Sir Simon Rattle

Sir Simon Rattle was born in Liverpool and studied at the Royal Academy of Music.

From 1980 to 1998, Sir Simon was Principal Conductor and Artistic Adviser of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra and was appointed Music Director in 1990. In 2002, he took up the position of Artistic Director and Chief Conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker where he remained until the end of the 2017/18 season. Sir Simon took up the position of Music Director of the London Symphony Orchestra in September 2017. He will remain in this position until the 2023/24 season, when he will become the orchestra’s Conductor Emeritus. From the 2023/24 season Sir Simon will take up the position of Chief Conductor with the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks in Munich. He is a Principal Artist of the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment and Founding Patron of Birmingham Contemporary Music Group.

Sir Simon has made over 70 recordings for EMI record label (now Warner Classics) and has received numerous prestigious international awards for his recordings on various labels. Releases on EMI include Stravinsky’s “Symphony of Psalms” (which received a Grammy Award for Best Choral Performance) Berlioz’s “Symphonie fantastique”, Ravel’s “L'enfant et les sortileges”, Tchaikovsky’s “Nutcracker Suite”, Mahler’s Symphony No. 2, Stravinsky’s “The Rite of Spring” and Rachmaninov’s “The Bells” and “Symphonic Dances”, all recorded with the Berliner Philharmoniker. His most recent recordings include Berlioz’ “Le damnation de Faust”, Helen Grime’s “Woven Space”, Debussy’s “Pelléas et Mélisande”, Turnage’s “Remembering”, and Beethoven’s “Christ on the Mountain of Olives”, which were all released by the London Symphony Orchestra’s own record label, LSO Live.

Sir Simon regularly tours within Europe and Asia and has strong longstanding relationships with the world’s leading orchestras. He regularly conducts the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, Staatskapelle Berlin, Deutsches Symphonieorchester Berlin, Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra and the Czech Philharmonic. Recent operatic highlights include “Manon Lescaut” with the Deutsche Oper Berlin, “Der Rosenkavalier” with the Metropolitan Opera New York, Janáček’s “Jenufa” with the Deutsche Staatsoper Berlin, and “Tristan und Isolde” with the London Symphony Orchestra at Festival d’Aix en Provence.

Music education is of supreme importance to Sir Simon, and his partnership with the Berliner Philiharmoniker broke new ground with the education programme Zukunft@Bphil, earning him the Comenius Prize, the Schiller Special Prize from the city of Mannheim, the Golden Camera and the Urania Medal. He and the Berliner Philharmoniker were also appointed International UNICEF Ambassadors in 2004 – the first time this honour has been conferred on an artistic ensemble. In 2019, Simon announced the creation of the LSO East London Academy, developed by the London Symphony Orchestra in partnership with ten East London boroughs. This free program aims to identify and develop the potential of young East Londoners between the ages of 11 and 18 who show exceptional musical talent, irrespective of their background or financial circumstance. Sir Simon has also been awarded several prestigious personal honours which include a knighthood in 1994, becoming a member of the Order of Merit from Her Majesty the Queen in 2014 and was recently bestowed the Order of Merit in Berlin in 2018. In 2019, Sir Simon was given the Freedom of the City of London.

In the 2021/22 season, Sir Simon will conduct the London Symphony Orchestra, Staatskapelle Berlin, the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra and the Chamber Orchestra of Europe. He will return to the Deutsche Staatsoper Berlin to revive Rameau’s “Hippolyte et Aricie”, and in the spring will conduct a new production of Janacek’s “Makropulos Case”. He will tour Europe and the US with the London Symphony Orchestra, and later on in the season will join mezzo-soprano Magdalena Kožená for a chamber music project, where they will tour some of Europe’s major cities.

www.simon-rattle.com

As of June 2021

Sir Simon Rattle

© Oliver Helbig

Past Events

Sir Simon Rattle

Sir Simon Rattle wurde in Liverpool geboren und studierte an der Royal Academy of Music.

Von 1980 bis 1998 war Sir Simon Rattle Chefdirigent und künstlerischer Berater des City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra und wurde 1990 zum Musikdirektor ernannt. Im Jahr 2002 übernahm er die Position des Künstlerischen Leiters und Chefdirigenten der Berliner Philharmoniker, die er bis zum Ende der Saison 2017/18 innehatte. Im September 2017 übernahm Sir Simon Rattle die Position des Musikdirektors des London Symphony Orchestra. Diese Position wird er bis zur Saison 2023/24 innehaben. Ab der Spielzeit 2023/24 wird Sir Simon Rattle die Position des Chefdirigenten beim Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks in München übernehmen. Er ist Principal Artist des Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment und Gründungspatron der Birmingham Contemporary Music Group.

Sir Simon Rattle hat über 70 Aufnahmen für das Plattenlabel EMI (jetzt Warner Classics) gemacht und wurde für seine Aufnahmen bei verschiedenen Labels mit zahlreichen renommierten internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet. Zu den Veröffentlichungen bei EMI gehören Strawinskys „Psalmensinfonie“ (die einen Grammy Award für die beste Choraufführung erhielt), Berlioz‘ „Symphonie fantastique“, Ravels „L'enfant et les sortileges“, Tschaikowskys „Nussknacker-Suite“, Mahlers Symphonie Nr. 2, Strawinskys „Le Sacre du Printemps“ sowie Rachmaninows „Die Glocken“ und „Symphonische Tänze“, alle aufgenommen mit den Berliner Philharmonikern. Zu seinen jüngsten Aufnahmen gehören Berlioz‘ „Le damnation de Faust“, Helen Grimes „Woven Space“, Debussys „Pelléas et Mélisande“, Turnages „Remembering“ und Beethovens „Christus am Ölberg“, die alle beim eigenen Plattenlabel des London Symphony Orchestra, LSO Live, erschienen sind.

Sir Simon Rattle unternimmt regelmäßig Tourneen in Europa und Asien und pflegt langjährige Beziehungen zu den führenden Orchestern der Welt. Er dirigiert regelmäßig das Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, die Staatskapelle Berlin, das Deutsche Symphonieorchester Berlin, die Berliner Philharmoniker und die Tschechische Philharmonie. Zu den jüngsten Opernhighlights zählen „Manon Lescaut“ mit der Deutschen Oper Berlin, „Der Rosenkavalier“ mit der Metropolitan Opera New York, Janáčeks „Jenufa“ mit der Deutschen Staatsoper Berlin und „Tristan und Isolde“ mit dem London Symphony Orchestra beim Festival d'Aix en Provence.

Musikalische Bildung hat für Sir Simon Rattle hohe Bedeutung, und seine Partnerschaft mit den Berliner Philharmonikern hat mit dem Education-Programm Zukunft@Bphil neue Wege beschritten, die ihm den Comenius-Preis, den Schiller-Sonderpreis der Stadt Mannheim, die Goldene Kamera und die Urania-Medaille einbrachten. Außerdem wurden er und die Berliner Philharmoniker 2004 zu Internationalen UNICEF-Botschaftern ernannt – das erste Mal, dass einem Künstlerensemble diese Ehre zuteil wurde. 2019 kündigte Simon die Gründung der LSO East London Academy an, die vom London Symphony Orchestra in Partnerschaft mit zehn Stadtbezirken im Osten Londons entwickelt wurde. Dieses kostenlose Programm zielt darauf ab, das Potenzial junger Ostlondoner*innen zwischen 11 und 18 Jahren zu erkennen und zu entwickeln, die außergewöhnliches musikalisches Talent zeigen, unabhängig von ihrem sozialen Hintergrund oder ihren finanziellen Verhältnissen. Sir Simon Rattle wurde außerdem mit mehreren prestigeträchtigen Ehrungen ausgezeichnet, darunter ein Ritterschlag im Jahr 1994, die Verleihung des Verdienstordens durch die Queen im Jahr 2014 und zuletzt die Verleihung des Verdienstordens in Berlin im Jahr 2018. Im Jahr 2019 wurde Sir Simon die Freedom of the City of London verliehen.

In der Saison 2021/22 wird Sir Simon Rattle das London Symphony Orchestra, die Staatskapelle Berlin, die Berliner Philharmoniker und das Chamber Orchestra of Europe dirigieren. Er wird an die Deutsche Staatsoper Berlin zurückkehren, um Rameaus „Hippolyte et Aricie“ wiederaufzuführen, und im Frühjahr wird er eine Neuproduktion von Janaceks „Die Sache Makropulos“ dirigieren. Mit dem London Symphony Orchestra geht er auf Tournee durch Europa und die USA. Später in der Saison wird er mit der Mezzosopranistin Magdalena Kožená an einem Kammermusikprojekt teilnehmen, mit dem sie durch einige europäische Großstädte touren werden.

www.simon-rattle.de

Stand: Juni 2021

Sir Simon Rattle

© Oliver Helbig

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen

Vergangene Veranstaltungen