Johann Sebastian Bach

“Johann Sebastian Bach belongs to a family whose love and skill in music appear as though they were universal gifts granted by nature, as it were, to all its members."

These are the opening words of the biographical account in the necrology of Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750), published in 1754 and co-authored by one of Bach's sons. For Bach, being part of this family meant much more than just belonging to a loose association of similarly gifted people; for him, it meant security and a safety net in times of need. For at the age of 10, Bach, the son of a city musician from Eisenach, was already an orphan. He was taken in by his eldest brother, who was the organist in a small town nearby and who taught the child, now living with him, the basics of piano playing.

At the age of 15, Bach left Thuringia and became a choral scholar at the church of St. Michaelis in Lüneburg. While there, his general musical education must have progressed very quickly. It seems that Bach had already gained a certain reputation as an expert in organ building, for in July 1703 he was asked to participate in the approval and inauguration of a new organ in Arnstadt, Thuringia. The young musician must have made quite an impression, because less than four weeks later he was appointed organist at this church. Following his first appointment, which by no means satisfied the long-term ambitions of this self-confident young man, he carefully pursued further advancement to more prestigious – and increasingly better-paid – positions.

Bach remained in Arnstadt for four years before entering into service for the Duke of Weimar in 1708, after a brief interlude as organist in Mühlhausen. This is where, up to the end of 1717, he wrote his first masterpieces, which to this day are considered the core of his oeuvre, particularly organ music such as the "Passacaglia" in C minor BWV 582 and cantatas. Bach resigned from the Weimar court, where he had long felt at home, amidst discontent. He had asked to be released from service to become Kapellmeister to the Prince of Anhalt-Köthen, where he felt he had better prospects. In Weimar, however, they were unwilling to let the musician go, and so Bach was obliged to spend four weeks in detention before being able to take up his new duties. In Köthen, Bach was able to draw on an ensemble of outstanding musicians in the court orchestra. The focus of his creative work now shifted to instrumental music. “The Brandenburg Concertos”, the first part of the “Well-Tempered Clavier” and the six “Sonatas and Partitas” for solo violin are among the finest works of this period.

Bach held an excellent position in Köthen, and he now also started a family of his own. He was then distressed to learn that the costs of holding court exceeded the financial resources of the small residency. Bach therefore once again made inquiries, and when the post of Thomaskantor in Leipzig, one of the most prestigious musical posts in central Germany, became vacant in 1722, he applied. It was a lengthy process, and several high-ranking candidates from all over Germany competed against one another. Finally, Bach was chosen, and he assumed his new position in the spring of 1723.

In Leipzig, Bach had finally found a home, and despite many disputes and disagreements with the city council, he was to remain there. For 27 years Bach held the office of cantor and music director of the city. At first, he composed mainly church music, until he acquired a large body of his own works with which he could provide the religious services at the four churches in Leipzig. As of the 1730s, instrumental music was once again at the centre of his creative work. Over a period of more than ten years, he wrote the large-scale four-part "Clavieruebung," which includes the "6 Partitas", the "Italian Concerto", and the "Goldberg Variations", and which represents a compendium of all musical options for keyboard instruments. The demonstration of the entire range of compositional possibilities in exemplary works such as the "Clavieruebung" was a fundamental impulse of his late work, which in its unity of emotional strength and rational depth constitutes one of the highlights of music history.

A widely acclaimed musician, who was admittedly regarded by some younger people as representing an outdated, obsolete style, and a famous organ virtuoso and expert, Bach led an increasingly quieter life. In May 1747, he undertook one more trip to Potsdam and Berlin at the invitation of Frederick II. The last year of Bach's life was marked by a serious health crisis from which he was never to recover. He died on 28th July 1750.

Johann Sebastian Bach

Past Events

Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach gehöret zu einem Geschlechte, welchem Liebe und Geschicklichkeit zur Musick, gleichsam als ein allgemeines Geschenck, für alle seine Mitglieder, von der Natur mitgetheilet zu seyn scheinen.

So beginnt der biografische Bericht in dem 1754 erschienenen, von einem Sohn Bachs mitverfassten Nekrolog auf Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750). Für Bach war die Zugehörigkeit zu diesem Geschlecht viel mehr als nur die zu einem lockeren Verbund von gleichartig Begabten, sie bedeutete für ihn Geborgenheit und ein sicheres Netz in der Not. Denn schon mit 10 Jahren war Bach, der Sohn eines Stadtmusikers aus Eisenach, Vollwaise. Er fand Aufnahme bei seinem ältesten Bruder, der Organist in einem kleinen Städtchen in der Nähe war und dem nun bei ihm wohnenden Kind die Grundlagen des Klavierspiels beibrachte.

Mit 15 Jahren verließ Bach Thüringen und wurde Chorschüler an der Kirche St. Michaelis in Lüneburg. Seine allgemeine musikalische Ausbildung muss dort sehr rasch vorangeschritten sein. Offenbar verfügte Bach auch damals schon über einen gewissen Ruf als Experte für Orgelbau, denn im Juli 1703 wurde er eingeladen, an der Abnahme und Einweihung einer neuen Orgel im thüringischen Arnstadt teilzunehmen. Der junge Musiker muss dabei einigen Eindruck gemacht haben, denn keine vier Wochen später wurde er schon zum Organisten an dieser Kirche bestellt. Von dieser ersten Anstellung an, die dem Ehrgeiz des selbstbewussten jungen Mannes längerfristig keinesfalls genügen konnte, betrieb er umsichtig seinen Aufstieg zu angeseheneren – und auch immer besser bezahlten – Positionen.

Bach blieb vier Jahre in Arnstadt, um 1708, nach einer kurzen Zwischenstation als Organist in Mühlhausen, in den Dienst des Herzogs von Weimar zu treten. Hier entstanden bis Ende 1717 die ersten Meisterwerke, die wir bis heute zum Kern seines Schaffens zählen, vor allem Orgelmusik wie die „Passacaglia“ c-Moll BWV 582 und Kantaten. Vom Weimarer Hof, wo er sich lange wohlgefühlt hatte, schied Bach in Unfrieden. Er hatte um Entlassung aus dem Dienst gebeten, um Kapellmeister des Fürsten von Anhalt-Köthen zu werden, bei dem er bessere Möglichkeiten für sich sah. In Weimar wollte man den Musiker aber nicht so ohne Weiteres ziehen lassen, und so musste Bach vier Wochen in Arrest verbringen ehe er seinen neuen Dienst antreten konnte. In Köthen stand Bach in der Hofkapelle ein Ensemble hervorragender Musiker zur Verfügung. Der Schwerpunkt seines Schaffens verlagerte sich nun auf die Instrumentalmusik. Unter anderem sind die „Brandenburgischen Konzerte“, der erste Teil des „Wohltemperierten Klaviers“ und die sechs „Sonaten und Partiten“ für Violine solo Früchte dieser Zeit.

Bach hatte in Köthen eine vorzügliche Stellung, und er gründete nun auch eine eigene Familie. Mit Sorge musste er dann zur Kenntnis nehmen, dass die Kosten der Hofhaltung die finanziellen Möglichkeiten der kleinen Residenz überstiegen. Bach streckte deshalb erneut seine Fühler aus, und als 1722 das Amt des Thomaskantors in Leipzig, eines der angesehensten musikalischen Ämter Mitteldeutschlands, neu zu besetzen war, bewarb er sich. Das Verfahren war langwierig, und es gab mehrere hochrangige Kandidaten aus ganz Deutschland. Schließlich fiel die Wahl auf Bach, der im Frühjahr 1723 in sein neues Amt eingeführt wurde.

In Leipzig hatte Bach endlich seinen Lebensmittelpunkt gefunden, und trotz mancher Zwistigkeiten und Misshelligkeiten mit dem Rat der Stadt sollte er aus Leipzig nicht mehr fortziehen. 27 Jahre lang versah Bach das Amt des Kantors und Musikdirektors der Stadt. Anfangs komponierte er vor allem Kirchenmusik, bis er über einen großen Fundus an eigenen Werken verfügte, mit denen er den Gottesdienst an den vier Leipziger Kirchen bestreiten konnte. Von den 1730er Jahren an stand dann wieder die Instrumentalmusik im Zentrum seines Schaffens. Über einen Zeitraum von mehr als zehn Jahren entstand die groß angelegte vierteilige „Clavieruebung“, zu der unter anderem die „6 Partiten“, das „Italienische Konzert“ und die „Goldbergvariationen“ gehören und die ein Kompendium aller Möglichkeiten der Musik für Tasteninstrumente darstellt. Das Aufzeigen aller kompositorischen Möglichkeiten in beispielhaften Werken wie der „Clavieruebung“ war ein Grundimpuls seines späten Schaffens, das in seiner Einheit von emotionaler Kraft und rationaler Tiefe einen der Höhepunkte der Musikgeschichte bildet.

Als allgemein anerkannter Musiker, der freilich manchen Jüngeren als Vertreter eines veralteten, überholten Stils galt, und als berühmter Orgelvirtuose und -experte verlief Bachs Leben in zusehends ruhigen Bahnen. Im Mai 1747 unternahm er auf Einladung Friedrichs II. noch einmal eine Reise nach Potsdam und Berlin. Bachs letztes Lebensjahr stand dann im Zeichen einer schweren gesundheitlichen Krise, von der er sich nicht mehr erholen sollte. Er starb am 28. Juli 1750.

Stand: Juni 2015

Vergangene Veranstaltungen