Agnes Denes

Agnes Denes (*1931 in Budapest) lives and works in New York. A primary figure among the concept-based artists who emerged in the 1960s and 1970s, Agnes Denes is internationally known for works created in a wide range of mediums. Investigating science, philosophy, linguistics, psychology, poetry, history, and music, Denes’s artistic practice is distinctive in terms of its aesthetics and engagement with socio-political ideas. As a pioneer of environmental art, she created “Rice/Tree/Burial” in 1968 in Sullivan County, New York, acknowledged as the first site-specific piece with ecological concerns.

“Wheatfield – A Confrontation” is perhaps Agnes Denes’s best known work. It was created during a four-month period in 1982 when Denes, with the support of the Public Art Fund, planted a field of golden wheat on two acres of rubble-strewn landfill near Wall Street and the World Trade Center in lower Manhattan (now the site of Battery Park City and the World Financial Center). With the support of the Trussardi Foundation, Denes’s “Wheatfield” was replanted in 2015 on twelve acres of land in central Milan. Among her many other artistic achievements is “Tree Mountain – A Living Time Capsule”, a monumental earthwork, reclamation project and the first man-made virgin forest, situated in Ylöjärvi, in western Finland. The site was dedicated by the President of Finland upon its completion in 1996 and is legally protected for the next four hundred years. “The Living Pyramid”, a monumental sculptural work comprised of earth, wood, and plants, commissioned in 2015 by the Socrates Sculpture Park (Long Island, City, New York), was recreated in 2017 for Documenta 14 in Kassel. The artist is currently proposing “A Forest for New York”, envisioned to occupy the 120 acres of barren land that comprises the Edgemere landfill in Queens.

Agnes Denes is also known for her innovative use of metallic inks and other non-traditional materials in creating a prodigious body of exquisitely rendered drawings and prints that delineate her explorations in mathematics, philosophy, geography, science and other disciplines. Works by Agnes Denes are in the collections of The Museum of Modern Art; Metropolitan Museum of Art; Whitney Museum of American Art; Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden; Art Institute of Chicago; San Francisco Museum of Modern Art; National Gallery of Art, Washington D.C.; Museum of Fine Arts, Boston; Moderna Museet, Stockholm; Israel Museum, Jerusalem; Kunsthalle Nürnberg and many other major institutions worldwide.

She has completed public and private commissions in North and South America, Europe, Australia, and the Middle East, and has received numerous honours and awards including four fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and four grants from the New York State Council on the Arts; the DAAD Fellowship, Berlin (1978); the American Academy of Arts and Letters Purchase Award (1985); M.I.T’s Eugene McDermott Achievement Award (1990); the Rome Prize (1998); the Watson Transdisciplinary Art Award from Carnegie Mellon University (1999); the Anonymous Was A Woman Award (2007); the Ambassador’s Award for Cultural Diplomacy for Strengthening the Friendship between the US and the Republic of Hungary through Excellence in Contemporary Art (2008) and a fellowship from the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation (2015). Denes holds honorary doctorates from Ripon College, Wisconsin and Bucknell University, Lewisburg, Pennsylvania and has had fellowships at the Studio for Creative Inquiry at Carnegie Mellon University and the Center for Advanced Visual Studies at M.I.T. She is the author of six books and has participated in more than 600 exhibitions at galleries and museums throughout the world including, among others, solo shows at the Corcoran Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C. (1974); ICA, London (1979); the Kunsthalle Nürnberg (1982); Herbert F. Johnson Museum of Art, Ithaca (1992); Samek Art Gallery, Bucknell University, Lewisburg (2003); Ludwig Museum, Budapest (2008); the Santa Monica Museum of Art (2012); FirstSite, Colchester, UK (2013). Her work has also been featured in such international surveys as the Biennale of Sydney (1976); Documenta 6, Kassel (1977); the Venice Biennale (1978); and Documenta 14, Kassel and Athens (2017). A highly critically acclaimed, comprehensive survey including newly commissioned sculptures by Agnes Denes opened in October 2019 at The Shed, New York.

As of March 2020

Past Events

Agnes Denes

Agnes Denes (*1931, Budapest) lebt und arbeitet in New York. Als eine der führenden Figuren der Konzeptkunst in den 1960er- und 1970er-Jahren ist sie international für ihre Werke in unterschiedlichsten Zusammenhängen bekannt. Denes’ künstlerische Praxis speist sich aus Wissenschaft, Philosophie, Linguistik, Psychologie, Poesie, Geschichte sowie Musik und zeichnet sich durch die Auseinandersetzung mit gesellschaftspolitischen Ideen aus. Als Pionierin der Environmental Art schuf sie 1968 in Sullivan County (New York) „Rice/Tree/Burial“, das als erstes ortsspezifisches Werk mit ökologischem Anliegen gilt.

„Wheatfield – A Confrontation“ ist vermutlich das bekannteste Werk von Agnes Denes. Es entstand 1982 über vier Monate hinweg, als Denes mit Unterstützung des Public Art Fund ein Weizenfeld auf einer etwa 8.000m2 großen Schuttdeponie in der Nähe der Wall Street und des World Trade Center in Lower Manhattan pflanzte (heute Standort von Battery Park City und dem World Financial Center). Mit Unterstützung der Trussardi Foundation wurde ihr „Wheatfield“ 2015 auf knapp 50.000m2 Land ins Zentrum von Mailand umgepflanzt. Zu Denes’ zahlreichen künstlerischen Errungenschaften gehört auch „Tree Mountain – A Living Time Capsule“ in Ylöjärvi im Westen von Finnland: ein monumentales Erdwerk, Rekultivierungsprojekt und der erste vom Menschen geschaffene Urwald. Die Stätte wurde nach ihrer Fertigstellung 1996 vom finnischen Präsidenten eingeweiht und ist 400 Jahre lang gesetzlich geschützt. „The Living Pyramid” ist ein monumentales skulpturales Werk aus Erde, Holz und Pflanzen, das 2015 vom Socrates Sculpture Park (Long Island, City, New York) in Auftrag gegeben und 2017 für die Documenta 14 in Kassel nachgebildet wurde. Derzeit bereitet die Künstlerin „A Forest for New York“ vor, eine Arbeit, die knapp 500.000m2 des unfruchtbaren Lands der Edgemere Deponie in Queens bedecken soll.

Agnes Denes ist auch bekannt für den innovativen Einsatz von Metallic-Farben und anderen unkonventionellen Materialien bei der Schaffung ihres gewaltigen Korpus aufwendiger Zeichnungen und Drucke, mit denen sie ihre Forschung in Mathematik, Philosophie, Geografie, Wissenschaft und anderen Disziplinen skizziert und beschreibt. Ihre Werke sind Bestandteil u.a. folgender Sammlungen: Museum of Modern Art; Metropolitan Museum of Art; Whitney Museum of American Art; Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden; Art Institute of Chicago; San Francisco Museum of Modern Art; National Gallery of Art, Washington D.C.; Museum of Fine Arts, Boston; Moderna Museet, Stockholm; Israel Museum, Jerusalem; Kunsthalle Nürnberg.

Agnes Denes hat öffentliche und private Auftragsarbeiten in Nord- und Südamerika, Europa, Australien und dem Nahen Osten ausgeführt und zahlreiche Ehrungen und Preise erhalten, darunter vier Stipendien der National Endowment for the Arts und vier Stipendien des New York State Council on the Arts; das DAAD-Stipendium, Berlin (1978); den American Academy of Arts and Letters Purchase Award (1985); den M.I.T Eugene McDermott Achievement Award (1990); den Rom-Preis (1998); den Watson Transdisciplinary Art Award der Carnegie Mellon University (1999); den Anonymous Was A Woman Award (2007); den Ambassador’s Award for Cultural Diplomacy for Strengthening the Friendship between the US and the Republic of Hungary through Excellence in Contemporary Art (2008) sowie ein Stipendium der John Simon Guggenheim Foundation (2015). Denes hat die Ehrendoktorwürde des Ripon College (Wisconsin) und der Bucknell University (Lewisburg, Pennsylvania) erhalten und war Stipendiatin des Studio for Creative Inquiry an der Carnegie Mellon University und des Center for Advanced Visual Studies am M.I.T. Sie ist Autorin von sechs Büchern und hat an mehr als 600 Ausstellungen in Galerien und Museen auf der ganzen Welt teilgenommen, darunter u.a. Einzelausstellungen in der Corcoran Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C. (1974); im ICA, London (1979); der Kunsthalle Nürnberg (1982); im Herbert F. Johnson Museum of Art, Ithaca (1992); der Samek Art Gallery, Bucknell University, Lewisburg (2003); im Ludwig Museum, Budapest (2008); im Santa Monica Museum of Art (2012); bei FirstSite, Colchester, UK (2013). Ihre Arbeit wurde auch auf internationalen Ausstellungen wie der Biennale von Sydney (1976), der Documenta 6 in Kassel (1977), der Biennale von Venedig (1978) und der Documenta 14 in Kassel und Athen (2017) gezeigt. Eine von der Kritik hoch gelobte, umfassende Retrospektive mit neu in Auftrag gegebenen Skulpturen von Agnes Denes wurde im Oktober 2019 in The Shed, New York, eröffnet.

Stand: März 2020

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen

Vergangene Veranstaltungen