Magdalena Kožená

Born in the Czech city of Brno, Magdalena Kožená studied voice and piano at the Brno Conservatory and with Eva Blahová at Bratislava’s Academy of Performing Arts. The recipient of several major prizes in the Czech Republic and around the world, Magdalena came to prominence at the Sixth International Mozart Competition in Salzburg, which she won in 1995.

Magdalena was signed as an exclusive artist by Deutsche Grammophon in 1999 and immediately released her first album of Bach arias on its Archiv label. Her recital debut recording followed, which was an album of songs by Dvořák, Janáček and Martinů, which appeared on Deutsche

Grammophon’s yellow label in 2001 – the same year she was honoured with Gramophone’s Solo Vocal Award. She was named Artist of the Year by Gramophone in 2004 and has since received numerous other prestigious awards, including the Echo Klassik, Record Academy Prize Tokyo, and Diapason d’or. In 2017, Magdalena forged a long-term relationship with Dutch classical music label Pentatone and in May 2019 released her debut album for the label; “Il Giardino dei sospiri”, which features a collection of scenes from secular cantatas on tragic love by Handel, Leo and Marcello, accompanied by harpsichordist Václav Luks and the Czech baroque orchestra Collegium 1704. Her second album “Soirée” is an intimate chamber music recording, encapsulating the essence of informal, domestic music making and her most recent recording “Nostalgia” in collaboration with Yefim Bronfman is released in just in these days.

Magdalena has worked with the world’s leading conductors during her illustrious career, including Claudio Abbado, Pierre Boulez, Gustavo Dudamel, Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Bernard Haitink Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Mariss Jansons, Sir Charles Mackerras and Sir Roger Norrington.

Her list of distinguished recital partners includes the pianists Daniel Barenboim, Yefim Bronfman, Malcolm Martineau, András Schiff and Mitsuko Uchida, with whom she has performed at such prestigious venues as Carnegie Hall, Wigmore Hall, Alice Tully Hall, the Concertgebouw, Amsterdam, and at the Aldeburgh, Edinburgh and Salzburg festivals. Magdalena’s understanding of historical performance practices has been cultivated in collaboration with outstanding period instrument ensembles, including the Venice Baroque Orchestra, the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, Il Giardino Armonico, Les Musiciens du Louvre, La Cetra Barockorchester Basel, and Le Concert d’Astrée. She is also in demand as soloist with the Berlin, Vienna and Czech Philharmonics and the Cleveland, Philadelphia Orchestras and Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam.

On the opera stage, Magdalena made her Salzburg Festival debut as Zerlina in “Don Giovanni” in 2002 and returned as Idamante in 2013 - a role she has also sung at Glyndebourne Festival and in Berlin and Lucerne. Her first appearance at New York’s Metropolitan Opera took place in 2003 as Cherubino in “Le nozze di Figaro” and she has since been a regular guest, including amongst others as title-role in Jonathan Miller’s production of Debussy’s “Pelléas et Mélisande” in 2010/11 and most recently Octavian in “Der Rosenkavalier” in the 2019/20 season. The role of Octavian has also taken Magdalena to the Staatsoper Berlin 2009 and Osterfestspiele Baden-Baden 2015 whilst other operatic highlights include the title role in Bizet’s “Carmen! (Osterfestspiele and Sommerfestspiele Salzburg 2012), Charpentier’s “Médée” (Theater Basel 2015), Martinů’s “Juliette” (Staatsoper Berlin 2016) and the Waitress in Kaija Saariaho’s new opera “Innocence” at the Festival d’Aix en Provence (2021).

In recent seasons, Magdalena has developed a series of projects, which have toured widely in Europe and Asia, highlighting her artistry and diversity. An eclectic mix of soundworlds and influences, Magdalena’s projects include concerts with Czech swing ensemble The Melody Makers in performances of Cole Porter and other authentic swing and big band numbers from the 1930s and ’40s. In her repertoire are also semi-staged performances of the music of Claudio Monteverdi and Luciano Berio, set on stage by Ondřej Havelka and performances with Spanish Baroque ensemble Private Musicke, and flamenco expert Antonio El Pipa with his Compañía de Flamenco. On tour, they entwine the roots of raw flamenco with the music of the Spanish Baroque era and have appeared in venues such as the Elbphilharmonie Hamburg and the home of flamenco: Madrid and Barcelona.

In the 2021/22 season, Magdalena revives her Cole Porter project with performances in Bratislava, Košice, Plzeň, Prague and Ostrava. Other engagements in the coming season include concerts of Ondřej Adámek’s song cycle Where are you?, with the London Symphony Orchestra, touring to Bucharest Festival, Barbican Centre London, KKL Lucerne, Philharmonie Luxembourg, Konzerthaus Dortmund and the Koningin Elisabethzaal Antwerp. She joins the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks in concerts of Bach’s St. “Matthew Passion”, re-joins her friends from La Cetra Barockorchester Basel in concerts of Caldara’s “La concordia de 'pianeti” in Vienna and Bucharest, and of Giacomelli’s “La Merope” in Basel and Amsterdam, and returns to the London Symphony Orchestra in performances of Kurt Weill’s “The Seven Deadly Sins”. Renowned for her interpretation of Mahler’s “Das Lied von der Erde”, Magdalena revisits the work with the London Philharmonic Orchestra and on tour with the Chamber Orchestra of Europe and the Orchestre des Champs-Élysées.

In recital, Magdalena collaborates with Ohad Ben-Ari in performances in Europe including at the Wigmore Hall, La Monnaie Brussels, Musikverein Vienna and L'Auditorium de Bordeaux. The pair subsequently go on tour later in the season to Asia for concerts in Taiwan and Korea. On the opera stage, Magdalena will revive the role of Phèdre in Rameau’s “Hippolyte et Aricie” at the Staatsoper Berlin under the baton of Sir Simon Rattle.

Magdalena was appointed a Chevalier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the French government in 2003 for her services to French music.

As of August 2021

Past Events

Magdalena Kožená

Die in der tschechischen Stadt Brünn geborene Magdalena Kožená studierte Gesang und Klavier am Konservatorium in Brünn und bei Eva Blahová an der Akademie der Darstellenden Künste in Bratislava. Magdalena Kožená gewann mehrere bedeutende Preise in der Tschechischen Republik und weltweit. Ihren Durchbruch erreichte sie 1995 als Preisträgerin des Sechsten Internationalen Mozart-Wettbewerb in Salzburg.

Magdalena wurde 1999 von der Deutschen Grammophon exklusiv unter Vertrag genommen und veröffentlichte sofort ihr erstes Album mit Bach-Arien beim Label Archiv. Es folgte ein Album mit Liedern von Dvořák, Janáček und Martinů, das bei der Deutschen Grammophon (Gelbes Label) erschien. Im selben Jahr wurde sie mit dem Gramophone Solo Vocal Award ausgezeichnet. 2004 wurde sie von Gramophone zur Künstlerin des Jahres gekürt und hat seitdem zahlreiche weitere renommierte Auszeichnungen erhalten, darunter den Echo Klassik, den Record Academy Prize Tokyo und den Diapason d'Or. 2017 ging Magdalena Kožená eine langfristige Beziehung mit dem niederländischen Klassiklabel Pentatone ein und veröffentlichte im Mai 2019 ihr Debütalbum für das Label mit „Il Giardino dei sospiri“, das eine Sammlung von Szenen aus weltlichen Kantaten über tragische Liebe von Händel, Leo und Marcello enthält, begleitet von dem Cembalisten Václav Luks und dem tschechischen Barockorchester Collegium 1704. Ihr zweites Album „Soirée“ ist eine intime Kammermusikaufnahme, die das Wesen des informellen, häuslichen Musizierens einfängt, und ihre jüngste Aufnahme „Nostalgia“ in Zusammenarbeit mit Yefim Bronfman ist gerade in diesen Tagen erschienen.

Magdalena Kožená hat im Laufe ihrer glanzvollen Karriere mit den führenden Dirigenten der Welt zusammengearbeitet, darunter Claudio Abbado, Pierre Boulez, Gustavo Dudamel, Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Bernard Haitink, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Mariss Jansons, Sir Charles Mackerras und Sir Ro ger Norrington.Zu ihren herausragenden Konzertpartnern zählen die Pianisten Daniel Barenboim, Yefim Bronfman, Malcolm Martineau, András Schiff und Mitsuko Uchida, mit denen sie in so renommierten Konzertsälen wie der Carnegie Hall, der Wigmore Hall, der Alice Tully Hall, dem Concertgebouw in Amsterdam sowie bei den Festspielen in Aldeburgh, Edinburgh und Salzburg aufgetreten ist. Magdalenas Verständnis für die historisch informierte Aufführungspraxis wurde in der Zusammenarbeit mit herausragenden Ensembles für historische Instrumente wie dem Venice Baroque Orchestra, dem Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, Il Giardino Armonico, Les Musiciens du Louvre, La Cetra Barockorchester Basel und Le Concert d'Astrée vertieft. Außerdem ist sie eine gefragte Solistin bei den Berliner, Wiener und Tschechischen Philharmonikern sowie den Orchestern von Cleveland, Philadelphia und dem Concertgebouworkest Amsterdam.

Auf der Opernbühne gab Magdalena 2002 ihr Debüt bei den Salzburger Festspielen als Zerlina in „Don Giovanni! und kehrte 2013 als Idamante zurück - eine Rolle, die sie auch beim Glyndebourne Festival sowie in Berlin und Luzern gesungen hat. Ihren ersten Auftritt an der New Yorker Metropolitan Opera hatte sie 2003 als Cherubino in „Le nozze di Figaro“ und ist seitdem regelmäßig zu Gast, unter anderem als Titelrolle in Jonathan Millers Inszenierung von Debussys „Pelléas et Mélisande“ in der Saison 2010/11 und zuletzt als Octavian in „Der Rosenkavalier“ in der Saison 2019/20. Die Rolle des Octavian führte Magdalena auch an die Staatsoper Berlin (2009) und zu den Osterfestspielen Baden-Baden (2015), während andere Opernhighlights die Titelrolle in Bizets „Carmen“ (Osterfestspiele und Sommerfestspiele Salzburg 2012), Charpentiers „Médée“ (Theater Basel 2015), Martinůs „Juliette! (Staatsoper Berlin 2016) und die Kellnerin in Kaija Saariahos neuer Oper „Innocence“ beim Festival d'Aix en Provence (2021) umfassen.

In den letzten Spielzeiten hat Magdalena eine Reihe von Projekten entwickelt, die in Europa und Asien auf Tournee gingen und ihr künstlerisches Können und ihre Vielseitigkeit unter Beweis stellten. Zu Magdalenas Projekten, die eine eklektische Mischung aus Klangwelten und Einflüssen darstellen, gehören Konzerte mit dem tschechischen Swing-Ensemble The Melody Makers, die Cole Porter und andere authentische Swing- und Big-Band-Nummern aus den 1930er und 40er Jahren aufführen, halbszenische Aufführungen der Musik von Claudio Monteverdi und Luciano Berio, die von Ondřej Havelka in Szene gesetzt werden, sowie Auftritte mit dem spanischen Barockensemble Private Musicke und dem Flamenco-Experten Antonio El Pipa mit seiner Compañía de Flamenco. Auf ihren Tourneen verbinden sie die Wurzeln des rauen Flamencos mit der Musik des spanischen Barocks und traten unter anderem in der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg und in der Heimat des Flamencos auf: in Madrid und Barcelona.

In der Saison 2021/22 nimmt Magdalena ihr Cole Porter-Projekt mit Auftritten in Bratislava, Košice, Pilsen, Prag und Ostrau wieder auf. Zu den weiteren Engagements in der kommenden Saison gehören Konzerte von Ondřej Adámeks „Where are you?“ mit dem London Symphony Orchestra, eine Tournee zum Bukarest Festival, zum Barbican Centre London, zum KKL Luzern, zur Philharmonie Luxemburg, zum Konzerthaus Dortmund und zum Koningin Elisabethzaal Antwerpen. Mit dem Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks konzertiert sie Bachs „Matthäuspassion“, mit ihren Freunden vom La Cetra Barockorchester Basel konzertiert sie in Wien und Bukarest mit Caldaras „La concordia de 'pianeti“, in Basel und Amsterdam mit Giacomellis „La Merope! und kehrt zum London Symphony Orchestra zurück, um Kurt Weills „Die sieben Todsünden“ aufzuführen. Magdalena ist bekannt für ihre Interpretation von Mahlers „Das Lied von der Erde“ und nimmt das Werk mit dem London Philharmonic Orchestra und auf Tournee mit dem Chamber Orchestra of Europe und dem Orchestre des Champs-Élysées wieder auf.

Als Rezitalpartnerin tritt Magdalena gemeinsam mit Ohad Ben-Ari in Europa auf, unter anderem in der Wigmore Hall, im La Monnaie Brüssel, im Wiener Musikverein und im L'Auditorium de Bordeaux. Im weiteren Verlauf der Saison geht das Paar auf Asien-Tournee und gibt Konzerte in Taiwan und Korea. Auf der Opernbühne wird Magdalena die Rolle der Phèdre in Rameaus „Hippolyte et Aricie“ an der Staatsoper Berlin unter der Leitung von Sir Simon Rattle wiederaufnehmen.

Für ihre Verdienste um die französische Musik wurde Magdalena im Jahr 2003 von der französischen Regierung zum Chevalier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres ernannt.

Stand: August 2021

Vergangene Veranstaltungen