Florence Price

When the Chicago Symphony Orchestra included the Symphony No.1 by Florence Beatrice Price (1887 – 1953) in its programme in 1933, this marked the first time that a major American orchestra performed a piece by a female Afro-American composer. On her journey to this point, Florence Price had had to overcome numerous prejudices, social disadvantages and institutional obstacles. Today, a new perspective of music history that includes a reflection of these very conditions has allowed for a new interest in her person, resulting in quite a few CD-recordings of her work.

Florence Price war born in Little Rock, Arkansas, as the daughter of a middle-class family. Because none of the local music teachers would accept Black pupils, her mother took over her musical education. Price studied at the New England Conservatory from 1903 to 1906 before returning to her home town, where she taught piano and married a lawyer. A decisive point in her career occurred when she left the provinces for Chicago, where she found great support within the Black community, won several competitions and managed to make a name for herself in the metropolitan musical scene up to the point where the Chicago Symphony Orchestra performed her symphony.

In terms of style, Price represented a conservative position informed by Dvořák and the Afro-British composer Samuel Coleridge-Taylor, although she also integrated elements of Afro-American music culture into her work. It is precisely these influences that lend her work vivacity and distinguish it from the academism of her contemporaries.

As of June 2022.

Upcoming Events

Florence Price

Als das Chicago Symphony Orchestra im Juni 1933 die 1. Symphonie von Florence Beatrice Price (1887–1953) auf sein Programm setzte, wurde zum ersten Mal ein Werk einer afro-amerikanischen Komponistin von einem großen amerikanischen Orchester aufgeführt. Auf dem Weg dorthin hatte Florence Price zahlreiche Vorurteile, gesellschaftliche Benachteiligungen und institutionelle Hemmnisse überwinden müssen. Inzwischen ist im Zuge eines neuen, diese Rahmenbedingungen reflektierenden Blicks auf die Musikgeschichte das Interesse an ihr wiedererwacht, sodass eine ganze Reihe ihrer Stücke in CD-Einspielungen vorliegt.

Florence Price wurde in Little Rock im US-Bundesstaat Arkansas in eine Familie aus der Mittelklasse geboren und erhielt ihren Musikunterricht von ihrer Mutter, da die örtlichen Musiklehrer keine Schwarze Schülerin annehmen wollten. Von 1903 bis 1906 studierte sie in Boston am New England Conservatory, kehrte dann in ihre Heimatstadt zurück, unterrichtete Klavier und heiratete einen Rechtsanwalt. Entscheidend für ihre Karriere war 1927 der Wegzug aus der Provinz nach Chicago, wo sie innerhalb der Schwarzen Community Unterstützung fand, verschiedene Wettbewerbe gewann und im großstädtischen Musikleben Fuß fasste bis hin zur Aufführung durch das Chicago Symphony Orchestra.

Stilistisch vertritt Price eine konservative, an Dvořák und dem afro-englischen Komponisten Samuel Coleridge-Taylor geschulte Position, wobei sie auch Elemente der afro-amerikanischen Musikkultur in ihre Werke integrierte. Es sind gerade diese Einflüsse, die ihre Stücke lebendig machen und vom Akademismus ihrer Zeitgenossen abheben.

Stand: Juni 2022

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen