Erwan Keravec

Erwan Keravec is a highland bagpiper, composer and improviser. In seeking out the more unusual sounds, and ways of playing and listening to his instrument, far from its original cultural setting, he is exploring improvised music, free and ‘noise’ jazz, and establishing a repertoire of contemporary music for solo pipes, trio with solo voice and with choir. With an interest in movement and in settings associated with reinvention, he also writes, plays and improvises for dance. In this area he worked with choreographers and dancers like Gaelle Bourges, Raoul Batz-Gruppe, Cécile Borne, Boris Charmatz, Emmanuelle Huynh, Mickaël Phelippeau and Alban Richard.

Trained by luthier and piper Jorj Botuha, and tutored in the playing style and repertoire of Scottish bagpipes, Erwan Keravec made his debut in Lokoal Mendon’s Bagad Roñsed, and as a twosome with his brother Guénolé Keravec on the bombard. Starting in 1996, he explored free jazz and improvised music. Since then he has played in a wide variety of band formations and constellations.

Since 2007, he has pursued his quest for a style of piping that's removed from its original setting, with the projects “Urban Pipes I” (2007) and “Urban Pipes II” (2011), on which he wrote and improvised solo, with his brother Guénolé, and with the Basque singer Beñat Achiary. To make his intentions clear, he commissioned composers with absolutely no knowledge of bagpipes to write solo pieces for “Nu Piping” series (since 2011). So far, he has been behind 13 works for solo pipes, by Sébastien Bérenger, Bernard Cavanna, Benjamin de la Fuente, Xavier Garcia, Lars Kynde, Heiner Goebbels, Philippe Leroux, Zad Moultaka, François Rossé, François Sarhan, and Susumu Yoshida. For the Sonneurs quartet, comprising wind instruments from the Breton tradition (bagpipes, bombard, biniou-koz, and trélombarde), since 2015 he has been developing the repertoire with Pierre-Yves Macé, Wolfgang Mitterer, Samuel Sighicelli, Susumu Yoshida and Frédéric Aurier.

At the same time, he has been working on the repertoire for “VOX” (since 2013), for bagpipes and voice (soprano and baritone) with Oscar Bianchi, Philippe Leroux, José-Manuel López López, and Oscar Strasnoy, which he'll further expand in “Extended VOX” (2019) with Les Cris de Paris – a 24-piece choir led by Geoffroy Jourdain – featuring commissions by Bernhard Lang and Wolfgang Mitterer.

In 2019, he is adding to the solo bagpipe repertoire with works of Heiner Goebbels, ÉLiane Radigue and Philip Glass: Heiner Goebbels’s “no28/50” was premiered in 2018 at Festival Schlossmediale Werdenberg in Switzerland, Éliane Radigue’s “OCCAM OCEAM XXVII” 2019 at Le Vivier in Montreal, Canada, and “Two Pages” represents an adaptation for bagpipes of the Philip Glass work “TwoPages” for Keyboard. In 2020, he'll add to the quartet repertoire with pieces by Otomo Yoshihide (world premiere January 2020 at Philharmonie de Paris) and Dror Feiler (world premiere April 2020 at Weiwuying National Kaohsiung Center for the Arts, Kaohsiung City, Taiwan).

www.erwan-keravec.eu

As of January 2020

Erwan Keravec

Erwan Keravec ist ein Hochland-Dudelsackspieler, Komponist und Improvisator. Auf seiner Suche nach ungewöhnlicheren Klängen und Spieltechniken für den Dudelsack oder Sackpfeife, die über dessen ursprünglichen kulturellen Kontext hinausgehen, erkundet er improvisierte Musik, Free- und Noise-Jazz und entwickelt gleichzeitig ein neues musikalisches Repertoire für Dudelsack bzw. Sackpfeifen Solo, im Trio mit Solostimme und mit Chor. Keravec ist auch an Bewegung und an neuen Performance-Settings interessiert und arbeitete mit Choreograf*innen und Tänzer*innen wie Gaelle Bourges, Raoul Batz-Gruppe, Cécile Borne, Boris Charmatz, Emmanuelle Huynh, Mickaël Phelippeau und Alban Richard zusammen.

Erwan Keravec wurde vom Geigenbauer und Dudelsackspieler Jorj Botuha ausgebildet und in der Spieltechnik wie im Repertoire schottischer Dudelsackmusik unterrichtet. Sein Debüt als Solist gab er beim Bagad Roñsed-Mor in Lokoal Mendons (Bretagne) und zusammen mit seinem Bruder Guénolé Keravec, der Bombarde spielt. Seit 1996 beschäftigte er sich mit Free Jazz und improvisierter Musik und ist in den verschiedensten Band-Konstellationen aktiv.

In seinen Projekten „Urban Pipes I“ (2007) und „Urban Pipes II“ (2011), für die er Solostücke schrieb, allein oder mit seinem Bruder Guénolé und dem baskischen Sänger Beñat Achiary improvisierte, hat er versucht Musik für Sackpfeife zu erfinden, die von der traditionellen Dudelsackmusik abweicht. Dazu gehörte auch, Komponist*innen, die absolut keine Dudelsackkenntnisse haben, mit Kompositionen für Sackpfeife Solo zu schreiben. So ist die „Nu Piping“-Serie entstanden. Bisher sind 13 Werke für Sackpfeife Solo von Sébastien Bérenger, Bernard Cavanna, Benjamin de la Fuente, Xavier García, Lars Kynde, Heiner Goebbels, Philippe Leroux, Zad Moultaka, François Rossé, François Sarhan und Susumu Yoshida geschrieben worden. Für das Quartett Sonneurs, das sich aus bretonischen Blasinstrumenten wie Dudelsack, Bombarde, Biniou-Koz und Trélombarde zusammensetzt, entwickelt er seit 2015 ebenfalls ein neues Repertoire mit Kompositionen von Pierre-Yves Macé, Wolfgang Mitterer, Samuel Sighicelli, Susumu Yoshida und Frédéric Aurier.

Gleichzeitig arbeitet er seit 2013 in dem Projekt „VOX“ am Repertoire für Dudelsack und Gesang (Sopran und Bariton), für das Oscar Bianchi, Philippe Leroux, José-Manuel López López und Oscar Strasnoy Stücke komponiert haben. In „Extended VOX“ (2019) entwickelter dieses Projekt mit Les Cris de Paris – einem 24-köpfigen Chor unter der Leitung von Geoffroy Jourdain – weiter mit Kompositionsaufträgen an Bernhard Lang und Wolfgang Mitterer.

2019 erweitert er das Solo-Dudelsackrepertoire mit Werken von Heiner Goebbels, Éliane Radigue und Philip Glass: Heiner Goebbels „no28 / 50“ wurde 2018 auf dem Festival Schlossmediale Werdenberg in der Schweiz uraufgeführt und Éliane Radiges „Occam Oceam XXVII“ 2019 im Le Vivier in Montreal, Kanada. Bei „Two Pages“ von Philip Glass handelt es sich um eine für Dudelsack adaptierte Komposition für Keyboard. 2020 wird er das Repertoire für Quartett mit Werken von Otomo Yoshihide (Uraufführung Januar 2020 in der Philharmonie von Paris) und Dror Feiler (Uraufführung April 2020 im Weiwuying-Zentrum für Kunst und Kultur, in Kaohsiung (Süd-Taiwan) ergänzen.

www.erwan-keravec.eu

Stand: Januar 2020

Vergangene Veranstaltungen