Mazen Kerbaj

Mazen Kerbaj is a Lebanese comics author, visual artist, and musician born in Beirut in 1975. He has taught at the American University of Beirut and works on selective illustration and design projects and. Kerbaj is the author of more than 15 books, and has published his short stories and drawings in anthologies, newspapers, and magazines. His work has been translated into more than ten languages and has been shown in galleries, museums and art fairs around the world.

Mazen Kerbaj is widely considered as one of the initiators and key players of the Lebanese free improvisation and experimental music scene. He is co-founder of Irtijal, an annual improvisation music festival (www.irtijal.org), and of Al Maslakh, the first label for experimental music in the region operating since 2005.
As a trumpet player, whether in solo performances or with long-lasting groups like “A” Trio, Kerbaj pushes the boundaries of the instrument and continues to develop a personal sound and an innovative language, following in the footsteps of pioneers like Bill Dixon, Axel Dörner and Franz Hautzinger.
In 2015, Kerbaj was guest of The Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD and stayed one year as artist in residency in Berlin. From that time on, he lives and works in the German capital. Since his move to Berlin, Kerbaj has developed several new projects in different fields, such as ‘Borborygmus’ a theater play he co-wrote, directed and performed with Rabih Mroué and Lina Majdalanie; ‘Synesthesia’, a concept for a live graphic score for an improvising ensemble; and ‘Walls Will Fall’, a composition for 49 trumpets. He also started working on ‘Antoine’, his most ambitious graphic novel to date.

www.kerbaj.com

Past Events

Mazen Kerbaj

Mazen Kerbaj, 1975 in Beirut geboren, ist ein libanesischer Comicautor, bildender Künstler und Musiker. Er hat an der American University of Beirut unterrichtet und arbeitet an ausgewählten Illustrations- und Designprojekten. Kerbaj ist Autor von mehr als 15 Büchern. Seine Kurzgeschichten und Zeichnungen wurden in Anthologien, Zeitungen und Magazinen veröffentlicht, seine Arbeiten in mehr als zehn Sprachen übersetzt und in Galerien, Museen und Kunstmessen auf der ganzen Welt gezeigt.

Er gilt weithin als einer der Initiatoren und Hauptakteure der libanesischen Szene der freien Improvisation und experimentellen Musik. Darüber hinaus ist er Mitbegründer von Irtijal, einem jährlich stattfindenden Musikfestival für Improvisation (www.irtijal.org), und von Al Maslakh, dem ersten Label für experimentelle Musik in dieser Region, das seit 2005 aktiv ist.
Als Trompeter, ob bei Soloauftritten oder bei seit vielen Jahren bereits bestehenden Formation wie zum Beispiel dem „A“ Trio, überschreitet Kerbaj die Grenzen des Instruments. So hat er kontinuierlich einen persönlichen Klang und eine eigene innovative musikalische Sprache ausgebildet. Pioniere wie die Trompeter Bill Dixon, Axel Dörner und Franz Hautzinger bilden sein ästhetisches Koordinatensystem.
2015 war Mazen Kerbaj Stipendiat des Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD. Seither lebt und arbeitet er in der deutschen Hauptstadt. Seit seinem Umzug nach Berlin hat er mehrere neue Projekte auf verschiedenen Feldern entwickelt, darunter „Borborygmus“, ein Theaterstück, das er gemeinsam mit Rabih Mroué und Lina Majdalanie geschrieben, inszeniert und aufgeführt hat. Dann „Synesthesia“, ein Konzept für eine Live-Grafik für ein improvisierendes Ensemble und „Walls Will Fall“, eine Komposition für 49 Trompeten. Und er begann an „Antoine“ zu arbeiten, seiner bislang ehrgeizigsten Graphic Novel.

www.kerbaj.com

Vergangene Veranstaltungen