François-Joseph Gossec

As a composer, François-Joseph Gossec lived through nearly an entire century and was a part of various epoch-making developments in musical history. He was born at the time of Jean-Philippe Rameau’s (1683 – 1764) Tragédie lyrique and died just as Hector Berlioz was finishing his “Symphonie fantastique”. As a composer, conductor, teacher and concert organizer, he not only witnessed but also had great influence on the transformation of the French capital’s musical scene. Its previous courtly structures were increasingly giving way to bourgeois institutions, not least influenced by the French Revolution.

Gossec was born in 1734 in Vergnies as the son of a Wallonian farmer. His musical talent soon became apparent and he was sent to obtain a musical education as a choir-boy at the collegiate church of Walcourt at the age of six. In 1742, he was accepted into the choir of Antwerp Cathedral. In 1751, Gossec relocated to Paris, where he found employment as a violinist in the private orchestra of Alexandre Jean Joseph Le Riche de La Popelinière , a wealthy patron of the arts and general tax farmer of the King’s. There he met both Jean-Philippe Rameau, who headed the orchestra for many years, and Johann Stamitz. The latter introduced Gossec to the achievements of the Mannheim School: homophonous orchestra symphonies and innovative dynamic effects featuring the necessary clarinets, basset horns and other wind instruments.

Gossec published 24 symphonies between 1756 and 1762. At the age of 25, he achieved his breakthrough as a composer with the “Grande Messe des morts”. It served as a model for Mozart, and Hector Berlioz referred to this work in his “Requiem”. Gossec’s “Messe des morts” is not only distinguished by its dimensions or Gossec’s mastery of counterpoint. What lets this piece truly stand out is that it is arranged as a symphonic work, requiring a full classical orchestra and an equally large-scale choir. Also, in the “Tuba mirum”, Gossec used the wind instruments – trumpets and trombones together with clarinets and horns – as a distant orchestra. The composer achieved spatial sound effects which Berlioz was able to build on in his “Requiem” (1837) and his multi-choir “Te Deum” (1848/49).

Following the death of La Popelinière, Gossec took on the direction of two orchestras that were maintained by two high-ranking aristocrats between 1762 and 1769, gaining great esteem with both of them. Apart from his work in the service of the aristocracy, he was also involved in organising concerts and heading various Parisian musical institutions run by the city’s untitled citizens: In 1769, he founded the Concert des amateurs, an association funded by private citizens, which hosted concerts, commissioned and performed new compositions and engaged performers and composers of international esteem. There, Gossec was the first to perform a symphony by Joseph Haydn. As early as 1773, he handed over the direction of the Concert des amateurs to Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges, and became the director of their competition, the Concert spirituels, which he modernised and restructured.

Gossec was caught up in intense, decade-long fundamental disputes about opera. The controversy focused on the question of whether French or Italian opera should dominate, or rather, on the emancipation of bourgeois genres of opera. This issue was a direct cause of the varying success of his own operatic work. In the field of Opéra Comique, Gossec was dislodged by André-Ernest-Modest Grétry (1741 – 1813), even though his own contributions to this genre, for instance “Les Pêcheurs” and “Toinon et Toinette”, enjoyed great success with the audience. His Tragédie Lyrique “Sabinus”, created in 1771/72, is considered a masterpiece, but after 11 successful performances, it was discontinued due to the overwhelming success of Christoph Willibald Gluck’s “Iphigeneia on Aulis”. This, however, did not deter him from working for Gluck both as composer and arranger, or to take his part in the so-called Piccinnist-controversy.

The onset on the French Revolution brought about new, unexpected prospects for the composer, who was now 55 years of age and saw himself as largely a failure. Gossec was commissioned to compose a “Te Deum” for the anniversary of the Storming of the Bastille. The performance of this work on 14 July 1790 featured 300 wind instruments and hundreds of drums alone. During the Revolution, Gossec managed to establish himself as one of its leading composers. In this context, he created the one-act Scène religieuse or Tableau patriotique “L’Offrande à la liberté”, a kind of dramatisation of the Marseillaise, as well as the Divertissement lyrique or ballet “Le Triomphe de la République”, also in one act, which he composed in celebration of the Republican army’s victory over France’s enemies at Valmy in 1792. It was performed on the anniversary of the First Republic at the Paris Opera in 1793.

During the 1790s, Gossec dedicated himself to musical education. In 1795, he was instrumental in founding the Conservatoire de musique; he was appointed as one of the institute’s inspectors, together with the composers Grétry, Luigi Cherubini, Étienne-Nicolas Méhul and Jean-François Le Sueur. His work as a composer steadily decreased during the First French Empire under Napoléon (1808 – 1815). His “Symphonie à 17 parties” (1808 – 1809) and his “Messe des vivants” (1813) were to be his final creative highlights. From 1815, he led a secluded life in Passy, a town near Paris, where he died in 1829.

As of November 2019

Upcoming Events

François-Joseph Gossec

François-Joseph Gossec durchlebte als Komponist fast ein Jahrhundert und war Teil verschiedener epochaler musikgeschichtlicher Entwicklungen. Er kam zur Zeit der Tragédie lyrique Jean-Philippe Rameaus (1683 – 1764) zur Welt und starb als Hector Berlioz seine „Symphonie fantastique“ vollendete. Er war als Komponist, Dirigent, Pädagoge und Veranstalter nicht nur Zeuge, sondern auch einflussreicher Akteur beim Umbaus des Pariser Musiklebens, dessen höfische Struktur zunehmend durch bürgerliche Institutionen abgelöst wurden, nicht zuletzt beeinflusst durch die Französische Revolution.

Gossec wird 1734 in Vergnies als Sohn eines Wallonischen Bauern geboren. Früh macht sich sein musikalisches Talent bemerkbar und so kommt er im Alter von sechs Jahren als Chorknabe an die Stiftskirche von Walcourt, wo er musikalisch ausgebildet wird. 1742 wird er in den Chor der Kathedrale von Antwerpen aufgenommen. 1751 siedelt Gossec nach Paris über. Dort wird er ab 1752 als Geiger im Privatorchester Alexandre Le Riche de La Popelinières, eines wohlhabenden Mäzens und Generalsteuerpächters des Königs, angestellt. Dort trifft er nicht nur auf Jean-Philippe Rameau, der das Orchester über viele Jahre geleitet hat, sondern auch auf Johann Stamitz. Über diesen lernte Gossec die Errungenschaften der Mannheimer Schule kennen: homophone Orchestersymphonien und neuartige Dynamikeffekte mit den dafür erforderlichen Klarinetten, Bassetthörnern und anderen Blasinstrumenten.

Von 1756 bis 1762 veröffentlicht Gossec 24 Symphonien. 25 Jahre alt gelingt ihm mit seiner „Grande Messe des morts“ als Komponist der Durchbruch. Nicht nur für Mozart dient sie als Modell, auch Hector Berlioz hat sich in seinem „Requiem“ darauf bezogen. Gossecs „Messe des morts“ zeichnet sich nicht nur durch ihre Dimensionen oder die hohe kontrapunktische Fähigkeiten Gossecs auch. Besonders ist vor allem als symphonisches Werk angelegt, das ein volles klassisches Orchester und ebenso großen Chor erfordert. Außerdem setzt Gossec im „Tuba mirum“ die Bläser – Trompeten und Posaunen zusammen mit Klarinetten und Hörern – als Fernorchester ein. Hier konzipiert Gossec räumliche Klangwirkungen, an die Berlioz in seinem „Requiem“ (1837) und seinem mehrchörigen „Te Deum“ (1848/49) anknüpfen konnte.

Nach dem Tod La Pouplinières übernahm Gossec in den Jahren von 1762 bis 1769 die Leitung zweier von hochrangigen Aristokraten unterhaltenen Kapellen und gelangt mit diesen zu hohem Ansehen. Zu der Arbeit im Dienst der Aristokratie kamen weitere Aktivitäten als Organisator von Konzerten und Leitungsaufgaben in verschiedenen bürgerlichen Pariser Musikinstitutionen hinzu: 1769 gründet er das Concert des amateurs, von Bürgern privat finanzierte Vereinigung, die Konzerte veranstaltet, neue Kompositionen in Auftrag gibt und aufführt, sowie Interpreten und Komponisten von internationalem Rang engagiert. Er führte dort 1773 als erster eine Symphonie Josef Haydns auf. Bereits 1773 übergab er die Leitung der Concert des amateuers an Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint Georges und wechselte in die Direktion des Konkurrenzunternehmens, zu den Concert spirituels, die er modernisiert und reorganisiert.

Gossec gerät in die heftigen, über Jahrzehnte geführten Auseinandersetzungen um die Oper, bei der um die Vorherrschaft der französischen oder der italienischen Oper gestritten wurde bzw. um die Emanzipation bürgerlicher Operngattungen. Er hat dies durchaus an dem wechselhaften Erfolg seines eigenen Opernschaffens erfahren müssen. Auf dem Gebiet der Opéra Comique wird Gossec von André-Ernest-Modest Grétry (1741 – 1813) verdrängt, auch wenn seine Beiträge zu dieser Gattung, wie zum Beispiel „Les Pêcheurs“ und „Toinon et Toinette“, vom Publikum sehr positiv aufgenommen wurden. Seine 1771/72 entstandene Tragédie Lyrique „Sabinus“ gilt als ein Meisterwerk, wird allerdings nach 11 erfolgreichen Aufführungen durch den überwältigenden Erfolg von Christoph Willibald Glucks „Iphigenie auf Aulis“ abgesetzt. Dies hält ihn aber nicht davon ab, für Gluck kompositorisch oder als Arrangeur tätig zu sein oder für ihn im sogenannten Piccinisten-Streit Partei zu ergreifen.

Mit dem Beginn der Revolution ergeben sich für den inzwischen 55 Jahre alten, sich selbst als weitgehend gescheitert empfindenden Komponisten unerwartet neue Perspektiven. Zum Jahrestag des Sturms auf die Bastille wird Gossec mit der Komposition eines „Te Deums“ beauftragt. An dessen Aufführung waren am 14. Juli 1790 unter anderem 300 Bläser und Hunderte von Trommlern beteiligt. Gossec gelingt es, sich während der Revolution als einer der führenden Komponisten der Revolution zu etablieren. In diesem Kontext entstehen die einaktige Scène religieuse bzw. das Tableau patriotique „L’Offrande à la liberté“, eine Art Dramatisierung der Marseillaise und das ebenfalls einaktige Divertissement lyrique bzw. Ballett „Le Triomphe de la République“, dass er anlässlich des Sieges der Republikanischen Armee über die Gegner Frankreich bei Valmy 1792 komponierte und das am Jahrestag der Ersten Republik Frankreichs 1793 an der Pariser Oper aufgeführt wurde.

In den 90er Jahren des 18. Jahrhunderts widmet sich Gossec der musikalischen Ausbildung und ist 1795 an der Gründung des Conservaroire de musique maßgeblich beteiligt, zu dessen Inspektoren er zusammen mit den Komponisten Grétry, Luigi Cherubini, Étienne-Nicolas Méhul und Jean-François Le Sueur berufen werden. Während des Ersten Kaiserreichs unter Napoléon (1804 – 1815) versiegen seine kompositorischen Aktivitäten zunehmend. Mit seiner „Symphonie à 17 parties“ (1808 – 1809) und seiner „Messe des vivants“ (1813) setzt er noch einmal einen letzten kreativen Höhepunkt. Ab 1815 lebt er zurückgezogen in Passy bei Paris, wo er 1829 stirbt.

Stand: November 2019

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen