Renée Fleming

Renée Fleming is one of the most highly acclaimed singers of our time, performing on the stages of the world’s greatest opera houses and concert halls. Honoured with four Grammy awards and the US National Medal of Arts, Renée has sung for momentous occasions from the Nobel Peace Prize ceremony to the Diamond Jubilee Concert for Queen Elizabeth II at Buckingham Palace. In 2014, she sang in the televised concert at the Brandenburg Gate to commemorate the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall. In 2008, Renée was the first woman in the 125-year history of the Metropolitan Opera to solo headline an opening night gala.

Known for bringing new audiences to classical music and opera, Renée has starred in and hosted an array of television and radio broadcasts, including “The Met: Live in HD” and “Live from Lincoln Center”. Her voice is featured on the soundtracks of Best Picture Oscar winners “The Shape of Water” and “The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King”. This seventeen-time Grammy nominated artist has recorded everything from complete operas and song recitals to jazz and indie rock. During the pandemic, Renée’s performances on digital platforms have included streamed online concerts for the Metropolitan Opera, the Kennedy Center, Lyric Opera of Chicago, LA Opera, and the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra.

In 2019, Renée appeared opposite Ben Whishaw in “Norma Jean Baker of Troy” to open The Shed in New York City. Later that year, she performed world premieres by André Previn and Kevin Puts with the Boston Symphony Orchestra, and the London premiere of “The Light in the Piazza”, bringing the acclaimed production to Los Angeles and Chicago in the autumn. Renée earned a Tony Award nomination for her performance in the 2018 Broadway production of Rodgers and Hammerstein’s “Carousel”.

Renée’s book “The Inner Voice” was published by Viking Penguin in 2004 and is now in its sixteenth printing. It is also published in France, the United Kingdom, Germany, Japan, Poland, Russia and China.

Renée’s other awards include the Fulbright Lifetime Achievement Medal, Germany’s Cross of the Order of Merit, Sweden’s Polar Music Prize, France’s Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur, and honorary doctorates from Yale, Northwestern, Harvard, Duke, and Carnegie Mellon Universities, and the University of Pennsylvania, the Eastman School of Music, and The Juilliard School.

www.reneefleming.com

July 2021

Past Events

Renée Fleming

Renée Fleming ist eine der am meisten gefeierten Sänger*innen unserer Zeit, die auf den Bühnen der größten Opernhäuser und Konzertsäle der Welt auftritt. Sie wurde mit vier Grammys und der US National Medal of Arts ausgezeichnet und hat bei bedeutenden Anlässen gesungen, von der Verleihung des Friedensnobelpreises bis zum Konzert zum diamantenen Thronjubiläum von Königin Elisabeth II. im Buckingham Palace. Im Jahr 2014 sang sie am Brandenburger Tor anlässlich des 25. Jahrestages des Mauerfalls. 2008 war Renée die erste Frau in der 125-jährigen Geschichte der Metropolitan Opera, die als Solistin eine Eröffnungsgala leitete.

Renée Fleming ist dafür bekannt, dass sie ein neues Publikum für klassische Musik und Opern begeistert. Sie hat in zahlreichen Fernseh- und Radiosendungen mitgewirkt und moderiert, darunter „The Met: Live in HD“ und „Live from Lincoln Center“. Ihre Stimme ist auf den Soundtracks der Oscar-Preisträger „The Shape of Water“ und „Der Herr der Ringe: Die Rückkehr des Königs“ zu hören. Die siebzehnfach für den Grammy nominierte Künstlerin hat alle Musikgenres aufgenommen, von kompletten Opern und Liederabenden bis hin zu Jazz und Indie-Rock. Zu Renée Flemings Auftritten auf digitalen Plattformen gehörten unter anderem online gestreamte Konzerte für die Metropolitan Opera, das Kennedy Center, die Lyric Opera of Chicago, die LA Opera und das Baltimore Symphony Orchestra.

2019 trat Renée Fleming an der Seite von Ben Whishaw in „Norma Jean Baker of Troy“ zur Eröffnung von The Shed in New York City auf. Ebenso gab sie mit dem Boston Symphony Orchestra Uraufführungen von André Previn und Kevin Puts sowie die Londoner Premiere von „The Light in the Piazza“ und brachte die gefeierte Produktion im Herbst nach Los Angeles und Chicago. Für ihre Leistung in der Broadway-Produktion von Rodgers und Hammersteins „Carousel“ erhielt Renée Fleming 2018 eine Tony Award-Nominierung.

Ihr Buch „The Inner Voice“ wurde 2004 bei Viking Penguin veröffentlicht und befindet sich mittlerweile in der sechzehnten Auflage. Es wurde auch in Frankreich, dem Vereinigten Königreich, Deutschland, Japan, Polen, Russland und China veröffentlicht.

Zu Renée Flemings weiteren Auszeichnungen gehören die Fulbright Lifetime Achievement Medal, das deutsche Bundesverdienstkreuz, der schwedische Polar-Musikpreis, der französische Chevalier de la Légion d'Honneur sowie die Ehrendoktorwürde der Universitäten Yale, Northwestern, Harvard, Duke und Carnegie Mellon, der University of Pennsylvania, der Eastman School of Music und der Juilliard School.

www.reneefleming.com

Stand: Juli 2021

Vergangene Veranstaltungen