Donald Runnicles

Sir Donald Runnicles is the General Music Director of the Deutsche Oper Berlin and Music Director of the Grand Teton Music Festival, as well as Principal Guest Conductor of the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra. In 2019, Runnicles also took up post as the Sydney Symphony Orchestra’s first-ever Principal Guest Conductor. He additionally holds the title of Conductor Emeritus of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, having served as Chief Conductor from 2009-2016. Runnicles enjoys close and enduring relationships with many of the leading opera companies and symphony orchestras, and he is especially celebrated for his interpretations of Romantic and post-Romantic repertoire, which are core to his musical identity.

In the 2021/22 season, highlights at Deutsche Oper Berlin include the premieres of “Götterdämmerung” and “Siegfried” as part of a new Ring Cycle continuing through 2022 and the premiere of “Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg”. Runnicles also returns to the Metropolitan Opera New York to conduct “Elektra” and leads concerts with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and Sydney Symphony Orchestra.

Sir Donald Runnicles’ previous posts include Music Director of the San Francisco Opera (1992-2008), during which he led world premieres of John Adams’s “Doctor Atomic”, Conrad Susa’s “Les Liaisons dangereuses”, and the U.S. premiere of Messiaen’s “Saint François d’Assise”, Principal Conductor of the Orchestra of St. Luke’s (2001-2007), and General Music Director of the Theater Freiburg and Orchestra (1989-1993).

Mr. Runnicles’ extensive discography includes complete recordings of Wagner’s “Tristan and Isolde”, Mozart’s Requiem, Orff’s “Carmina Burana”, Britten’s “Billy Budd”, Humperdinck’s “Hänsel und Gretel”, and Bellini’s “I Capuleti e i Montecchi”. His recording of Wagner arias with Jonas Kaufmann and the Orchestra of the Deutsche Oper Berlin won the 2013 Gramophone prize for Best Vocal Recording, and his most recent recording of Zemlinksy’s “Der Zwerg” with the Orchestra and Chorus of the Deutsche Oper Berlin was nominated for a 2020 GRAMMY Award for Best Opera Recording.

Sir Donald Runnicles is born and raised in Edinburgh. He was appointed OBE in 2004 and was made a Knight Bachelor in 2020. He holds honorary degrees from the University of Edinburgh, the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama, the San Francisco Conservatory of Music and was awarded with the Royal Medal of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

www.donaldrunnicles.org

As of June 2021

Donald Runnicles

© Simon Pauly

Past Events

Donald Runnicles

Sir Donald Runnicles ist Generalmusikdirektor der Deutschen Oper Berlin und Musikdirektor des Grand Teton Music Festivals sowie Erster Gastdirigent des Atlanta Symphony Orchestra. Seit 2019 ist Runnicles außerdem Erster Gastdirigent des Sydney Symphony Orchestra. Außerdem ist er emeritierter Dirigent des BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, nachdem er von 2009 bis 2016 als Chefdirigent fungierte. Runnicles verbindet eine langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit vielen führenden Opernhäusern und Symphonieorchestern und wird besonders für seine Interpretationen des romantischen und postromantischen Repertoires gefeiert, die den Kern seiner musikalischen Identität bilden.

Zu den Höhepunkten der Saison 2021/22 an der Deutschen Oper Berlin gehören die Premieren von „Götterdämmerung“ und „Siegfried“ als Teil eines neuen, bis 2022 andauernden Ring-Zyklus sowie die Premiere von „Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg“. Runnicles kehrt auch an die Metropolitan Opera New York zurück, um „Elektra“ zu dirigieren und leitet Konzerte mit dem BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra und Sydney Symphony Orchestra.

Zu Sir Donald Runnicles‘ früheren Positionen gehören die des Musikdirektors der San Francisco Opera (1992-2008) – während der er die Uraufführungen von John Adams‘ „Doctor Atomic“, Conrad Susas „Les Liaisons dangereuses“ und die US-Premiere von Messiaens „Saint François d'Assise“ leitete –, des Chefdirigenten des Orchestra of St. Luke's (2001-2007) und die des Generalmusikdirektors des Theaters Freiburg und seines Orchesters (1989-1993).

Runnicles‘ umfangreiche Diskographie umfasst Gesamtaufnahmen von Wagners „Tristan und Isolde“, Mozarts Requiem, Orffs „Carmina Burana“, Brittens „Billy Budd“, Humperdincks „Hänsel und Gretel“ und Bellinis „I Capuleti e i Montecchi“. Seine Aufnahme von Wagner-Arien mit Jonas Kaufmann und dem Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin gewann 2013 den Gramophone-Preis für die beste Gesangsaufnahme und seine jüngste Aufnahme von Zemlinksys „Der Zwerg“ mit dem Orchester und Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin wurde für einen GRAMMY Award 2020 für die beste Opernaufnahme nominiert.

Sir Donald Runnicles ist in Edinburgh geboren und aufgewachsen. Er wurde 2004 zum OBE ernannt und wurde 2020 zum Knight Bachelor ernannt. Er ist Ehrendoktor der Universität Edinburgh, der Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama, des San Francisco Conservatory of Music und wurde mit der Royal Medal der Royal Society of Edinburgh ausgezeichnet.

www.donaldrunnicles.org

Stand: Juni 20121

Donald Runnicles

© Simon Pauly

Vergangene Veranstaltungen