Jessie Cox

“… some of the most experimental music of not just the day but the season ... held a listener’s attention with surprises and delights aplenty.“
— LA Times

Jessie Cox is a composer, drummer, and scholar, currently in pursuit of his Doctorate Degree at Columbia University. Growing up in Switzerland, and having roots in Trinidad and Tobago, he is currently residing in NYC. He has written over 100 works for various musical ensembles including electroacoustic works, solo works, chamber- and orchestral works, works for jazz ensembles and choirs; including commissions and performances by LA Phil, Ensemble Modern, Heidi Duckler Dance, JACK Quartet, International Contemporary Ensemble, and more.
As a performer, he has played in Europe, Africa, the Caribbean and the USA with musicians from all over the world. Jessie Cox has participated at esteemed festivals all over the world and his music can be heard on Aztec Music’s Declic Jazz Label, Gold Bolus Recordings and Infrequent Seams, as well as others.
His scholarly writing has been published in the journal Sound American, and on Castle Of Our Skins’ blog, another publication is forthcoming in Critical Studies in Improvisation, and he has presented his work at numerous conferences and festivals.

Jessie Cox graduated summa cum laude from the Berkley College of Music on scholarship in 2017, with a degree in composition.

Jessie Cox

© Gaya Feldheim Schorr

Past Events

Jessie Cox

“… some of the most experimental music of not just the day but the season ... held a listener’s attention with surprises and delights aplenty.“
— LA Times

Jessie Cox ist Komponist, Schlagzeuger und Pädagoge. Zurzeit promoviert er an der Columbia University. Aufgewachsen in der Schweiz, mit Wurzeln in Trinidad und Tobago, lebt er momentan in New York. Er hat über 100 Werke für verschiedene Ensembleformationen geschrieben, darunter elektroakustische Werke, Solowerke, Kammer- und Orchesterwerke, Werke für Jazzensembles und Chöre. Dazu gehören Aufträge und Auftritte von Los Angeles Philharmonic, dem Ensemble Modern, dem Heidi Duckler Dance, dem JACK Quartet und vielen anderen internationalen Ensembles zeitgenössischer Musik.

Als Performer ist er in Europa, Afrika, der Karibik und den USA aufgetreten, wird zu den angesehensten Festivals eingeladen und hat mit Musiker*innen aus der ganzen Welt zusammengespielt. Seine Musik ist unter anderem auf dem Declic Jazz Label von Aztec Music, bei Gold Bolus Recordings und Infrequent Seams erschienen.
Jessie Cox studierte Komposition bei George Lewis, Georg Friedrich Haas, Richard Carrick, Annie Gosfield, Seth Cluett, Derek Hurst, Marti Epstein, Alfred Schweizer und Schlagzeug bei Neal Smith, Tony „Thunder“ Smith.
Seine wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten wurden in der Zeitschrift Sound American und im Blog von Castle Of Our Skins veröffentlicht. Eine weitere Veröffentlichung erscheint in Critical Studies in Improvisation. Auch hat er die Ergebnisse seiner Forschungen auf zahlreichen Konferenzen und Festivals vorgestellt.
Jessie Cox absolvierte 2017 als Stipendiat das Berkley College of Music ein Kompositionsstudium, das er mit summa cum laude abschloss.

www.jessiecoxmusic.com

Jessie Cox

© Gaya Feldheim Schorr

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen