Nicolas Altstaedt

German-French cellist Nicolas Altstaedt is one of the most sought after and versatile artists today. As a soloist, conductor and artistic director, he performs repertoire spanning from early music to the contemporary, playing on period and modern instruments.

Nicolas Altstaedt was Artist in Focus at the Alte Oper in Frankfurt and Artist in Residence at the SWR Symphonieorchester with Teodor Currentzis in 2019/20. Other recent highlights included concerto debuts with the Detroit and Washington’s National Symphony Orchestras, NHK and Yomiuri Symphony Orchestra, a tour with B’Rock and René Jacobs. During the 2017/18 season, Nicolas gave the highly acclaimed Finnish Premiere of Esa-Pekka Salonen’s Cello Concerto under the baton of the composer at the Helsinki Festival and was Artist in Spotlight at the Concertgebouw Amsterdam. The season 2021/22 includes debuts with the London and Munich Philharmonic, Bayrischer Rundfunk, National Orchestra of Spain and tours with l’Orchestre des Champs-Elysées and Philippe Herreweghe as well as the Junge Deutsche Philharmonie and Dmitri Slobodeniouk, and reinvitations including to the NHK Symphony Orchestra.

Nicolas Altstaedt performs regularly with the most renowned orchestras around the world, including the Vienna Philharmonic and Symphoniker, Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich, OPRF and ONF Paris, and all BBC orchestras with conductors such as Gustavo Dudamel, Sir Roger Norrington, Lahav Shani, François-Xavier Roth, Robin Ticciati as well as with orchestras of historical performance practice such as Il Giardino Armonico under Giovanni Antonini, Andrea Marcon and Jonathan Cohen.

As a conductor, he works closely with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra and conducted in recent seasons the SWR, OPRF Paris, Aurora and Munich chamber orchestras.

Joint appearances with composers such as Thomas Adès, Jörg Widmann, Wolfgang Rihm, Thomas Larcher, Fazil Say and Sofia Gubaidulina also consolidate his reputation as an outstanding interpreter of contemporary music.

Sebastian Fagerlund, Helena Winkelman and Fazil Say have recently written concertos for Nicolas.

In 2012 Nicolas Altstaedt succeeded Gidon Kremer as artistic director of the Lockenhaus Chamber Music Festival, and in 2014 he succeeded Ádám Fischer in this position at the Haydn Philharmonic.

As a chamber musician, Nicolas’ regular partners include Janine Jansen, Vilde Frang, Pekka Kuusisto, Lawrence Power, Antoine Tamestit, Alexander Lonquich, Jean Rondeau and the Quatuor Ébène. He performs at both Salzburg Mozart and Summer Festival, Verbier, BBC Proms, Lucerne, Prague Spring Festival and Musikfest Bremen.

He has received numerous prizes including the Beethovenring Bonn 2015 and Musikpreis der Stadt Duisburg 2018. His most recent recording for his Lockenhaus Festival garnered the BBC Music Magazine 2020 Chamber Award and Grammophone Award 2020. He received the BBC Music Magazine Concerto Award 2017 for his recording of CPE Bach Concertos on Hyperion with Arcangelo and Jonathan Cohen and the Edison Klassiek 2017 for his Recital Recording with Fazil Say on Warner Classics. Nicolas is a recipient of the Credit Suisse Award in 2010 and was a BBC New Generation Artist 2010-2012

www.nicolasaltstaedt.com

As of June 2021

Nicolas Altstaedt

© Marco Borggreve

Past Events

Nicolas Altstaedt

Der deutsch-französische Cellist Nicolas Altstaedt ist einer der gefragtesten und vielseitigsten Künstler unserer Zeit. Als Solist, Dirigent und künstlerischer Leiter führt er ein Repertoire auf, das von der Alten Musik bis zur Gegenwart reicht, und spielt dabei auf historischen und modernen Instrumenten.

In der Spielzeit 2019/20 war Nicolas Altstaedt Artist in Residence an der Alten Oper Frankfurt und beim SWR Symphonieorchester mit Teodor Currentzis. Weitere Höhepunkte der letzten Spielzeiten waren Konzertdebüts mit dem Detroit und Washington National Symphony Orchestra, NHK und Yomiuri Symphony Orchestra sowie eine Tournee mit B'Rock und René Jacobs. In der Saison 2017/18 gab Nicolas die hochgelobte finnische Erstaufführung des Cellokonzerts von Esa-Pekka Salonen unter der Leitung des Komponisten beim Helsinki Festival und war Artist in Spotlight im Concertgebouw Amsterdam. In der Saison 2021/22 stehen Debüts bei den Londoner und Münchner Philharmonikern, dem Bayrischen Rundfunk und dem Spanischen Nationalorchester sowie Tourneen mit l‘Orchestre des Champs-Elysées unter Philippe Herreweghe und der Jungen Deutschen Philharmonie unter Dmitri Slobodeniouk sowie Wiedereinladungen, unter anderem beim NHK Symphony Orchestra, an.

Nicolas Altstaedt konzertiert regelmäßig mit den renommiertesten Orchestern der Welt, darunter die Wiener Philharmoniker und Symphoniker, das Tonhalle-Orchester Zürich, OPRF und ONF Paris sowie alle BBC Orchester mit Dirigent*innen wie Gustavo Dudamel, Sir Roger Norrington, Lahav Shani, François-Xavier Roth und Robin Ticciati sowie mit Orchestern der historischen Aufführungspraxis wie Il Giardino Armonico unter Giovanni Antonini, Andrea Marcon und Jonathan Cohen.

Als Dirigent arbeitet er eng mit dem Scottish Chamber Orchestra zusammen und leitete in den letzten Spielzeiten die Kammerorchester des SWR, OPRF Paris, Aurora und München.

Gemeinsame Auftritte mit Komponist*innen wie Thomas Adès, Jörg Widmann, Wolfgang Rihm, Thomas Larcher, Fazil Say und Sofia Gubaidulina festigen zudem seinen Ruf als herausragender Interpret zeitgenössischer Musik.

Sebastian Fagerlund, Helena Winkelman und Fazil Say haben in letzter Zeit Konzerte für Nicolas Altstaedt geschrieben.

2012 trat Nicolas Altstaedt die Nachfolge von Gidon Kremer als künstlerischer Leiter des Kammermusikfestivals Lockenhaus an, 2014 folgte er Ádám Fischer in dieser Position bei der Haydn-Philharmonie nach.

Als Kammermusiker gehören Janine Jansen, Vilde Frang, Pekka Kuusisto, Lawrence Power, Antoine Tamestit, Alexander Lonquich, Jean Rondeau und das Quatuor Ébène zu Nicolas‘ regelmäßigen Partner*innen. Er tritt sowohl beim Salzburger Mozartfest als auch beim Sommerfestival, in Verbier, bei den BBC Proms, in Luzern, beim Prager Frühling und beim Musikfest Bremen auf.

Er erhielt zahlreiche Preise, darunter den Beethovenring Bonn 2015 und den Musikpreis der Stadt Duisburg 2018. Seine jüngste Aufnahme für das Lockenhaus Festival wurde mit dem BBC Music Magazine 2020 Chamber Award und dem Grammophone Award 2020 ausgezeichnet. Er erhielt den BBC Music Magazine Concerto Award 2017 für seine Einspielung von CPE Bachs Konzerten bei Hyperion mit Arcangelo und Jonathan Cohen und den Edison Klassiek 2017 für seine Recital-Aufnahme mit Fazil Say bei Warner Classics. Nicolas ist Preisträger des Credit Suisse Award 2010 und war BBC New Generation Artist 2010-2012.

www.nicolasaltstaedt.com

Stand: Juni 2021

Nicolas Altstaedt

© Marco Borggreve

Vergangene Veranstaltungen