London Symphony Orchestra

© Mark Allan

London Symphony Orchestra

From delivering artistic excellence on stage, in recordings and on film, to its world-leading music education and community programme, the London Symphony Orchestra strives to bring great music to as many people as possible. Established in 1904, the LSO was one of the first self-governing orchestras, built on the values of partnership and artistic ownership. That entrepreneurial spirit continues today.

The LSO has been the Resident Orchestra at the Barbican in the City of London since the Centre opened in 1982. Every year, it gives 70 concerts there and performs over 50 worldwide. The LSO also programmes concerts and workshops at LSO St Luke’s through its pioneering community and education programme, LSO Discovery, which was one of the first in the UK. Much of LSO Discovery’s work is captured and disseminated digitally, enabling enthusiasts, pupils and teachers from around the world to benefit from its activities. The Orchestra also champions new music, regularly commissioning some of the foremost British composers to write significant new works for full orchestra and mixed-ability ensembles.

The LSO has developed a close family of artists who continually demonstrate their commitment to this Orchestra, with Sir Simon Rattle as Music Director, Gianandrea Noseda and François-Xavier Roth as Principal Guest Conductors, Michael Tilson Thomas as Conductor Laureate and André Previn as Conductor Emeritus. It also enjoys long-standing relationships with some of the world’s greatest conductors and soloists who relish the boundless professional ambitions that the LSO offers.

The LSO has a history of innovation that helps to keep it relevant and contemporary. With the formation of its own recording label LSO Live in 1999, the Orchestra brought about a revolution in how live orchestral music was recorded. Since then, LSO Live has produced over 120 releases and continually embraces new digital technologies, having made pioneering moves into digital film, Blu-Ray Audio, downloads and streaming. The Orchestra has more recordings to its name than any other orchestra, and many millions have enjoyed the LSO through its work as a leading orchestra for film, which includes hundreds of classic scores from “Star Wars” to “The King’s Speech” and “Indiana Jones”.

The LSO is determined to ensure the future of great music throughout the world and in its London home. The Orchestra is a leading partner in Culture Mile in the City of London alongside the Corporation, the Barbican Centre, the Museum of London and the Guildhall School. Its Barbican Residency is funded by The Corporation of London and the LSO is a National Portfolio Organisation of the Arts Council England. The Orchestra relies on all of its strategic partnerships at home and abroad, plus its generous funders, to enable it to continue delivering a dynamic range of work.

www.lso.uk

As of July2019

Upcoming Events

Past Events

London Symphony Orchestra

© Mark Allan

London Symphony Orchestra

Von der künstlerische Exzellenz und Präsenz auf der Bühne, auf CD oder im Film, bis zu seinem weltweit führenden Kultur-und Bildungsprogramm, immer verfolgt das London Symphony Orchestra (LSO) das Ziel, mit großartiger Musik so viele Menschen wie nur möglich zu erreichen. Das LSO wurde 1904 als erstes unabhängiges und selbstverwaltetes Orchester Englands gegründet. Dieser unternehmerische Geist ist bis heute lebendig.

Das LSO ist Residenz Orchester am Barbican in der City of London seit dessen Eröffnung 1982. Jedes Jahr gibt es dort 70 und weltweit über 50 Konzerte. Das Orchester entwickelt und organisiert Konzertprogramme und Workshops am LSO St. Lukes im Rahmen seines Kultur- und Bildungsprogramms LSO Discovery, das in seiner Art eines der ersten im Vereinigten Königreich war. Vieles der Arbeit von LSO Discovery Arbeit ist digital aufbereitet und zugänglich. Das ermöglicht Musikliebhaber*innen, Schüler*innen und Lehrer*innen auf der ganzen Welt von diesen Aktivitäten zu profitieren. Auch unterstützt es zeitgenössische Musik und vergibt regelmäßig Kompositionsaufträge an führende Britische Komponisten, um das Repertoire für großes Orchester und gemischte Ensembles durch neue und bedeutsame Werke zu erweitern.

Das LSO ist umgeben von einer beneidenswerten Künstlerfamilie, die ihr Engagement für dieses Orchester mit seinem Künstlerischen Leiter Sir Simon Rattle, den beiden Gastdirigenten Gianandrea Noseda und François-Xavier Roth, Michael Tilson Thomas und André Previn als Ehrendirigenten permanent unter Beweis stellt. Es erfreut sich auch langjähriger Beziehungen zu einigen der weltbesten Dirigent*innen und Solist*innen, die die unbegrenzten professionellen Möglichkeiten genießen, die das LSO bietet.

Die Geschichte des LSO ist eine Geschichte der Innovation, denn nur so konnte und kann es sich auf der Höhe der Zeit halten. Mit der Gründung seines eigenen Labels LSO Live 1999 hat das Orchester auch auf dieser Ebene bahnbrechendes geleistet, in dem es zeigte, wie lebendig Orchestermusik aufgenommen werden kann. Seitdem hat LSO Live über 120 Aufnahmen veröffentlicht und sich dabei kontinuierlich mit den neuen digitalen Technologien befasst und Standards gesetzt, mit digitalem Film, Blu-Ray Audio, Downloads und Streaming. Insgesamt hat das Orchester mehr Aufnahmen unter seinem Namen veröffentlicht als jedes andere Orchester, und viele Millionen Menschen können an der Arbeit des LSO teilhaben, vor allem durch seinen Einsatz als führendes Orchester für Filmmusik. Sein Filmmusik-Repertoire umfasst hunderte von klassischen Filmen von „Star Wars“ zu „The Kings Speech“ oder „Indiana Jones“.

Das LSO ist fest entschlossen die Zukunft großer Musik weltweit und zuhause in London gewährleisten. Das Orchester ist ein führender Partner der Culture Mile in der City von London neben der Corporation, des Barbican Centre, des Museum of London und der Guildhall School. Seine Barbican Residenz wird gefördert durch die Corporation of London, auch ist das LSO Bestandteil des Nationalen Portfolios des Arts Council England. Ob zuhause vor Ort oder im Ausland, das Orchester baut auf alle diese strategischen Partnerschaften und auf seine großzügigen Förderer, die ihm weiterhin diese dynamische Bandbreite seiner Arbeit ermöglichen.

www.lso.uk

Stand: Juli 2019

Vergangene Veranstaltungen