Piero Monti

Piero Monti was born in Faenza in 1957. In 1979 he completed his studies in choral music and choir conducting at the Luigi Cherubini Conservatory in Florence. In the same year he became assistant to the chief conductor at the Teatro Comunale di Bologna, in 1983 he was appointed stage music director there.

In 1988, at the invitation of Riccardo Chailly, he took over the direction of the choir at the Teatro Kommunale di Bologna and prepared the ensemble for 15 years for productions, recordings and tours with the conductors Riccardo Chailly (1988 – 1993) and Daniele Gatti (1997 – 2002), and also worked in this role with conductors such as Christian Thielemann and Vladimir Jurowski, Georg Solti, Claudio Abbado, Chung Myung-whun, Valery Gergiev, Riccardo Muti, Antonio Pappano and Giuseppe Sinopoli. In 2003 he was invited by the Teatro La Fenice in Venice to take part in the productions for the inauguration of the reconstructed theatre under the direction of Riccardo Muti and Lorin Maazel. This also included working with the conductors Lorenzo Viotti, John Eliot Gardiner, Neville Marriner and Georges Prêtre. From 2004 to 2012 he conducted the choir of the Teatro del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, where he prepared the numerous productions of the conductor Zubin Mehta and had the opportunity to work with musicians such as Meiji Ozawa, Semyon Bychkov, Christopher Hogwood and Lorin Maazel.

In 2008 he was invited by Vladimir Jurowski to bring together the two London choirs – the Philharmonia Chorus and the London Philharmonic Choir with a total of 240 choirs – for a performance of Giuseppe Verdi’s “Requiem” with the London Philharmonic Orchestra. In 2013 he prepared the Radio France Chorus for Verdi’s “Requiem” under the direction of Daniele Gatti in Paris. In 2014 he returned to Italy to conduct Gioacchino Rossini’s “Petite Messe solennelle” in the new auditorium of the national television station. In 2014 he prepared the Saxon State Opera Choir Dresden for a production of “Turandot” at the Semper Opera. From 2013 to 2019 he was choir director at the Teatro Massimo in Palermo. Since 2019 he has been chief conductor of the choir of the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome.

As of May 2020

Upcoming Events

Piero Monti

Piero Monti wurde 1957 in Faenza geboren. 1979 schloss er sein Studium in Chormusik und Chorleitung am Konservatorium Luigi Cherubini in Florenz ab. Im selben Jahr wurde er Assistent des Chefdirigenten am Teatro Comunale di Bologna, 1983 dann dort zum Bühnenmusikdirektor ernannt.

1988 übernahm er auf Einladung von Riccardo Chailly die Leitung des Chors am Teatro Kommunale di Bologna und bereitete das Ensemble 15 Jahre lang auf Produktionen, Aufnahmen und Tourneen mit den Dirigenten Riccardo Chailly (1988 - 1993) und Daniele Gatti (1997 – 2002) vor, und arbeitete in dieser Funktion auch mit Dirigenten wie Christian Thielemann und Vladimir Jurowski, Georg Solti, Claudio Abbado, Chung Myung-whun, Valery Gergiev, Riccardo Muti, Antonio Pappano und Giuseppe Sinopoli zusammen. 2003 wurde er vom Teatro La Fenice in Venedig eingeladen, an den Produktionen für die Einweihung des rekonstruierten Theaters unter der Leitung von Riccardo Muti und Lorin Maazel mitzuwirken. Dies schloss auch die Zusammenarbeit mit den Dirigenten Lorenzo Viotti, John Eliot Gardiner, Neville Marriner und Georges Prêtre mitzuwirken. Von 2004 bis 2012 dirigierte er den Chor des Teatro del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, wo er die zahlreichen Produktionen des Dirigenten Zubin Mehta vorbereitete und die Gelegenheit hatte, mit Musikern wie Meiji Ozawa, Semyon Bychkov, Christopher Hogwood und Lorin Maazel zusammenzuarbeiten.

2008 wurde er von Vladimir Jurowski ausgewählt, die beiden Londoner Chöre – den Philharmonia Chorus und den London Philharmonic Choir mit insgesamt 240 Choristen – für eine Aufführung von Giuseppe Verdis „Requiem“ mit dem London Philharmonic Orchestra zusammenzuführen. 2013 bereitete er in Paris den Radio France Chorus für Verdis „Requiem“ unter der Leitung von Daniele Gatti vor. 2014 kehrte er nach Italien zurück, um Gioacchino Rossinis „Petite Messe solennelle“ im neuen Auditorium des nationalen Fernsehsenders zu dirigieren. 2014 bereitete er den Sächsischen Staatsopernchor Dresden für eine Produktion von „Turandot“ an der Semperoper vor. Von 2013 bis 2019 war er Chorleiter am Teatro Massimo in Palermo. Seit 2019 ist er Chefdirigent des Chores der Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rom.

Stand: Mai 2020

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen