Bernard Parmegiani

Bernard Parmegiani (1927-2013) was a French composer of electro-acoustic music.

Between 1957 and 1961 he studied pantomime with Jacques Lecoq in Paris, a period which he later considered as important to his work as a composer. He joined the Groupe de Recherches Musicales (GRM) in 1959 for a two-year master class, shortly after its founding by Pierre Schaeffer. After studying at Lecoq, he was first a sound engineer and was later put in charge of the Music/Image unit for French television (ORTF). There he worked in the studio with several well-known composers, for example with Iannis Xenakis.

During his time at ORTF Parmegiani produced music for numerous directors including Jacques Baratier and Peter Kassovitz. He also wrote a number of jingles for French media, including the five-second futuristic melody “Indicatif Roissy” that preceded every pa announcement at Terminal 1 of Charles de Gaulle Airport in Paris from 1974 till 2005.

Parmegiani composed his first major work, “Violostries” for violin and tape in 1964 for a choreography performed for Théâtre Contemporain d’Amiens directed by Jacques-Albert Cartier. During a visit to America in the late 1960s, Parmegiani researched the link between music and video and on his return produced several musical videos, including “L'Œil écoute”, and “L’Écran transparent” (1973) during a residency at Westdeutscher Rundfunk in Germany. In the 1970s he was also involved in live jazz performances and performed with the “Third Ear Band” in London.

At this time Parmegiani also started writing acousmatic pieces for performance in the concert hall: examples are “Capture éphémère” of 1967 which deals with the passage of time, and “L'Enfer” (1972), a collaboration with the composer François Bayle, based on Dante’s “Divine Comedy”.

Parmegiani composed the music for Walerian Borowczyk’s films “Jeux des Anges” (1964) and “Docteur Jekyll et les femmes” (1981). The soundtrack for the latter comprising cues Parmegiani re-arranged from his 1972 work “Pour en finir avec le pouvoir d’Orphée”.

In 1992 Parmegiani left the GRM and opened his own studio in Saint-Rémy-de-Provence. In April 2010, he was a member of the jury for the sixth Qwartz Electronic Music Awards, a promotional project and a support group for electronic music artists.

Parmegiani has been cited as a major influence by younger experimenters such as Aphex Twin, Autechre and Sonic Youth. His works were performed at the All Tomorrow's Parties festivals in 2003 and 2008.

As of January 2020

Upcoming Events

Bernard Parmegiani

Bernard Parmegiani (1927 - 2013) war ein französischer Komponist elektroakustischer Musik.

Zwischen 1957 und 1961 studierte er Pantomime bei Jacques Lecoq in Paris, eine Zeit, die er später als wertvoll für seine Arbeit als Komponist ansah. Er trat 1959 für eine zweijährige Meisterklasse in die Groupe de Recherches Musicales (GRM) ein, kurz nach der Gründung durch Pierre Schaeffer. Nach seinem Studium bei Lecoq war er zunächst Tontechniker und später Leiter der Abteilung Musik/Bild für das französische Fernsehen (ORTF). Dort arbeitete er im Studio mit mehreren namhaften Komponisten, zum Beispiel mit Iannis Xenakis.

Während seiner Zeit beim ORTF produzierte Parmegiani Musik für zahlreiche Regisseure, darunter Jacques Baratier und Peter Kassovitz. Er schrieb auch eine Reihe von Jingles für französische Medien, u. a. die fünf Sekunden lange futuristische Melodie „Indicatif Roissy", die von 1974 bis 2005 jeder Lautsprecher-Ankündigung am Terminal 1 des Flughafens Charles de Gaulle in Paris vorausging.

Parmegiani komponierte sein erstes Hauptwerk, „Violostries“ für Violine und Tonband im Jahr 1964 für eine Choreografie, die Jacques-Albert Cartier für das Théâtre Contemporain d'Amiens dirigierte. Während eines Amerika-Besuchs in den späten 1960er Jahren untersuchte Parmegiani die Verbindung zwischen Musik und Video und produzierte bei seiner Rückkehr mehrere Musikvideos, darunter „L'Œil écoute“ und“ L'Écran transparent“ (1973) während eines Aufenthalts beim Westdeutschen Rundfunk in Deutschland. In den 1970er Jahren engagierte er sich auch für Live-Auftritte im Jazz und trat mit der „Third Ear Band“ in London auf.

Zu dieser Zeit begann Parmegiani auch, akusmatische Stücke für die Aufführung im Konzertsaal zu schreiben: Beispiele sind „Capture éphémère“ von 1967, das sich mit der Zeit beschäftigt, und „L'Enfer“ (1972), eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Komponisten François Bayle, basierend auf Dantes „Göttliche Komödie“.

Parmegiani komponierte die Musik zu Walerian Borowczyks Filmen „Jeux des Ange“s (1964) und „Docteur Jekyll et les femme“s (1981). Der Soundtrack für letzteres bestand aus Cues, die Parmegiani aus seinem 1972 entstandenen Werk „Pour en finir avec le pouvoir d'Orphée“ neu arrangierte.

1992 verließ Parmegiani das GRM und eröffnete sein eigenes Studio in Saint-Rémy-de-Provence. Im April 2010 war er Mitglied der Jury bei den sechsten Qwartz Electronic Music Awards, einem Förderprojekt und einer Unterstützungsgruppe für elektronische Musikkünstler.

Parmegiani wurde von jüngeren Experimentatoren wie Aphex Twin, Autechre und Sonic Youth als Haupteinfluss genannt. Seine Werke wurden 2003 und 2008 auf den All Tomorrow's Parties-Festivals aufgeführt.

Stand: Januar 2020

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen