Mayumi Miyata

© Promo

Mayumi Miyata

Mayumi Miyata is distinguished by being one of the first artists to bring the traditional Asian instrument Shō to worldwide recognition and expands its awareness not only as a traditional instrument but one that has a valid place in contemporary music.

Having graduated from Kunitachi College of Music in piano, Mayumi Miyata studied “Gagaku” (Ancient Japanese Court Music), and in 1979 she joined the Gagaku ensemble at the National Theater of Japan. Since her debut recital in Tokyo in 1983, she has been active as a soloist and stunned audiences in Europe and North America, in concert halls like La Scala in Milan, Vienna Konzerthaus and at festivals such as London Proms, Milano Musica, Festival d’Automne à Paris, Donaueschinger Musiktage, Wien Modern, Octobre en Normandie, Darmstadt International Summer Course, Musica Viva (Munich), Orleans International Music Week, Pacific Music Festival Sapporo, and Takefu International Music Festival.

Mayumi Myata has worked closely with John Cage, and other composers such as Toru Takemitsu, Toshio Hosokawa, Helmut Lachenmann, Paul Méfano, Klaus Huber, and Pierre-Yves Artaud. Her recent orchestra engagements include the BBC Symphony Orchestra with Kazushi Ono, the Orchestre Symphonique de la Monnaie with Kazushi Ono, the NHK Symphony Orchestra with Charles Dutoit for their European tour in St. Petersburg, Moscow, Vienna, Munich and Berlin, the New York Philharmonic with André Previn, the Tanglewood Festival Orchestra with Seiji Ozawa, the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra with Vladimir Ashkenazy, the Bamberger Symphoniker with Jonathan Nott and the Orchestre National de Lyon with Jun Maerkl.

Furthermore she was nominated as cultural ambassador by the Japanese Agency for Cultural Affairs, promoting knowledge of the Shō overseas.

As of July 2019

Upcoming Events

Mayumi Miyata

© Promo

Mayumi Miyata

Mayumi Miyata ist eine der ersten Künstlerinnen, die das asiatische Instrument Shō weltweit bekannt gemacht hat und dessen Wahrnehmung nicht nur als traditionelles, sondern auch als Instrument der zeitgenössischen Musik fördert.

Nach ihrem Klavierstudium am Kunitachi College of Music studierte Mayumi Miyata Gagaku (alte japanische Hofmusik) und trat 1979 dem Gagaku-Ensemble am National Theatre of Japan bei. Seit ihrem Debüt in Tokio 1983 ist sie als Solistin tätig und begeistert ihr Publikum in Europa und Nordamerika, in Konzerthäusern wie dem Teatro alla Scala in Mailand sowie dem Wiener Konzerthaus und bei Festivals wie den BBC Proms in London, Milano Musica, Festival d’Automne à Paris, Donaueschinger Musiktage, Wien Modern, Festival Octobre en Normandie, Internationale Ferienkurse für Neue Musik in Darmstadt, musica viva in München, Orleans International Music Week, Pacific Music Festival in Sapporo und dem Takefu International Music Festival.

Mayumi Miyata arbeitete besonders eng mit John Cage zusammen sowie unter anderem mit Toru Takemitsu, Toshio Hosokawa, Helmut Lachenmann, Paul Méfano, Klaus Huber und Pierre-Yves Artaud. Zu ihren letzten Engagements zählten solche mit dem BBC Symphony Orchestra mit Kazushi Ōno, dem Orchestre Symphonique de la Monnaie ebenfalls mit Kazushi Ōno und dem NHK Symphony Orchestra mit Charles Dutoit für ihre Europatournee in St. Gallen, Sankt Petersburg, Moskau, Wien, München und Berlin, dem New York Philharmonic mit André Previn, dem Tanglewood Festival Orchestra mit Seiji Ozawa, der Tschechischen Philharmonie mit Vladimir Ashkenazy, den Bamberger Symphonikern mit Jonathan Nott und dem Orchestre National de Lyon mit Jun Märkl.

Mayumi Miyata wurde von der japanischen Agentur für kulturelle Angelegenheiten als Kulturbotschafterin nominiert, um das Wissen über die Shō in Übersee zu fördern.

Stand: Juli 2019

Vergangene Veranstaltungen