Marie Schleef

Marie Schleef is a director. She is particularly interested in female narratives and focuses on texts by female authors who have so far rarely or never been performed on German stages. She also adds a female perspective to texts from the established male theatrical canon.

Marie Schleef graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in Theater and Performance at Bard College in New York in 2014. She subsequently studied Theatre Directing at the “Ernst Busch” School of Dramatic Arts in Berlin. This was followed by work as an assistant director at the Volksbühne Berlin, including projects with Susanne Kennedy (“Women in Trouble” and “Coming Society”). In October 2018, her diploma production “To The Lighthouse” after Virginia Woolf’s eponymous novel was produced at the Volksbühne Berlin and invited to the Körber Studio für Junge Regie in Hamburg in 2019.

In autumn 2019, Marie Schleef produced the lecture performance “There Have Always Been Kings AND Queens”, based on the written section of her diploma thesis on the absence of a female canon in the German theatre landscape. She uses her Instagram account (@marieschleef) to run the online project “#womenwhoshouldnotbeforgotten”, which uses a format of short bilingual (DE/ENG) texts to engage with narratives of obscure women and highlight curiosities connected to feminist themes. In the 2020/2021 season she produced the long durational performance “NAME HER. Eine Suche nach den Frauen+ (NAME HER. In Search of Women+)“ at Ballhaus Ost in Berlin and “Die Blechtrommel (The Tin Drum)“ by Günter Grass at Schauspiel Köln.

As of April 2021

Marie Schleef

© Hendrik Lietmann

Past Events

Marie Schleef

Marie Schleef ist Regisseurin. Sie interessiert sich besonders für das weibliche Narrativ und fokussiert sich auf Texte von Autorinnen, die bisher kaum oder gar nicht auf deutschsprachigen Bühnen gespielt wurden. Zudem fügt sie Texten des männlich-etablierten Theaterkanons einen weiblichen Blick hinzu.

2014 schließt Marie Schleef ihren Bachelor of Arts in Theater and Performance am Bard College in New York ab. Anschließend studiert sie Schauspielregie an der Hochschule für Schauspielkunst „Ernst Busch“ in Berlin. Es folgen Regieassistenzen an der Volksbühne Berlin, u. a. bei Susanne Kennedy („Women in Trouble“ und „Coming Society“). Im Oktober 2018 kommt ihre Diplominszenierung „Die Fahrt zum Leuchtturm“ nach dem gleichnamigen Roman von Virginia Woolf an der Volksbühne Berlin heraus und wird nach Hamburg zum Körber Studio für Junge Regie 2019 eingeladen.

Im Herbst 2019 veröffentlicht Marie Schleef die Lecture Performance „There Have Always Been Kings AND Queens“, basierend auf dem schriftlichen Teil ihrer Diplomarbeit über die Abwesenheit des weiblichen Kanons in der deutschsprachigen Theaterlandschaft. Sie betreibt auf ihrem Instagram-Kanal (@marieschleef) das Onlineprojekt „#womenwhoshouldnotbeforgotten“, welches sich in bilingualen (DE/ENG) Kurztextformaten mit Narrativen obskurer Frauen befasst sowie Kuriositäten rund um feministische Themen aufgreift. In der Spielzeit 2020/2021 erscheint die Long Durational Performance „NAME HER. Eine Suche nach den Frauen+“ am Ballhaus Ost, Berlin sowie „Die Blechtrommel“ von Günter Grass am Schauspiel Köln.

Marie Schleef

© Hendrik Lietmann