Christian Tetzlaff

Christian Tetzlaff has been one of the most sought-after violinists and most exciting musicians on the classical music scene for many years. Concerts with Christian Tetzlaff often turn into an existential experience for both the interpreter and the audience; suddenly old familiar works appear in a completely new light. In addition, he frequently turns his attention to forgotten masterpieces such as Joseph Joachim’s Violin Concerto which he successfully championed, and he also attempts to bring important new works into the repertoire such as Jörg Widmann’s Violin Concerto, which he premiered in 2013. He has an unusually extensive repertoire and performs approximately 100 concerts every year.

Christian Tetzlaff is regularly invited to be the Artist in Residence with orchestras and at events in order to be able to present his musical interpretations over a longer period of time, which has been the case with the Berliner Philharmoniker and at Wigmore Hall in London. In the 2018/2019 season he was the Artist in Residence of the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra and the Dresdner Philharmonie at the same time.

During his career Christian Tetzlaff has appeared as a guest with major orchestras around the world, such as the Wiener Philharmoniker, the New York Philharmonic, the Concertgebouworkest and all of London’s leading orchestras. He has been working with conductors including Sergiu Celibidache, Christoph von Dohnányi, Bernard Haitink, Lorin Maazel and Kurt Masur and also, more recently, Barbara Hannigan, Christoph von Dohnányi, Paavo Järvi, Vladimir Jurowski, Andris Nelsons, Sir Simon Rattle, Esa-Pekka Salonen and Michael Tilson Thomas, to name but a few.

Highlights of the 2019/2020 season include concerts in the USA with the National Symphony Orchestra Washington and Christoph Eschenbach and with the Metropolitan Orchestra New York and Gianandrea Noseda. In Asia, he will appear with the Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra and Manfred Honeck and with the Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra and Cornelius Meister. In Europe, the following orchestras are looking forward to collaborating with him: Orchestre de Paris and Orchestre National de France, the London Symphony Orchestra, the Philharmonia Orchestra, the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, hr-Sinfonieorchester Frankfurt as well as the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester and the Berliner Philharmoniker at the Festspiele Baden-Baden, with conductors such as Marc Albrecht, Karina Canellakis, Philippe Herreweghe, Emmanuel Krivine, Hannu Lintu, Gianandrea Noseda and Tugan Sokhiev.

Born in Hamburg in 1966 and now living in Berlin with his family, there are three things that make this musician unique, aside from his astounding skill on the violin. He interprets the musical manuscript in a literal fashion, perceives music as a language, and views great works as narratives which reflect existential experiences. As obvious as it may sound, he brings an unusual approach in his daily concert routine.

Christian Tetzlaff tries to follow the manuscript as closely as possible – without regard for “performance tradition” and without indulging in the usual technical short-cuts on the violin – often allowing a renewed clarity and richness to arise in well-known works. As a violinist Tetzlaff tries to disappear from the music – paradoxically this makes his interpretations very personal.

Secondly, Christian Tetzlaff “speaks” through his violin. Like human speech, his playing comprises a wide range of expressive means and is not aimed solely at achieving harmoniousness or virtuosic brilliance.

Above all, however, he interprets the masterpieces of musical history as stories about first-hand experiences. The great composers have focused on intense feelings, great happiness and deep crises in their music; as a musician Christian Tetzlaff also explores the limits of feelings and musical expression. Many pieces deal with none other than life and death. Christian Tetzlaff’s aim is to convey this to his audience.

Christian Tetzlaff played in various youth orchestras for many years. His teacher at the Lübeck University of Music was Uwe-Martin Haiberg, for whom musical interpretation was the key to mastering violin technique, rather than the other way round. Christian Tetzlaff founded his own string quartet in 1994, and until now chamber music is still as important to him as his work as a soloist with and without the orchestra. Every year he takes on at least one extensive tour with the quartet; in the 2019/2020 season they will perform in the Alte Oper Frankfurt, Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, Philharmonie Berlin, Palais des Beaux Arts Bruxelles and the Wigmore Hall London. The Tetzlaff Quartett received the Diapason d’or in 2015, and the trio with sister Tanja Tetzlaff and pianist Lars Vogt was nominated for a Grammy award. In this season he will appear in this trio at the Rheingau Musik Festival, amongst others. In duo with Lars Vogt, he will embark on an extensive tour through the USA and appear at the Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, and, also in duo, he performs with Alexander Longquich in the Pierre Boulez Saal in Berlin.

Christian Tetzlaff has also received numerous awards for his CD recordings, including the Jahrespreis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik in 2018, the Diapason d’or in July 2018 and the Midem Classical Award in 2017. The new Ondine recording of Ludwig van Beethoven and Jean Sibelius violin concertos with the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin and Robin Ticciati is highly anticipated in autumn 2019.

Of special significance is his solo recording of Johann Sebastian Bach’s Sonatas and Partitas, which he has recorded for the third time and was released in September 2017. The Strad magazine praised this recording as “an attentive and lively answer to the beauty of Bach’s solos”. They have also become an integral part of his concert calendar: he opened the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival in July 2019 with a solo recital in the sold-out main hall of the Elbphilharmonie Hamburg and will also present these solo works in St. Petersburg, Moscow and the Philharmonie Berlin.

Christian Tetzlaff plays a violin made by the German violin maker Peter Greiner and teaches regularly at the Kronberg Academy.

www.christian-tetzlaff.de

As of May 2020

Christian Tetzlaff

© Giorgia Bertazzi

Upcoming Events

Past Events

Christian Tetzlaff

Christian Tetzlaff ist seit Jahren einer der gefragtesten Geiger und spannendsten Musiker der Klassikwelt. Konzerte mit Christian Tetzlaff werden oft zu einer existenziellen Erfahrung für Interpret und Publikum gleichermaßen, altvertraute Stücke erscheinen plötzlich in völlig neuem Licht. Daneben lenkt er den Blick immer wieder auf vergessene Meisterwerke wie das Violinkonzert von Joseph Joachim, für das er sich erfolgreich stark gemacht hat, und versucht, gehaltvolle neue Werke wie das von ihm im Jahre 2013 uraufgeführte Violinkonzert von Jörg Widmann im Repertoire zu etablieren – er pflegt ein ungewöhnlich breites Repertoire und gibt rund 100 Konzerte pro Jahr.

Christian Tetzlaff wird regelmäßig gebeten, als Residenzkünstler bei Orchestern und Veranstaltern über einen längeren Zeitraum seine musikalischen Sichtweisen zu präsentieren, so u. a. bei den Berliner Philharmonikern und der Londoner Wigmore Hall. In der Saison 2018/2019 war er Artist in Residence gleichzeitig beim Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra und den Dresdner Philharmonikern, in der Saison 2020/2021 wird ihm diese Ehre beim London Symphony Orchestra zuteil, mit drei verschiedenen Konzertblöcken unter der Leitung von Antonio Pappano, Susanna Mälkki und Robin Ticciati.

Im Verlauf seiner Karriere gastierte Christian Tetzlaff bereits mit allen großen Orchestern, darunter den Wiener und New Yorker Philharmonikern, dem Concertgebouworkest und allen Londoner Orchestern. Er arbeitete mit legendären Maestri wie Sergiu Celibidache, Christoph von Dohnányi, Bernard Haitink, Lorin Maazel und Kurt Masur, aber auch in jüngerer Zeit mit Barbara Hannigan, Christoph von Dohnányi, Paavo Järvi, Vladimir Jurowski, Andris Nelsons, Sir Simon Rattle, Esa-Pekka Salonen und Michael Tilson Thomas, um nur einige zu nennen.

Höhepunkte der Spielzeit 2019/2020 sind Konzerte in den USA beim National Symphony Orchestra Washington mit Christoph Eschenbach und beim Metropolitan Orchestra New York unter Gianandrea Noseda. In Asien gastiert er beim Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra unter Manfred Honeck und beim Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra unter Cornelius Meister. In Europa freuen sich auf ihn das Orchestre de Paris und Orchestre National de France, das London Symphony Orchestra, Philharmonia Orchestra, Deutsche Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, hr- Sinfonieorchester Frankfurt sowie das NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester und die Berliner Philharmoniker bei den Festspielen Baden-Baden und mit DirigentInnen wie Marc Albrecht, Karina Canellakis, Philippe Herreweghe, Emmanuel Krivine, Hannu Lintu, Gianandrea Noseda und Tugan Sokhiev.

Was den 1966 in Hamburg geborenen und inzwischen mit seiner Familie in Berlin lebenden Musiker so einzigartig macht, sind – neben seinem großen geigerischen Können – vor allem drei Dinge: Er nimmt den Notentext wörtlich, er versteht Musik als Sprache, und er liest die großen Werke als Erzählungen, die existenzielle Einsichten spiegeln. Was hier ganz selbstverständlich klingt, ist im Konzertalltag ein eher ungewöhnlicher Ansatz. Wenn Christian Tetzlaff den Notentext so tief wie möglich zu erfüllen versucht – ohne Rücksicht auf die „Aufführungstradition“ und ohne sich die oft üblichen geigentechnischen Erleichterungen zu gönnen –, dann zeigen sich die altbekannten großen Werke oft in neuer Klarheit und Schärfe. Als Geiger versucht Tetzlaff hinter dem Werk zu verschwinden – und das macht seine Interpretationen paradoxerweise sehr individuell.

Zum Zweiten „spricht“ Christian Tetzlaff mit seiner Geige, sein Spiel umfasst, wie die menschliche Sprache, eine große Bandbreite an Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten und ist nicht allein auf Wohlklang und virtuosen Glanz ausgerichtet. Vor allem aber versteht er die Meisterwerke als Geschichten, die von zentralen Erfahrungen handeln. In ihrer Musik haben die Komponist*innen intensivste Gefühle, höchstes Glück und tiefste Krisen verarbeitet, und so begibt sich auch Christian Tetzlaff als Musiker in diese Grenzbereiche der Emotionen und der musikalischen Gestaltung. In vielen Stücken geht es um nichts Geringeres als um Leben und Tod. Das dem Publikum zu vermitteln, ist Christian Tetzlaffs Ziel.

Bezeichnenderweise hat Tetzlaff viele Jahre in Jugendorchestern gespielt, in Uwe-Martin Haiberg an der Musikhochschule Lübeck hatte er einen Lehrer, für den die musikalische Interpretation der Schlüssel zur Geigentechnik war – nicht umgekehrt. Bereits 1994 gründete Christian Tetzlaff sein eigenes Streichquartett, und bis heute liegt ihm die Kammermusik ebenso am Herzen wie seine Arbeit als Solist mit und ohne Orchester. Jedes Jahr unternimmt er mit dem Tetzlaff Quartett mindestens eine ausgedehnte Tournee, in der Saison 2019/2020 unter anderem in die Alte Oper Frankfurt, die Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, Philharmonie Berlin, Palais des Beaux Arts Bruxelles und Wigmore Hall London. Das Tetzlaff Quartett wurde 2015 mit dem Diapason d’or ausgezeichnet; das Trio mit seiner Schwester Tanja Tetzlaff und dem Pianisten Lars Vogt wurde für den Grammy nominiert. In Trio-Formation wird er in dieser Spielzeit u. a. beim Rheingau Musik Festival zu hören sein. Duos spielt er mit Lars Vogt, zum Beispiel auf einer ausgedehnten USA- Tournee und bei den Festspielen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, aber auch mit Alexander Lonquich im Boulez-Saal Berlin.

Für seine CD-Aufnahmen hat Christian Tetzlaff zahlreiche Preise erhalten, zuletzt den Jahrespreis der Deutschen Schallplattenkritik 2018, den Diapason d’or im Juli 2018 und den Midem Classical Award in 2017. Mit Spannung wird im Herbst 2019 bei Ondine die neue Einspielung der Violinkonzerte von Ludwig van Beethoven und Jean Sibelius mit dem Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin unter Robin Ticciati erwartet.

Ein besonderes Anliegen sind ihm seit jeher die Solo-Sonaten und Partiten von Johann Sebastian Bach, deren Aufnahmen er 2017 zum dritten Mal veröffentlichte. The Strad Magazin lobte diese Aufnahme als „aufmerksame und lebendige Antwort auf die Schönheiten der Bach’schen Solowerke“. Auch in seinem Konzertkalender sind sie inzwischen fester Bestandteil, so eröffnete er im Juli 2019 das Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival mit einem Solorezital im ausverkauften großen Saal der Elbphilharmonie und wird auch in St. Petersburg, Moskau und in der Philharmonie Berlin alleine auf der Bühne stehen.

Christian Tetzlaff spielt eine Geige des deutschen Geigenbauers Peter Greiner und unterrichtet regelmäßig an der Kronberg Academy.

www.christian-tetzlaff.de

Stand: Mai 2020

Christian Tetzlaff

© Giorgia Bertazzi

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen

Vergangene Veranstaltungen