago de Chile, where he worked with conductors such as Kirill Petrenko, Vladimir Jurowski, Ingo Metzmacher and Klaus Weise.

In the 2019/20 season, he will perform at the Komische Oper Berlin as Kadmos (“The Bassarids”), The Magician (“Schwanda the Bagpiper”), Trulove (“The Rake’s Progress”), Lazar Wolf (“The Fiddler on the Roof”), Arkel (“Pelléas and Mélisande”) and Sarastro (“The Magic Flute”).

As of July 2019

Past Events

Jens Larsen

© Jan Windszus

Jens Larsen

Kammersänger Jens Larsen, geboren in Hamburg, studierte bei Prof. William Workman und Prof. Kurt Moll in Hamburg und Köln. Erste Engagements führten ihn an die Opernhäuser von Darmstadt und Basel. Seit 2001 ist Jens Larsen im Ensemble der Komischen Oper Berlin, wo er im Jahr 2013 zum Kammersänger ernannt wurde.

Sein umfangreiches Repertoire reicht von Monteverdi bis zu zeitgenössischen Komponisten und umfasst Rollen wie Baron Ochs auf Lerchenau, König Marke, Veit Pogner, Osmin, Sarastro, Rocco, Doktor („Wozzeck“), Schigolch („Lulu“), Wesener („Die Soldaten“), Astradamors („Le Grand Macabre“) sowie viele andere Partien des Bassfaches. Regelmäßig tritt Jens Larsen zudem als Liedsänger an der Komischen Oper Berlin in Erscheinung, wo er in den letzten Jahren Programme mit Werken von Franz Schubert und Carl Loewe aufführte.

Jens Larsen arbeitete mit Regisseuren wie Calixto Bieito, Barrie Kosky, Andreas Homoki, Hans Neuenfels, Peter Konwitschny, Herbert Wernicke und Christoph Marthaler zusammen. Gastengagements führten ihn zu den Salzburger Festspielen, an die Wiener Staatsoper, das Bayerische Nationaltheater, die Deutsche Oper am Rhein, nach Moskau und Santiago de Chile, wo er mit Dirigenten wie Kirill Petrenko, Vladimir Jurowski, Ingo Metzmacher und Klaus Weise arbeitete.

In der Saison 2019/20 ist er an der Komischen Oper Berlin unter anderem als Kadmos („The Bassarids“), Magier („Schwanda, der Dudelsackpfeifer“), Trulove („The Rake’s Progress“), Lazar Wolf („Anatevka“), Arkel („Pelléas et Mélisande“) und Sarastro („Zauberflöte“) zu erleben.

Stand: Juli 2019

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen