Ann Cleare

Ann Cleare is an Irish artist working in the areas of concert music, opera, extended sonic environments and hybrid instrumental design. Described as “an altogether different artform that draws from musical traditions, but pushes against and beyond them, articulating something that is at once about sound, but that is equally concerned with energy, motion, space and the world itself”, her work explores the static and sculptural nature of sound, probing the extremities of timbre, texture, colour and form. Exploring poetries of communication, transformation and perception, she creates highly psychological and corporeal sonic spaces that encourage a listener to contemplate the complexity of the lives we exist within and “to hear the world differently”.

A recipient of a 2019 Ernst von Siemens Composer Prize, her work has been commissioned and presented by major broadcasters such as the BBC, NPR, ORF, RTÉ, SWR and WDR, for festivals such as Gaudeamus Week, The Wittener Tage für Neue Kammermusik, International Music Institute Darmstadt, IMATRONIC Festival of Electronic Music at ZKM, MATA Festival, Sound Reasons Festival in India, Shanghai New Music Week, Transit Belgium, Totally Huge New Music in Perth, Trattorie Parma, Rainy Days in Luxembourg, Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival and Ultraschall Berlin. Through working with some of the most progressive musicians of our time, she has established a reputation for creating innovative forms of music, both in its presentation and within the music itself. She has worked with groups such as Ensemble SurPlus, The International Contemporary Ensemble, Collegium Novum Zürich, The National Symphony Orchestra of Ireland, The Curious Chamber Players, ensemble mosaik, The Experimental Ensemble of the SWR Studios, Talea Ensemble, The BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, ensemble recherche and Ensemble Garage, and soloists such as Carol McGonnell, Richard Craig, Heather Roche, Bill Schimmel, Benjamin Marks, Patrick Stadler, Carlos Cordeiro, Ryan Muncy, Richard Haynes, William Lang, Laura Cocks, Lina Andonovska, Samuel Stoll, and Callum G’Froerer.

Recent projects have focused on creating experiential environments where sound is given a visual as well as sonic dimension, such works include “eyam i-v”, a series of five attacca pieces, centred around clarinet and flute writing in various solo, ensemble, electronic and orchestral settings, spanning just over two hours of music that is continuously transformed in shape, time, and motion around the listener; “rinn”, a time travel chamber opera involving a multichannel sonic sculpture that the singers and actors wear, interact with, and are amplified by; spatially choreographed chamber pieces such as “I should live in wires for leaving you behind”, “anchor me to the land”, and “on magnetic fields”; a newly-designed instrument that a musician simultaneously wears and plays in “eöl”; “surface stations”, multi-layered theatre involving the staging of extended brass instruments, vocal ensemble and visuals.

Current and future projects include a chamber piece and curated concert with Ensemble Musikfabrik for the National Concert Hall of Ireland’s Beethoven 2021 celebrations, a solo flute work for Claire Chase, a large scale work for soloists, chorus, orchestra, and electronics for New Music Dublin 2021, an opera for Munich Biennale 2022, a DVD of filmed works, and the creation of outdoor sonic sculptures with Lay of the Land, Crash Ensemble, and Fionnuala Conway.

Ann studied at University College Cork and IRCAM, and holds a Ph.D. from Harvard University. In October 2019, she received an Honorary Doctorate from the National University of Ireland for her contribution to music. Her scores are published by Project Schott New York and she is represented by the Contemporary Music Centre, Ireland (CMC). She is Assistant Professor of Music and Media Technologies at Trinity College Dublin. As an artistic collaborator with Dublin Sound Lab, she will work on developing their programming and production of electronic music over the coming years. Ann is Projects Officer with Sounding the Feminists (#STF), a collective championing principles of equality, fairness, inclusivity and diversity in Irish musical life.

annclearecomposer.com

June 2021

Ann Cleare

© Amelie Kahn-Ackermann

Past Events

Ann Cleare

Ann Cleare ist eine irische Künstlerin, die im erweiterten Kontext von Konzertmusik, Musiktheater, Klang-Environments und hybridem Instrumentendesign arbeitet. Ihr grenzüberschreitender Ansatz wurde beschrieben als „eine ganz andere Kunstform, die aus musikalischen Traditionen schöpft, sich aber gegen sie stellt und über sie hinausgeht. Sie artikuliert etwas, bei dem es gleichzeitig um Klang, aber auch um Energie, Bewegung, Raum und die Welt selbst geht.“ Ann Cleare ist interessiert an statischen und skulpturalen Aspekten von Klang und lotet die Extreme von Klangfarbe, Textur, Farbe und Form aus. Indem sie die Poesie von Kommunikation, Transformation und Wahrnehmung erforscht, schafft sie hochpsychologische und körperliche Klangräume, die die Zuhörer*innen dazu anregen, über die Komplexität der Zusammenhänge, in denen wir existieren, nachzudenken und „die Welt anders zu hören.“

Als Preisträgerin des Ernst-von-Siemens-Kompositionspreises 2019 wurde ihr Werk von bedeutenden Sendern wie BBC, NPR, ORF, RTÉ, SWR und WDR beauftragt und präsentiert, auf Festivals wie dem Gaudeamus Festival, den Wittener Tagen für Neue Kammermusik, dem Internationale Musikinstitut Darmstadt, IMATRONIC Festival für elektronische Musik im ZKM, MATA Festival, Sound Reasons Festival in Indien, der Shanghai New Music Week, bei Transit Belgien, Totally Huge New Music in Perth, Trattorie Parma, Rainy Days in Luxemburg, Ultraschall Berlin und vielen anderen. Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit einigen der renommiertesten Musiker*innen unserer Zeit hat sie sich den Ruf erworben, innovative Formen von Musik zu schaffen, sowohl in ihrer Präsentation als auch in der Musik selbst. Sie arbeitete mit Gruppen wie Ensemble SurPlus, The International Contemporary Ensemble, Collegium Novum Zürich, The National Symphony Orchestra of Ireland, The Curious Chamber Players, ensemble mosaik, The Experimental Ensemble of the SWR Studios, Talea Ensemble, The BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, ensemble recherche und Ensemble Garage zusammen.

Zu Ann Cleares jüngsten Projekten gehören: „eyam i-v“, eine Serie von fünf attacca-Stücken, in deren Mittelpunkt Klarinette und Flöte in verschiedenen Solo-, Ensemble-, Elektronik- und Orchesterkonstellationen stehen. Die Musik erstreckt sich über etwas mehr als zwei Stunden und verwandelt sich kontinuierlich in Form, Zeit und Bewegung um die Zuhörer*innen; „rinn“, eine Zeitreise-Kammeroper mit einer mehrkanaligen Klangskulptur, mit der die Sänger*innen und Schauspieler*innen interagieren und von der sie verstärkt werden; räumlich choreografierte Kammerstücke wie „I should live in wires for leaving you behind“, „anchor me to the land“ und „on magnetic fields“; ein neu entworfenes Instrument, das ein*e Musiker*in in „eöl“ gleichzeitig trägt und spielt; und „surface stations“, ein vielschichtiges Theater mit der Inszenierung von erweiterten Blechblasinstrumenten, Vokalensemble und visuellen Elementen.

Zu den aktuellen und zukünftigen Projekten gehören ein Kammerstück und ein kuratiertes Konzert mit dem Ensemble Musikfabrik für die Feierlichkeiten zum Beethovenjahr 2021 in der National Concert Hall of Ireland, ein Solo-Flötenwerk für Claire Chase, ein groß angelegtes Werk für Solist*innen, Chor, Orchester und Elektronik für New Music Dublin 2021, eine Oper für die Münchener Biennale 2022, eine DVD mit gefilmten Werken und Klangskulpturen im Freien mit Lay of the Land, Crash Ensemble und Fionnuala Conway.

annclearecomposer.com

Juni 2021