Kim Ramona Ranalter

Kim Ramona Ranalter was born in Munich in 1981 and discovered herself as a young adult with a great thirst for artistic and musical knowledge and an unrestrained delight in combining works, materials and forms of expression on stage. Now she most likes working as a theatre-maker, music producer, musician and DJ* Kim_Twiddle together with artists and ensembles of all backgrounds on interdisciplinary projects.

After two years of stage training with IMAL Musiktheater e. V. (International Munich ArtLab), she worked there until 2013 as Assistant to the Musical Director and a lecturer on Arrangement and Studio Technology. From 2014 to 2018 she worked with the directors Sapir Heller, Manuela Mantini, Leonie Pichler and Caitlin Maas and the ensembles Turbowerk MUC, FBM e. V., Theter e. V. and Bluespots Productions as part of Bavaria’s independent theatre scene.

Since 2016 she has increasingly focussed on electronic music composition and sound design. As an electronic one-woman chorus she produces and performs her music in analogue style without a screen or a laptop, using electronic sound generators from the early 2000s (samplers, synth, loop station). In between retro pop and sci-fi she interprets music ranging from electronica, pop, hiphop and classical to experimental for theatre works and devises abstract sound for multimedia works and installations.

Recently she devised and played the stage music for “Amsterdam” (2019/2020) at the Munich Volkstheater and “SCORES THAT SHAPED OUR FRIENDSHIP” (2020).

She is currently creating the sound design for a third joint audio-visual durational exhibition with the media artist Barbara Herold in a public virtual space. After the success of interactive AR Apps, the stereoscope VR game environment “Parcour” opened in March 2021.

Since 2018 she has also been active as part of the queer feminist DJ* collective WUT: here, together with Munich-based DJ*s, producers and musicians, she develops intersectional events, coaching and network structures and also political interventions.

As of April 2021

Kim Ramona Ranalter

© Lauren Leis

Past Events

Kim Ramona Ranalter

Kim Ramona Ranalter, geboren 1981 in München, fand sich als junge Erwachsene mit großem künstlerisch-musikalischen Wissensdurst und unbändiger Lust am Verschränken von Gewerken, Materialien und Ausdrucksformen im Bühnenzusammenhang wieder. Heute noch arbeitet sie als Theatermacherin, Musikproduzentin, Musikerin und DJ* Kim_Twiddle am liebsten mit Künstler*innen und Ensembles of all Backgrounds in interdisziplinären Projekten zusammen.

Nach einer zweijährigen Bühnenausbildung bei IMAL Musiktheater e. V. (International Munich ArtLab), war sie dort bis 2013 als Assistentin der Musikalischen Leitung sowie als Dozentin für Arrangement und Studiotechnik beschäftigt. Von 2014 bis 2018 arbeitete sie mit den Regisseur*innen Sapir Heller, Manuela Mantini, Leonie Pichler, Caitlin Maas und den Ensembles Turbowerk MUC, FBM e. V., Theter e. V. und Bluespots Productions in der freien Theaterszene Bayerns.

Seit 2016 liegt ihr Fokus vermehrt bei elektronischer Musikkomposition und Sounddesign. Als elektronische Ein-Frau-Kapelle produziert und performt sie ihre Musik analog ohne Bildschirm oder Laptop auf elektronischen Klangerzeugern der frühen 2000er-Jahre (Sampler, Synthie, Loop-Station). Zwischen Retro und Sci-Fi interpretiert sie Musik von Electronica, Pop, HipHop, Klassik bis Experimental für Theaterstücke und entwirft den abstrakten Klang multimedialer Arbeiten und Installationen.

Aktuell entwickelte und spielt sie die Bühnenmusik zu „Amsterdam“ (2019/2020) am Volkstheater München und „SCORES THAT SHAPED OUR FRIENDSHIP“ (2020).

Für die Medienkünstlerin Barbara Herold setzt sie das Sounddesign einer dritten gemeinsamen audio-visuellen Daueraustellung im öffentlich-virtuellen Raum um. Nach den einschlägigen interaktiven AR-Apps fand im März 2021 die Eröffnung der stereoskopen VR-Spielewelt „Parcour“ statt.

Seit 2018 engagiert sie sich zudem im Rahmen des queer-feministischen DJ*Kollektivs WUT. Hier entwickelt sie gemeinsam mit Münchner DJ*s, Produzent*innen und Musiker*innen intersektionale Veranstaltungen, Coaching- und Netzwerkstrukturen sowie politische Interventionen.

Stand: April 2021

Kim Ramona Ranalter

© Lauren Leis

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen