Corinna Belz Beckett

Corinna Belz studied philosophy, history of art and media sciences in Cologne and Berlin. She has written and directed numerous film productions, including “Die wirklichen Dinge passieren in der Nacht”, “Chantal Akerman und ihre Filme”, “Life After Microsoft”(2001), ”Other American Voices” (2002, nominated for the Grimme-Preis and awarded the Filmpreis des Deutschen Anwaltvereins), and “Three Wishes” (2005). Belz was involved as a director in the concept films produced for arte: “24h Berlin” (2009), “24h Jerusalem”(2013) and “24h Bavaria” (2016).

Her first film about Gerhard Richter’s work, “The Cologne Cathedral Window” (2007), was awarded the World Media Gold Award – Art Documentaries. Her feature-length cinema documentary “Gerhard Richter Painting” (2011) won much critical acclaim and was awarded the German Film Prize in Gold (highest honours in German cinema). The film ran nine weeks at the Film Forum in New York and was shown in numerous American cities. It ran successfully in France, Italy, Netherlands, Great Britain, Poland and other European countries.

In 2016 Corinna Belz’s documentary “4 x Paris, Paula Modersohn Becker”, which was created on the occasion of the large retrospective of Paule Modersohn-Becker’s work at the Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, accompanied this exhibition for five month. Also in 2016, her Film “Hans-Peter Feldmann, Art No Art” was released and her feature-length documentary “Peter Handke – In the Woods Might be Late” was premiered at the Film Festival Locarno, Official Selection.

In 2017, a new collaboration with Gerhard Richter was launched for the abstract film “MOVING PICTURE (946-3)”. The premiere took place in April 2019 at The Shed in New York with a composition by Steve Reich and Ensemble Signal. For an exhibition in Kyoto, a composition by Rebecca Saunders was created in late 2019 with the title “MOVING PICTURE (946-3) KYOTO VERSION” in collaboration with trumpeter Marco Blaauw. Belz’s feature-length documentary “In the Uffizi Gallery” about the Galleria degli Uffizi in Florence will premiere in autumn 2020.

Corinna Belz lives in Cologne and Berlin.

As of May 2020

Upcoming Events

Corinna Belz

Corinna Belz studierte Philosophie, Kunstgeschichte und Medienwissenschaften in Köln und Berlin.

Als Autorin und Regisseurin hat sie zahlreiche Filme und Fernsehproduktionen realisiert, darunter: „Die wirklichen Dinge passieren in der Nacht“, „Chantal Akerman und ihre Filme“, „Leben nach Microsoft“(2001), „Ein anderes Amerika“ (2002), nominiert für den Grimme-Preis und ausgezeichnet mit dem Filmpreis des Deutschen Anwaltvereins, und „Three Wishes“ (2005). An den von arte produzierten Konzeptfilmen „24h Berlin“ (2009), „24h Jerusalem“ (2013) und „24h Bayern“ (2016) war sie als Regisseurin beteiligt.

Ihr erster Film über Gerhard Richters Werk „Das Kölner Domfenster“ (2007) wurde mit dem World Media Gold Award – Art Documentaries ausgezeichnet. Ihre abendfüllende Kinodokumentation „Gerhard Richter Painting“ (2011) wurde von der Kritik hoch gelobt und mit dem Deutschen Filmpreis in Gold – die höchste Auszeichnung im deutschen Kino – geehrt. Der Film lief neun Wochen auf dem Film Forum in New York und war in zahlreichen amerikanischen Städten sehen, ebenso in Frankreich, Italien, Niederlanden, Großbritannien, Polen und anderen europäischen Ländern.

2016 begleitet Corinna Belz’ Dokumentarfilm „4 x Paris, Paula Modersohn-Becker“, der anlässlich der großen Retrospektive zu Paula Modersohn-Beckers Werk im Musée d’art Moderne de la Wilde da Paris entstand, fünf Monate lang die Ausstellung in Paris. Ebenfalls 2016 veröffentlichte sie den Film „Hans-Peter Feldmann, Art No Art“ und ihr Dokumentarfilm „Peter Handke – Bin im Wald. Kann sein, dass ich mich verspäte“ kam auf dem Filmfestival Locarno, Official Selection, zur Uraufführung.

2017 kam es zu einer erneuten Zusammenarbeit mit Gerhard Richter für den abstrakten Film „MOVING PICTURE (946-3)“. Die Uraufführung fand im April 2019 in The Shed in New York mit einer Komposition von Steve Reich und dem Ensemble Signal statt. Für eine Ausstellung in Kyoto entstand Ende 2019 eine Komposition von Rebecca Saunders mit dem Titel „MOVING PICTURE (946-3) KYOTO VERSION“ in Kollaboration mit dem Trompeter Marco Blaauw. Belz’ abendfüllender Dokumentarfilm „In den Uffizien“ über die Galleria degli Uffizi in Florenz wird im Herbst 2020 Premiere haben.

Corinna Belz lebt in Köln und Berlin.

Stand: Mai 2020

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen