Marisol Jiménez

Marisol Jiménez is a composer, performer and multidisciplinary artist from Guadalajara, Mexico currently residing in Berlin. Her work expresses an intense fascination with the tactile process of creating sound, an interplay of the entropic within the structured musical machinery, colliding the primeval with the technological to seek forceful sensuous and visceral energies.

Her output includes numerous chamber and electronic works, as well as sound and intermedia installations. Most of her acoustic, electronic and mixed media works involve self-made sound sculptures/ experimental electro-acoustic instruments (Noise Spring Harps), found objects, and collected sound materials from her own field recordings, improvisations, and performances. She completed a Doctorate degree in composition at Stanford University in 2011, and a Masters of Arts degree from Mills College, Oakland, CA (2005). Recently, she developed a project entitled SENSUOUS MATTER, a large scale performative installation for intervened autonomous music machines and performers, which was selected for an inm-Funding grant for 2018 in Berlin.

Jimenéz was the winner of the first prize of the 39th Irino International Composition for chamber orchestra in Tokyo and has recently been a member of the National System of Art Creators in Mexico from the national Found for the Arts and Culture (FONCA). Her work has been performed and commission by leading ensembles and interpreters of new music throughout Europe, The United States, Brazil, Japan, and Mexico.

As of January 2020

Past Events

Marisol Jiménez

Marisol Jiménez ist eine aus Guadalajara, Mexiko, stammende Komponistin, Performerin und multidisziplinäre Künstlerin. Zurzeit lebt sie in Berlin. Ihre Arbeit zeichnet sich durch eine ausgesprochene Vorliebe für die taktile Dimension des Klangerzeugungsprozesses aus. Dabei versucht sie, das thermodynamische Phänomen der Entropie im Innern der musikalischen Struktur zum Ausdruck zu bringen und lässt Urzeitliches mit Technologischem kollidieren, um starke sinnliche und tief liegende Energien freizusetzen.

Ihr Schaffen umfasst zahlreiche Kammermusikwerke, elektronische Musik sowie Klang- und Intermediainstallationen. Die meisten ihrer akustischen, elektronischen und Mixed-Media-Arbeiten integrieren selbst gemachte Klangskulpturen, experimentelle elektroakustische Instrumente wie zum Beispiel die Noise Spring Harps, gefundene Objekte und gesammeltes Klangmaterial aus ihren eigenen Field recordings, Improvisationen und Performances. Sie promovierte 2011 in Komposition an der Stanford University und schloss 2005 ihr Studium am Mills College, Oakland, CA, mit einem Masters of Arts ab. Zuletzt entwickelte sie ein Projekt mit dem Titel „Sensuous Matter“, eine Performance-Installation für autonom intervenierende Musikmaschinen und Performer, das von der Initiative Neue Musik Berlin 2018 gefördert wurde.

Jimenéz erhielt den ersten Preises des 39. Internationalen Irino Preises Tokio, einem Kammermusik-Wettbewerb, und wurde als Mitglied des Nationalen Systems der Kunstschaffenden in Mexiko aufgenommen, einem Programm des mexikanischen Nationalen Found for the Arts and Culture (FONCA). Ihre Arbeiten wurden von führenden Ensembles und Interpreten neuer Musik in ganz Europa, den Vereinigten Staaten, Brasilien, Japan und Mexiko in Auftrag gegeben und aufgeführt.

Stand: Januar 2020