Étienne-Nicolas Méhul

Hector Berlioz revered him, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe had his operas performed in Weimar, Carl Maria von Weber conducted them in Dresden, Franz Schubert, Robert Schumann and Johannes Brahms appreciated him: Étienne-Nicolas Méhul, born in the small Belgian town of Givet in the Ardennes on 22 June 1763. At the age of ten, he already served as the organist of his home town’s Franciscan church. In 1778, he moved to Paris for good, where he received further training at the hands of a pupil of Christoph Willibald Gluck. His enthusiasm for Gluck’s operatic works led him to begin writing for the stage at an early point in his career.

Méhul composed around 40 operas over the course of his lifetime, but only very few of them achieved a truly sustained success. “Joseph en Eqypte” (1807) is considered to be his most important stage work. Carl Maria von Weber launched his tenure at Deutsche Oper at Morettisches Theater in Dresden with a performance of this work, under the German title “Jakob und seine Söhne”, on 30 January 1817. With its Old Testament subject matter, the opera, which was often performed after Napoleon had granted religious freedom in France, reflected the mindset of an entire era.

From 1790, new operas and ballets by Méhul were performed in Paris almost every year. One aspect that certainly increased the composer’s popularity significantly was that he decided to participate in the government’s celebrations and festivities honouring the Revolution. He composed the “Hymne à la raison” for this purpose in 1793, followed one year later by the famous “Chant du départ”, which has been sung on such occasions ever since and was considered one of the most popular mass songs in France beside Rouget de Lisle’s Marseillaise. During the subsequent period, Méhul created a wealth of other works dedicated to current political events, patriotic hymns, cantatas and the like, which were often performed with great vocal and instrumental extravagance.

Méhul was indeed an artist of republican convictions and he described his own composition style with the terms simplicity, greatness and resolve. He was interested both in continuing programmatic music of the French tradition and in innovations in harmonics, melody and orchestration. To create a certain atmosphere, such as the Ossianic twilight of his opera “Uthal” (1806), for instance, he entirely eschewed the use of violins in the orchestra’s string section. Brahms, who was impressed by the score of this work, later also chose this unusual sound foundation for the first movement “Selig sind, die da Leid tragen” of his German Requiem.

By far the largest part of Méhul’s extant oeuvre consists of his stage works – among them the Revolution opera “Horatius Coclès” (1794), which glorifies democratic civic virtue – followed by a large number of compositions for political occasions. Symphonic works (only two of six symphonies have survived and both show an inclination towards Haydn and Beethoven) and church and piano music take a much lesser place in his collected works. In 1795, the composer was appointed one of the inspectors of the reorganised conservatory and a member of the Academy of Fine Arts in Paris. Along with François-Joseph Gossec, André-Ernest-Modest Grétry and Luigi Cherubini, Méhul was considered one of the leading French composers during the age of the Revolution.

When his operas no longer proved to be as successful as “Joseph” (1807) – the taste of the Parisian audience had begun to favour the Italian composer Gaspare Spontini at the beginning of the new century – Méhul descended into melancholy. He withdrew from public life and dedicated himself to floriculture. He died in Paris on 18 October 1817.

As of November 2019

Upcoming Events

Étienne-Nicolas Méhul

Hector Berlioz verehrte ihn, Johann Wolfgang von Goethe ließ Opern von ihm in Weimar aufführen, Carl Maria von Weber dirigierte sie in Dresden, Franz Schubert, Robert Schumann und Johannes Brahms schätzten ihn: Étienne-Nicolas Méhul, der am 22. Juni 1763 im kleinen belgischen Ort Givet in den Ardennen geboren wurde. Bereits als Zehnjähriger versah er den Dienst eines Organisten an der Orgel der Franziskanerkirche seines Heimatortes. 1778 übersiedelte er für immer nach Paris, wo er von einem Schüler Christoph Willibald Glucks weiter ausgebildet wurde und in der Begeisterung für das Glucksche Opernschaffen frühzeitig selbst für die Bühne zu schreiben begann.

Im Laufe seines Lebens komponierte Méhul an die 40 Opern, von denen allerdings nur wenige wirklich dauerhaften Erfolg erzielten. Als sein wohl bedeutendstes Bühnenwerk gilt „Joseph en Egypte“ (1807), mit dem Carl Maria von Weber unter dem Titel „Jakob und seine Söhne“ am 30. Januar 1817 seine Tätigkeit in Dresden an der von ihm geleiteten Deutschen Oper im Morettischen Theater aufnahm. Die seinerzeit viel gespielte dreiaktige Oper spiegelte mit ihrem alttestamentlichen Sujet, seit Napoleon in Frankreich Religionsfreiheit gewährt hatte, das Lebensgefühl einer ganzen Epoche wider.

Von 1790 an wurden fast alljährlich neue Opern und Ballette Méhuls in Paris aufgeführt. Was letztlich die Popularität des Komponisten ganz wesentlich förderte, war 1793 seine Entscheidung, als Komponist an den staatlichen Revolutionsfeiern und –festen teilzunehmen. Dafür komponierte er die „Hymne à la raison“ und gleich im nächsten Jahr den berühmten „Chant du départ“, der seitdem stets bei derartigen Gelegenheiten gesungen wurde, und neben der Marseillaise von Rouget de Lisle las einer der beliebtester Massengesänge in Frankreich galt. Méhul schuf in der Folgezeit zahlreiche weitere, dem politischen Tagesgeschehen verpflichtete Werke, patriotische Hymnen, Kantaten und dergleichen, die oft mit gewaltigem vokalen und instrumentalen Aufwand aufgeführt wurden.

Méhul war durchaus ein republikanischer Künstler von Überzeugung, der seinen kompositorischen Stil mit den Worte Einfachheit, Größe und Entschlossenheit beschrieb. Auch war er an der Fortführung der französischen Tradition programmatischer Musik sowie an Neuerungen in Harmonik, Melodik und Orchestrierung interessiert. Um eine bestimmte Stimmung, etwa das so genannte Ossianische Halbdunkel in seiner Oper „Uthal“ (1806) zu erzielen, verzichtete er beispielsweise in der Streicherbesetzung des Orchesters ganz auf Violinen. Brahms, dem die Partitur imponierte, hat später im „Deutschen Requiem diesen ungewöhnlichen Klanguntergrund für den 1. Satz „Selig sind, die da Leid tragen“ ebenfalls gewählt.

Den mit Abstand größten Teil des erhaltenen Œuvres Méhuls bilden die Bühnenwerke, darunter die Revolutionsoper „Horatius Coclès“ (1794) mit ihrer Verherrlichung demokratischer Bürgertugenden, gefolgt von vielen politischen Gelegenheitskompositionen, denen gegenüber die Symphonik (nur zwei von sechs Symphonien sind erhalten, die eine Nähe zu Haydn und Beethoven zeigen) und die Kirchen- und Klaviermusik einen geringen Platz einnehmen. 1795 wurde der Komponist einer der Inspektoren des reorganisierten Konservatoriums sowie Mitglied der Akademie der Schönen Künste in Paris. Er galt neben François-Joseph Gossec, André-Ernest-Modest Grétry und Luigi Cherubini als der führende französische Komponist zur Zeit der Revolution.

Als nach „Joseph“ (1807) der Erfolg auf dem Theater ausblieb – der Geschmack der Pariser hatte sich zu Beginn des neuen Jahrhunderts dem Italiener Gaspare Spontini zugewendet –, verfiel er der Melancholie. Er zog sich aus der Öffentlichkeit zurück und widmete sich der Züchtung von Blumen. Am 18. Oktober 1817 verstarb er in Paris.

Quelle: Dieter Härtwig in Dresdner Neuesten Nachrichten vom 22.06.2013

Stand: November 2019

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen