Markus Selg

Markus Selg, born in Singen in 1974, currently lives and works in Berlin.

In his scenographic installations, the artist condenses film, sculpture, performance and music into multimedia spaces of experience that create new dynamics between archaic myths and digital technologies and, with the help of VR technologies, also find their way into simulated space.

Selg exhibits internationally in galleries and museums. In 2009, he staged the exhibition course "Spuren der Sonne" (Traces of the Sun) with Werner Herzog and Jannis Kounellis. His feature film "Das Ewige Antlitz" (The Eternal Face), for which he himself was responsible for camera, direction, set design and editing, premiered in 2012. In 2015, the Frans Hals Museum, Haarlem showed the retrospective exhibition "Primitive. Data". Most recently, in 2021, the Guido W. Baudach Gallery presented "MIND THE CAVE", Selg's eighth solo exhibition at its premises in Berlin. His works are in collections of the Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich; Sammlung Goetz, Munich and the Saatchi Collection, London.

Since 2016, numerous collaborations with director Susanne Kennedy: their first joint collaboration was the multimedia piece "Medea.Matrix" for the Ruhrtriennale in 2016. This was followed by the installation performance "Coming Society" in 2019, "Ultraworld" in 2020 and "JESSICA - an Incarnation" at the Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz in 2022, "Algorithmic Rituals - The Infinite Self" in 2019 and the joint work "Oracle" at the Münchner Kammerspiele in 2020. In 2021, the Münchner Kammerspiele presented Selg and Kennedy's VR work "I AM (VR)", produced in collaboration with the multimedia artist and VR designer Rodrik Biersteker, which previously celebrated its world premiere at the Theater Commons Tokyo.

As of May 2022

Upcoming Events

Past Events

Markus Selg

Markus Selg, 1974 in Singen geboren, lebt und arbeitet derzeit in Berlin.

In seinen szenografischen Installationen verdichtet der Künstler Film, Skulptur, Performance und Musik zu multimedialen Erfahrungsräumen, die zwischen archaischen Mythen und digitalen Technologien neue Dynamiken entstehen lassen und mithilfe von VR-Technologien auch im simulierten Raum Einzug finden.

Selg stellt international in Galerien und Museen aus. 2009 inszenierte er den Ausstellungsparcours „Spuren der Sonne“ mit Werner Herzog und Jannis Kounellis. Sein Spielfilm „Das Ewige Antlitz“, bei dem er selbst Kamera, Regie, Ausstattung und Schnitt verantwortete, feierte 2012 seine Premiere. 2015 zeigte das Frans Hals Museum, Haarlem die retrospektive Ausstellung „Primitive. Data“. Zuletzt zeigte 2021 die Galerie Guido W. Baudach mit „MIND THE CAVE“ Selgs achte Einzelausstellung in ihren Räumlichkeiten in Berlin. Seine Werke befinden sich in Sammlungen der Pinakothek der Moderne, München; Sammlung Goetz, München und der Saatchi Collection, London.

Seit 2016 zahlreiche Kollaborationen mit der Regisseurin Susanne Kennedy: Als erste gemeinsame Zusammenarbeit konzipierten sie 2016 für die Ruhrtriennale das multimediale Stück „Medea.Matrix“. Es folgten 2019 die installative Performance „Coming Society“, 2020 „Ultraworld“ und 2022 „JESSICA – an Incarnation“ an der Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz, 2019 „Algorithmic Rituals – The Infinite Self“ und 2020 die gemeinsame Arbeit „Oracle“ an den Münchner Kammerspielen. 2021 zeigten die Münchner Kammerspiele Selgs und Kennedys in Zusammenarbeit mit dem multimedialen Künstler sowie VR-Designer Rodrik Biersteker produzierte VR-Arbeit „I AM (VR)“, die zuvor beim Theater Commons Tokyo ihre Weltpremiere feierte.

Stand: Mai 2022

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen

Vergangene Veranstaltungen