Franz Schubert

Franz Schubert's importance to the musical life of his time cannot be easily determined in retrospect. Too many myths have taken precedence over historical reality, and the romantic cliché of the bitterly poor, misunderstood genius is far too specious. In fact, Schubert was by no means an unknown composer, but enjoyed consistent and growing success and was certainly able to make a living from his work. His true importance, however, was not even remotely recognised during his lifetime. This occurred posthumously, after Robert Schumann and Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy had arranged for the premiere of the great C major symphony D 944.

Schubert was born on 31 January 1797 in a small town near Vienna, as the son of the local school master. His musical talent emerged early and was encouraged. At the age of eleven, he won a scholarship that earned him a position in the Vienna court chapel choir and an education at the Vienna Stadtkonvikt, the imperial municipal Catholic boarding school. Here, in addition to schooling, Schubert received above all a comprehensive and thorough musical education, for which the court conductor Antonio Salieri was primarily responsible. Salieri instructed Schubert in a broad range of topics, albeit with an overall focus on opera, and Schubert composed a whole series of singspiels and dramatic scenes during his youth.

At the age of seventeen, Schubert initially followed the path mapped out for him by his father and worked as an assistant teacher at his father's school from 1814, while continuing his musical studies for about two years. The year 1817 brought a turning point in Schubert's life. He received an attractive offer from Count Esterházy to give music lessons to his two daughters, and so he spent the summer holidays at his summer residence. This sojourn must have revealed a whole new world to Schubert. He did not return to school, which caused a temporary break with his father, and decided to live in Vienna as a musician and composer. For financial reasons, he shared an apartment with a poet friend, Johann Mayrhofer. Thus, Schubert had found the way of life that suited him and, until his untimely death in November 1828, he lived in various partnerships of convenience. Exchanging ideas with friends was important to Schubert. He met regularly with a circle of like-minded people which changed over the years and also included musicians, but which was dominated by literary figures and painters.

After moving to Vienna, Schubert sought and quickly found his way into the musical public sphere. As early as November 1818, he received a commission to write the music for a stage play, and in the following years Schubert continued to occupy himself with various opera and stage projects with varying degrees of success. In 1820, he then began to publish his songs – with resounding success. Although he earned good money from the self-published songbooks, he soon preferred to collaborate with commercial publishers in order to avoid having to deal with marketing and sales. Around the turn of the year 1822/23, Schubert apparently became infected with syphilis. The disease became apparent in the middle of the year, and it is likely that from then on Schubert repeatedly underwent mercury cures, which had severe side effects.

By the end of the 1820s, publishers based outside of Vienna began to take an interest in Schubert's work, especially his instrumental works. The composer had entered into serious negotiations when he suddenly fell seriously ill in early November 1828. Possibly weakened by the mercury treatments by then, he did not recover. Schubert died on 19 November 1828.

Franz Schubert, ca. 1814

© Wikimedia Commons

Upcoming Events

Past Events

Franz Schubert, ca. 1814

© Wikimedia Commons

Franz Schubert

Franz Schuberts Stellung im Musikleben seiner Zeit lässt sich im Nachhinein nicht einfach bestimmen. Zu viele Mythen haben sich vor die historische Wirklichkeit geschoben, und zu wohlfeil ist das romantische Klischee vom bitterarmen verkannten Genie. Tatsächlich war Schubert keineswegs ein unbekannter Komponist, sondern konnte stetige und wachsende Erfolge verzeichnen und durchaus von seinem Schaffen leben. Seine wahre Bedeutung ist indessen zu seinen Lebzeiten nicht im Entferntesten erkannt worden. Dies geschah erst posthum, nachdem Robert Schumann und Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy die Uraufführung der großen C-Dur-Symphonie D 944 ermöglicht hatten.

Schubert wurde am 31. Januar 1797 in einem kleinen Ort in der Nähe Wiens als Sohn des örtlichen Schulleiters geboren. Seine musikalische Begabung trat früh zutage und wurde gefördert. Mit elf Jahren wurde ihm eine Stelle als Sängerknabe an der Wiener Hofkapelle zuerkannt, die mit einem Stipendium für das Wiener Stadtkonvikt und das Gymnasium verbunden war. Schubert erhielt hier neben dem Schulunterricht vor allem eine umfassende und gründliche musikalische Ausbildung, für die in erster Linie der Hofkapellmeister Antonio Salieri verantwortlich war. Salieri legte den Unterricht Schuberts breit an, zielte darin aber insgesamt auf die Oper ab, und so komponierte Schubert in seiner Jugend eine ganze Reihe von Singspielen und dramatischen Szenen.

Im Alter von siebzehn Jahren schlug Schubert zunächst den vom Vater vorgezeichneten Weg ein und war ab 1814 an dessen Schule als Hilfslehrer tätig, wobei er daneben noch für etwa zwei Jahre seine musikalischen Studien fortsetzte. Das Jahr 1817 brachte eine Wende in Schuberts Leben. Er erhielt vom Grafen Esterházy das verlockende Angebot, seinen beiden Töchtern Musikunterricht zu erteilen, und so verbrachte er die Sommerferien auf dessen Sommerresidenz. Dieser Aufenthalt muss Schubert neue Horizonte eröffnet haben. Er kehrte nicht mehr an die Schule zurück, was den zeitweisen Bruch mit seinem Vater nach sich zog, und entschloss sich, als Musiker und Komponist in Wien zu leben. Aus finanziellen Gründen teilte er mit dem befreundeten Dichter Johann Mayrhofer eine Wohnung. Damit hatte Schubert die ihm gemäße Lebensform gefunden, und bis zu seinem frühen Tod im November 1828 wohnte er in verschiedenen Zweckgemeinschaften. Der Austausch mit Freunden war für Schubert wichtig. Regelmäßig traf er sich mit einem im Laufe der Jahre wechselnden Kreis von Gleichgesinnten, dem auch Musiker angehörten, der aber von Literaten und Malern dominiert wurde.

Nach seiner Übersiedelung nach Wien suchte Schubert den Weg in die musikalische Öffentlichkeit und fand ihn auch rasch. Bereits im November 1818 erhielt er den Auftrag, die Musik für ein Bühnenstück zu schreiben, und auch in den folgenden Jahren beschäftigte sich Schubert mit wechselndem Glück mit verschiedenen Opern- und Bühnenprojekten. 1820 begann er dann, seine Lieder zu publizieren – mit durchschlagendem Erfolg. Obwohl er an den im Selbstverlag erscheinenden Liederheften sehr gut verdiente, zog er es bald vor, die Zusammenarbeit mit kommerziellen Verlegern zu suchen, um von der Arbeit des Vertriebs entlastet zu sein. Um die Jahreswende 1822/23 infizierte sich Schubert offenbar mit Syphilis. Die Krankheit brach Mitte des Jahres aus, und es ist davon auszugehen, dass sich Schubert fortan wiederholt Quecksilberkuren unterzog, die mit heftigen Nebenwirkungen verbunden waren.

Ende der 1820er Jahre begannen auch Verlage außerhalb Wiens, sich für Schuberts Schaffen zu interessieren, vor allem auch für seine Instrumentalwerke. Der Komponist war in ernsthafte Verhandlungen eingetreten, als er Anfang November 1828 plötzlich schwer erkrankte. Offenbar von den Quecksilberbehandlungen ohnehin geschwächt, gelang es ihm nicht mehr, sich zu erholen. Schubert verstarb am 19. November 1828.

Stand: Juni 2016

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen

Vergangene Veranstaltungen