Ballet Rambert

Ballet Rambert is one of the world’s leading contemporary dance companies. With a diverse programme and international outlook, it is also a British national institution with loyal local audiences throughout the UK.

Ballet Rambert has been a home to the great modern choreographers of the 20th and 21st centuries. From Frederick Ashton to Christopher Bruce to Wayne McGregor, early choreographic opportunities were commissioned by the risk-taking Ballet Rambert well ahead of the traditional ballet troupes. Today, the world’s most diverse ensemble of dancers takes on these great works as well as giving a platform to the new voices of contemporary dance. Ballet Rambert’s 2019/20 programme includes works by Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Sharon Eyal, Wayne McGregor, Marion Motin, Andrea Miller, Ohad Naharin, Lloyd Newson, Hofesh Shechter and Jermaine Spivey.

A new Ballet Rambert is emerging, under the leadership of Chief Executive and Executive Producer Helen Shute and Artistic Director Benoit Swan Pouffer. Ballet Rambert launched a second touring ensemble in 2018, Rambert2, to showcase the world’s best early career dancers. “Enter Achilles” signals another fresh development, working with a major artist and assembling a new, hand-picked company of performers to re-create an iconic work for today’s audiences. By providing these conditions, Ballet Rambert has enticed Newson for the first time in 30 years to re-envisage one of his works on another company. The company works in partnership with other visionary organisations to realise its most ambitious projects, including collaborations with 59 Productions, Manchester International Festival, The Royal Ballet and Sadler’s Wells.

Ballet Rambert believes that people everywhere should have the opportunity to engage with dance work of the highest quality, through watching performances, taking part in activities, and interacting online. Along with the thousands of people watching Ballet Rambert performances each year, equal numbers join learning and participation activity. Ballet Rambert has been based in its purpose-built, home in London’s South Bank since 2013.

Ballet Rambert’s vision is to be the world’s most exciting dance company, making dance resonate for the 21st century in the hearts of communities at home and around the world.

www.rambert.org.uk

As of November 2019

Past Events

Ballet Rambert

Ballet Rambert gehört zu den weltweit führenden zeitgenössischen Tanzkompanien. Mit einem breit gefächerten Programm und einer internationalen Ausrichtung ist die Kompanie zudem eine landesweit aktive britische Institution mit einer treuen Zuschauer*innenschaft im gesamten Vereinigten Königreich.

Viele große Choreograf*innen des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts fanden bei Ballet Rambert eine Heimat. Die risikofreudige Kompanie gab Künstler*innen wie Frederick Ashton, Christopher Bruce und Wayne McGregor bereits lange vor den traditionellen Balletttruppen Gelegenheiten, ihre Choreografien zu entwickeln. Heute erarbeitet sich das Ensemble, das eine weltweit einzigartige Diversität aufweist, diese großen Werke und bietet zudem auch neuen Stimmen des zeitgenössischen Tanzes eine Plattform. 2019/20 präsentiert Ballet Rambert unter anderem Arbeiten von Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Sharon Eyal, Wayne McGregor, Marion Motin, Andrea Miller, Ohad Naharin, Lloyd Newson, Hofesh Shechter und Jermaine Spivey.

Unter der Leitung der leitenden Geschäftsführerin und Produzentin Helen Shute und des künstlerischen Leiters Benoit Swan Pouffer entwickelt sich derzeit ein ganz neues Ballet Rambert. Im Jahr 2018 führte die Kompanie ein zweites Tournee-Ensemble ein, Rambert2, in dem die besten jungen Profitänzer*innen der Welt dem Publikum vorgestellt werden. Auch „Enter Achilles“ ist Zeichen einer neuen Entwicklung: Ballet Rambert arbeitet hier mit einem wichtigen Künstler zusammen und versammelt ein neues, handverlesenes Ensemble von Performer*innen, um dem Publikum von heute dieses ikonisches Werk zeigen zu können. Unter diesen Rahmenbedingungen konnte Ballet Rambert Lloyd Newson dafür gewinnen, zum ersten Mal in seiner 30-jährigen Karriere eine seiner Arbeiten mit einer anderen Kompanie neu zu erfinden. Um seine ehrgeizigsten Projekte umzusetzen, arbeitet Ballet Rambert mit anderen wegweisenden Organisationen zusammen, darunter 59 Productions, Manchester International Festival, das Royal Ballet und Sadler’s Wells.

Die Kompanie ist der Überzeugung, dass Menschen überall die Gelegenheit haben sollten, sich mit Tanz von höchster Qualität auseinanderzusetzen, indem sie Vorstellungen ansehen, an Aktivitäten teilhaben und online miteinander kommunizieren. Tausende von Menschen erleben jedes Jahr Vorstellungen von Ballet Rambert und ebenso viele nehmen an den Lern- und Teilhabeaktivitäten der Kompanie teil. Sie hat ihren Sitz seit 2013 in einem eigens dafür eingerichteten Gebäude an der Londoner South Bank.

Ballet Rambert möchte die aufregendste Tanzkompanie der Welt sein und dem Tanz im 21. Jahrhundert zu einer Resonanz in den Herzen der Menschen verhelfen, sowohl national als auch international.

www.rambert.org.uk

Stand: November 2019

Vergangene Veranstaltungen