Ilan Volkov

Born in Israel in 1976, Ilan Volkov began his conducting career at the age of nineteen as Principal Conductor of the London Philharmonic Youth Orchestra and Assistant Conductor of the Boston Symphony. In 2003 he was appointed Principal Conductor of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and subsequently became its Principal Guest Conductor in 2009. Between 2011 and 2014, he was appointed Music Director and Principal Conductor of the Iceland Symphony Orchestra.

A frequent guest with leading orchestras worldwide, Ilan works regularly with a wide range of repertoire and ensembles, and appears in many of the foremost Festivals of the world, including Salzburg, Edinburgh, BBC Proms, Lucerne, Unsound Krakow, Graz and Berlin. Highlights of the current season include work with the BBC Symphony Orchestra, Staatsoper Unter den Linden Berlin, Budapest Festival Orchestra, Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra, Munich Chamber Orchestra, Klangforum Wien, Berlin Philharmonic and BBC Philharmonic.

Considered to be the electricity powering new music, Ilan launched Tectonics in Reykjavik, with Glasgow Tectonics following shortly afterwards. Tectonics’s vibrant and diverse programming, reflecting Ilan’s omnivorous interests in experimental, free improvisation, electronic, folk, world music and new hip-hop, has now been presented numerous times with regular festivals in Tel Aviv, Krakow, Athens, Glasgow and Reykjavik.

Equally interested in opera, Ilan’s extensive operatic ventures have included Tchaikovsky’s “Eugene Onegin” for San Francisco Opera, Britten’s “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” at the Glyndebourne Festival, “Peter Grimes” for Washington National Opera and Glyndebourne Festival, Kurt Weill’s “The Rise and Fall of the City of Mahagonny” for Théâtre du Capitole de Toulouse, Bartók’s “Duke Bluebeard’s Castle” with the Israeli Opera and Gerald Barry’s “Importance of being Ernest” at the Lincoln Centre with New York Philharmonic. Recent highlights include Bach’s “Actus Tragicus” in Stuttgart Opera and Neuwirth’s “The Outcast” in Vienna and Hamburg’s Elbphilharmonie.

His diverse discography includes projects with Hyperion including two albums of Stravinsky’s ballet scores, Britten’s complete works for piano and orchestra, a Gramophone Award-winning recording with Steven Osborne, and a critically acclaimed survey of Liszt’s three “Funeral Odes” with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra released in the composer’s anniversary year. Volkov’s NMC disc of works by Jonathan Harvey, “Body Mandala”, received a Gramophone Award in 2008, while his recording for the Aeon label of Harvey’s “Speakings” won the prestigious Monaco Prize and the Prix Caecilia de l’Union de la Presse Musicale Belge.

As of May 2020

Ilan Volkov

@ Astrid Ackermann

Past Events

Ilan Volkov

Der 1976 in Israel geborene Ilan Volkov begann seine Karriere im Alter von 19 Jahren als Chefdirigent des London Philharmonic Youth Orchestra und stellvertretender Dirigent des Boston Symphony Orchestra. 2003 wurde er zum Chefdirigenten des BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra ernannt und 2009 zu dessen Principal Guest Conductor. In den Jahren von 2011 bis 2014 war er Musikdirektor und Chefdirigenten des Iceland Symphony Orchestra.

Volkov ist häufig zu Gast bei weltweit führenden Orchestern, er arbeitet mit einem breit angelegten Repertoire und mit unterschiedlichen Ensembles und tritt bei vielen der bedeutendsten Festivals der Welt auf, darunter Salzburg, Edinburgh, BBC Proms, Luzern, Unsound Krakow, Graz und Berlin. Höhepunkte der laufenden Spielzeit sind seine Zusammenarbeit mit dem BBC Symphony Orchestra, der Staatsoper Unter den Linden Berlin, dem Budapester Festivalorchester, dem ORF Radio-Symphonieorchesters Wien, dem Münchner Kammerorchester, dem Klangforum Wien, den Berliner Philharmonikern und den BBC Philharmonic.

Ilan Volkov, der als eine treibende Kraft der zeitgenössischen Musik angesehen wird, gründete u.a. das Festival Tectonics in Reykjavik. Kurz darauf folgte eine weitere Version von Tectonics in Glasgow. Die lebendige und vielfältige Programmierung von Tectonics spiegelt Volkovs umfassendes Interesse an experimenteller Musik, freier Improvisation, Elektronik, Folk, Weltmusik und neuem Hip-Hop: Es wurde bereits mehrfach im Rahmen regelmäßig stattfindender Festivals in Tel Aviv, Krakau, Athen, Glasgow und Reykjavik realisiert.

Zu Volkovs umfangreichen Opernprojekten gehörten Peter Tschaikowskys „Eugene Onegin“ für die San Francisco Opera, Benjamin Brittens „Ein Sommernachtstraum“ beim Glyndebourne Festival, „Peter Grimes“ für die Washington National Opera und das Glyndebourne Festival sowie Kurt Weills „Aufstieg und Fall der Stadt Mahagony“ für das Théâtre du Capitole de Toulouse, Béla Bartóks „Herzog Blaubarts Burg“ mit der israelischen Oper und Gerald Barrys „Ernst sein ist alles“ im Lincoln Center mit den New Yorker Philharmonikern. Zu den jüngsten Höhepunkten zählen Johann Sebastian Bachs „Actus Tragicus“ an der Stuttgarter Oper und Olga Neuwirths „The Outcast“ in Wien sowie in der Hamburger Elbphilharmonie.

Seine vielfältige Diskographie umfasst - beim Label Hyperion – zwei Alben mit Strawinskys Ballettpartituren, Brittens komplette Werke für Klavier und Orchester, eine mit dem Grammophone Award ausgezeichnete Aufnahme mit Steven Osborne und eine von der Kritik gefeierte Aufnahme von Liszts drei „Odes funèbres“ mit der BBC Scottish Symphony Orchester im Jubiläumsjahr des Komponisten veröffentlicht. Volkovs NMC-CD „Body Mandala“ mit Werken Jonathan Harveys, erhielt 2008 einen Grammophone Award, während seine Aufnahme für das Label Aeon von Harveys „Speakings“ den renommierten Monaco-Preis und den Prix Caecilia de l’Union de la Presse Musicale Belge gewann.

Stand: Mai 2020

Ilan Volkov

@ Astrid Ackermann

Vergangene Veranstaltungen