Paweł Duduś

Paweł Duduś was born in Poland on a sunny day in August 1989 and is a queer migrant feminist, who has devised his artistic vocabulary from experiences in dance, theatre and performance art. Over the course of time, he has lived and worked in a range of places which has contributed to a broader socio-political sensibility that inspires his present artistic work.
One of the most important artistic and life experiences to influence Paweł Duduś was “#onlyloveisreal” – a collaboration based on friendship with Laura Eva Meuris – an ongoing research project dedicated to the themes of intimacy, love and (self-)caring.
Paweł Duduś has concentrated intensively on the subject of sexuality, focussing on the correlation between sexual expression and our identity while also looking for ways that we might reform the patterns and habits people use in the way they interact in intimate surroundings.

People that Paweł Duduś has enjoyed working with in the past include David Bloom, David von Westphalen, Mor Shani, Martina Rösler, Alessandro Sciarroni. In 2018 he took part in the year-long dance project “Negotiations” by Alexander Gottfarb, which was produced jointly by Tanzquartier Wien and Kunstverein Archipelago.

In 2017 Lucy Wilke and Paweł Duduś acted together in the theatre production “Fucking Disabled”, directed by David von Westphalen, that premiered at PATHOS München and was also invited to Rodeo 2018, Munich’s festival of independent theatre.
In the last three years they have repeatedly seen each other and undertaken a range of activities together. In 2018 they moderated workshops entitled “The Erotics of Restriction” as part of the festival xplore Berlin – The Festival on the Art of Lust. The workshop used simulation of a physical disability to attempt to break with familiar processes and patterns. This collaboration passionately explored the physicality of a restricted body and concentrated on developing a body-positive and body-friendly choreographic language. In their universe of micromovements, emphasis lies on the intensity of movement – not in its size but in the depth of the encounter between the persons involved. They often think together about beauty, attractiveness and relationships. A distinctive feature they both share is their strong appetite for adventure. In their free time they both enjoy walking in the Olympiapark if the weather is warm and sunny.
In 2020 Lucy Wilke and Paweł Duduś performed “SCORES THAT SHAPED OUR FRIENDSHIP” at schwere reiter in Munich and the Münchner Kammerspiele. For this piece they were awarded the 2020 German Theatre Prize DER FAUST in the category Best Dance Performance and invited to the 2021 Theatertreffen.

As of April 2021

Pawel Duduś

© Melanie Bonajo

Past Events

Pawel Duduś

Pawel Duduś wurde an einem sonnigen Tag im August 1989 in Polen geboren und ist ein Queer-Migrant-Feminist, der seine künstlerische Sprache anhand der Erfahrungen aus den Bereichen Tanz, Theater und Performance-Kunst gestaltet hat. Im Laufe der Zeit hat er an verschiedenen Orten gelebt und gearbeitet, was zur Entwicklung einer größeren gesellschaftspolitischen Sensibilität beigetragen hat, die seine heutige künstlerische Arbeit beflügelt.
Eine der wichtigsten Lebens- und künstlerischen Erfahrungen, die Pawel Duduś beeinflusst hat, war „#onlyloveisreal“ – eine auf Freundschaft basierende Zusammenarbeit mit Laura Eva Meuris – ein laufendes Forschungsprojekt, das sich dem Thema Intimität, Liebe und (Selbst-)Fürsorge widmet.
Pawel Duduś hat sich intensiv mit dem Thema Sexualität befasst und sich dabei auf die Korrelation zwischen sexuellem Ausdruck und unserer Identität konzentriert sowie nach Wegen gesucht, wie Muster und Gewohnheiten in der Art und Weise, wie Menschen in einer intimen Umgebung miteinander interagieren, reformiert werden können.

Menschen, mit denen Pawel Duduś in der Vergangenheit gerne zusammengearbeitet hat sind: David Bloom, David von Westphalen, Mor Shani, Martina Rösler, Alessandro Sciarroni. 2018 engagierte er sich für das ganzjährige Tanzprojekt „Negotiations“ von Alexander Gottfarb, das vom TanzQuartier Wien und dem Kunstverein Archipelago gemeinsam produziert wurde.

2017 spielten Lucy Wilke und Pawel Duduś bei der Theaterproduktion „Fucking Disabled“ unter der Regie von David von Westphalen, die im Pathos München Premiere hatte und auch zu Rodeo 2018, dem Münchner Theaterfestival der Freien Szene, eingeladen war.
In den letzten drei Jahren haben sie sich immer wieder gesehen und verschiedene Aktivitäten gemeinsam unternommen. 2018 moderierten sie Workshops unter dem Titel „Die Erotik der Einschränkung“ im Rahmen des Festivals xplore Berlin – The Festival on the Art of Lust. Der Workshop beschäftigte sich mit der Simulation einer körperlichen Behinderung und versuchte, vertraute Prozesse und Muster zu brechen. Diese Zusammenarbeit untersuchte leidenschaftlich die Körperlichkeit eines eingeschränkten Körpers und konzentrierte sich auf die Entwicklung einer körperpositiven und körperfreundlichen choreografischen Sprache. In ihrem Universum der Mikrobewegungen liegt der Schwerpunkt auf der Intensität der Bewegung – nicht in ihrer Größe, sondern in der Tiefe der Begegnung zwischen den beteiligten Personen. Gemeinsam denken sie oft über Schönheit, Attraktivität und Beziehungen nach. Was beide auszeichnet, ist definitiv ein starker Appetit auf Abenteuer. In der Freizeit genießen beide einen Spaziergang im Olympiapark, wenn das Wetter warm und sonnig ist.
2020 spielten Lucy Wilke und Pawel Duduś im schwere reiter in München und in den Münchner Kammerspielen „Scores That Shaped Our Friendship“. Für dieses Stück erhielten sie 2020 den Theaterpreis DER FAUST in der Kategorie Beste Darsteller*in Tanz und wurden zum Theatertreffen 2021 eingeladen.

Pawel Duduś

© Melanie Bonajo