Stanley Dodds

Stanley Dodds is the Principal Conductor of the Berlin Symphony Orchestra with ten concerts each season in the Berliner Philharmonie, including the annual New Year's Day concert with Beethoven’s ninth symphony. Since his appointment in 2014 each season focuses around a central motif, with a Beethoven cycle in 2017/18, Brahms in 2018/19 and the current season 2019/20 featuring Russian romantic favourites. 2020/21 will see a repeat of the hugely successful Beethoven cycle on the occasion of Beethoven’s 250th jubilee.

A highlight of the 2016 season was the invitation to conduct a concert with the Australian World Orchestra in the Sydney Opera House. Inaugurated in 2011 the orchestra annually brings together Australia’s successful classical musicians from around the world, including members of the Berlin Philharmonic and Vienna Philharmonic, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and London Symphony Orchestra, amongst many others. Previous conductors have been Simone Young, Alexander Briger, Zubin Mehta and Sir Simon Rattle.

Past guest conductor appearances include the Hamburger Symphoniker, Sendai Philharmonic, Neubrandenburger Philharmonie, Istanbul State Symphony Orchestra, Beijing Symphony Orchestra, Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, Canberra Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestre Philharmonique Luxembourg, Jena Philharmonic, Orchestra I Pomeriggi Musicale Milano, ensembles of the Berliner Philharmoniker, the Karajan-Academy Orchestra and the Scharoun Ensemble Berlin. He appears at major Festivals in Salzburg and Baden-Baden, at the MaerzMusik in Berlin and the Summer Festival in Mecklenburg Western Pomerania.

Stanley Chia-Ming Dodds was born in Canada, grew up in Australia and as a dual German-Australian citizen is now based in Berlin. He began playing violin and piano in Adelaide at age four, attended the Bruckner Conservatorium and Musik High School in Linz before studying violin and conducting at Lucerne Conservatorium. He continued violin studies at the Karajan Academy of the Berlin Philharmonic before receiving tenure as a violinist in the orchestra in 1994.

He studied conducting in Australia, Switzerland and Germany, his most important mentor being the acclaimed Finnish professor Jorma Panula. Other important influences on his conducting career have been the chief conductors of the Berliner Philharmoniker, Claudio Abbado and Sir Simon Rattle.

His repertoire embraces the core symphonic works of the 19th and early 20th century and he is a keen proponent of contemporary music with numerous works premiered under his direction.

He is dedicated to working with youth and amateur orchestras, directing for many years the Berliner Sibelius Orchestra and Schöneberg Symphony Orchestra. He is artistic director of the State Youth Orchestra of Mecklenburg Western Pomerania, the Youth Orchestra Festival in Neubrandenburg and is in charge of the Schools Orchestra Concert and Youth Composition Workshop of the Berlin Philharmonic. On the occasion of the Berliner Philharmoniker’s annual 2017 European concert in Pafos he initiated a bi-communal orchestra project, conducting young musicians from the entire island of Cyprus together with members of the Berliner Philharmoniker, in a gesture of the universal language of music.

As a member of the Berlin Philharmonic executive board his management portfolio includes media rights and the development of digital streaming and communications platforms.

www.stanleydodds.com

As of May 2020

Past Events

Stanley Dodds

Stanley Dodds ist Chefdirigent des Sinfonie Orchesters Berlin, das er seit 2014 in jährlich zehn Konzerten in der Berliner Philharmonie leitet, darunter das jährliche Neujahrskonzert mit Ludwig van Beethovens Neunter Symphonie. Jährliche Themenzyklen bilden dabei die Programmschwerpunkt; in der Saison 2017/18 war das ein Beethoven-Zyklus, Musik von Johannes Brahms folgte in 2018/19 und in der laufenden Saison 2019/20 steht die romantische Symphonik Russlands im Mittelpunkt. 2020/21 wird, anlässlich des Beethoven Jubiläums, der erfolgreiche Beethoven-Zyklus erneut aufgeführt.

Zu den Höhepunkten der Saison 2016/17 zählte seine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Australian World Orchestra, das sich aus internationalen Musiker*innen zusammensetzt, darunter Instrumentalist*innen der Berliner und Wiener Philharmoniker, sowie des Chicago und London Symphony Orchestras. Vor ihm dirigierten bereits Simone Young, Alexander Briger, Zubin Mehta und Sir Simon Rattle dieses Orchester.

In den vergangenen Saisons dirigierte Stanley Dodds u. a. die Hamburger Symphoniker, das Sendai Philharmonic Orchestra, das Istanbul State Symphony Orchestra, das Beijing Symphony Orchestra, die Neubrandenburger Philharmonie, das Canberra Symphony Orchestra, das Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, das Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra, das Orchestre Philharmonique de Luxembourg, die Jenaer Philharmoniker, das Orchestra I Pomeriggi Musicale Milano, diverse Ensembles der Berliner Philharmoniker, das Karajan-Akademie Orchester und das Scharoun Ensemble Berlin. Er ist ein gern gesehener Gast bedeutender Musikfestivals, darunter in Salzburg, Baden-Baden, bei MaerzMusik Berlin und den Festspielen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.

In Kanada geboren, in Australien aufgewachsen, lebt der deutsch-australische Dirigent Stanley Chia-Ming Dodds heute in Berlin. Seinen ersten Geigen- und Klavierunterricht erhielt er in Australien mit vier Jahren. Er besuchte das Musikgymnasium und Brucknerkonservatorium in Linz und studierte anschließend Violine und Dirigieren am Konservatorium Luzern. Als Geiger setzte er seine Ausbildung an der Orchester-Akademie der Berliner Philharmoniker fort und wurde 1994 festes Mitglied des Orchesters.

Stanley Dodds studierte Dirigieren in Australien, der Schweiz und in Deutschland. Den wichtigsten Einfluss auf seinem Werdegang als Dirigent hatte Jorma Panula, bei dem er zahlreiche Kurse absolvierte. Andere prägende Impulse erhielt er von den Chefdirigenten der Berliner Philharmoniker Claudio Abbado und Sir Simon Rattle.

Stanley Dodds Repertoire umfasst die Kernwerke der Symphonik des 19. und frühen 20. Jahrhunderts, sowie zahlreiche zeitgenössische Kompositionen, von denen er einige uraufgeführt hat.

Die Arbeit mit Kindern, Jugendlichen und Amateuren liegt Stanley Dodds sehr am Herzen. Seit 2002 war er Chefdirigent des Berliner Sibelius Orchesters und des Sinfonie Orchesters Schöneberg – mit beiden Ensembles konzertierte er regelmäßig in den großen Berliner Konzerthäusern. Er leitet das Landesjugendorchester Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, das jährliche Schulorchestertreffen und die Jugendkompositionswerkstatt der Berliner Philharmoniker und ist künstlerischer Leiter des Jugendorchester-Festivals Neubrandenburg. Im Mai 2017 dirigierte er anlässlich des jährlichen Europakonzerts der Berliner Philharmoniker junge Musiker*innen von ganz Zypern gemeinsam mit Mitgliedern der Berliner Philharmoniker – ein Zeichen für die universelle Sprache der Musik.

Als Mitglied im Medien- und Stiftungsvorstand der Berliner Philharmoniker umfasst sein Verantwortungsbereich Medienrechte und die Entwicklung von digitalen Streaming- und Kommunikations-Plattformen.

www.stanleydodds.com

Stand: Mai 2020

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen