Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin

In 2012, the Deutsche Oper Berlin and its orchestra celebrated its 100th birthday. The orchestra’s eventful history is closely linked to that of the city of Berlin. It was almost a small cultural revolution that Berlin’s citizens dared to undertake when they founded their own opera house more than a hundred years ago. With its renunciation of boxes, it embodied the ideal of a ‘democratic’ opera house and offered a full view of the stage from all seats. In the 1920s, famous guest conductors such as Wilhelm Furtwängler and Bruno Walter worked regularly at the Deutsche Oper, and the first recordings were made. After the destruction of the house in the Second World War, the Deutsche Oper had to make arrangements with alternative quarters for a long time. Finally, in 1961, the opera house in Bismarckstraße was opened, where it still resides today. Since then, the Deutsche Oper Berlin with its 1860 seats has not only been the largest opera house in Berlin with excellent visual and acoustic conditions, but also a top address in the international opera world.

The list of conductors who have been guest or principal conductors of the Deutsche Oper Berlin Orchestra is impressive and ranges from Lorin Maazel and Herbert von Karajan to Giuseppe Sinopoli and Christian Thielemann, who served as General Music Director of the Deutsche Oper from 1997 to 2004. Since 2009, the Deutsche Oper Berlin Orchestra has had Sir Donald Runnicles, an internationally renowned conductor, as its General Music Director. The outstanding collaboration between the orchestra and its chief conductor will continue until 2027 following an early contract extension.

An artistic focus of the Deutsche Oper Berlin is the cultivation of the works of Richard Wagner and Richard Strauss. The orchestra’s special Wagnerian tradition is also reflected in the fact that many of its members play in the orchestra of the Bayreuth Festival. Another important element in the artistic profile of the Deutsche Oper Berlin Orchestra is its continuous engagement with contemporary music. Numerous composers have worked closely and productively with the orchestra. In 2017, for example, the premiere of the opera "L'Invisible" led to a renewed collaboration with Aribert Reimann, who already has a long history of premiere performances with the orchestra. Detlev Glanert’s 2019 opera "Oceane" won an International Opera Award for Best Premiere of the Year, and shortly afterwards Chaya Czernowin’s "Heart Chamber" received its first performance.

In addition to the opera performances, the Deutsche Oper Berlin Orchestra regularly gives symphony concerts with leading soloists and can be experienced both in the building on Bismarckstraße and in the Berlin Philharmonie. In addition, numerous ensembles formed by members of the orchestra - from string quartets to big bands - enrich the Deutsche Oper's programme with their concerts. The orchestra's discography comprises more than 200 titles, including numerous outstanding recordings. The recording with Jonas Kaufmann's Wagner recital has received many awards, including the Echo Klassik for the singer. The DVD of Leoš Janáček’s “Jenufa” with the Orchestra and Chorus of the Deutsche Oper Berlin under Sir Donald Runnicles received a Grammy nomination in the category Best Opera Recording in 2015. The recording of Aribert Reimann’s “L'Invisible” was followed by Erich Wolfgang Korngold’s “Das Wunder der Heliane” and Alexander von Zemlinsky’s “Der Zwerg”, also nominated for a Grammy in 2020.

www.deutscheoperberlin.de

As of June 2021

Orchester Deutsche Oper Berlin

© Bettina Stöß

Past Events

Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin

Im Jahr 2012 feierte die Deutsche Oper Berlin und mit ihr das Orchester des Hauses den 100. Geburtstag. Die wechselvolle Geschichte des Orchesters ist eng mit der der Stadt Berlin verknüpft. Es war fast eine kleine Kulturrevolution, die Berlins Bürger wagten, als sie vor mehr als hundert Jahren ein eigenes Opernhaus gründeten, das mit seinem Verzicht auf Logen das Ideal eines ‚demokratischen‘ Opernhauses verkörperte und von allen Plätzen die volle Sicht auf die Bühne bot. In den 1920er Jahren arbeiteten berühmte Gastdirigent*innen wie Wilhelm Furtwängler und Bruno Walter regelmäßig an der Deutschen Oper, und es entstanden damals schon die ersten Schallplatteneinspielungen. Nach der Zerstörung des Hauses im Zweiten Weltkrieg musste sich die Deutsche Oper lange mit Ausweichquartieren arrangieren. 1961 wurde schließlich das Opernhaus in der Bismarckstraße eröffnet, in dem sie bis heute residiert. Seitdem ist die Deutsche Oper Berlin mit ihren 1860 Plätzen nicht nur das größte Opernhaus Berlins mit hervorragenden Sicht- und Akustikverhältnissen, sondern auch eine erste Adresse in der internationalen Opernwelt.

Die Reihe der Dirigent*innen, die als Gast- oder als Chefdirigent*innen am Pult des Orchesters der Deutschen Oper Berlin standen, ist beeindruckend und reicht von Lorin Maazel und Herbert von Karajan bis zu Giuseppe Sinopoli und Christian Thielemann, der von 1997 bis 2004 als Generalmusikdirektor der Deutschen Oper amtierte. Seit 2009 hat das Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin mit Sir Donald Runnicles einen international renommierten Dirigenten als Generalmusikdirektor. Die herausragende Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Orchester und seinem Chefdirigenten wird nach einer vorzeitigen Vertragsverlängerung bis zum Jahr 2027 fortgesetzt.

Ein künstlerischer Schwerpunkt der Deutschen Oper Berlin liegt in der Pflege der Werke von Richard Wagner und Richard Strauss. Die besondere Wagnertradition des Orchesters schlägt sich auch darin nieder, dass viele seiner Mitglieder im Orchester der Bayreuther Festspiele musizieren. Ein weiteres wichtiges Element im künstlerischen Profil des Orchesters der Deutschen Oper Berlin ist die kontinuierliche Auseinandersetzung mit der Musik der Gegenwart. Zahlreiche Komponist*innen arbeiteten eng und produktiv mit dem Orchester zusammen. So kam es 2017 mit der Premiere der Oper „L’Invisible“ zu einer erneuten Zusammenarbeit mit Aribert Reimann, den bereits eine längere Uraufführungsgeschichte mit dem Orchester verbindet. Detlev Glanerts 2019 entstandene Oper „Oceane“ wurde mit einem International Opera Award für die Beste Uraufführung des Jahres ausgezeichnet, kurz darauf erlebte Chaya Czernowins „Heart Chamber“ die erste Aufführung.

Neben den Opernvorstellungen gibt das Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin regelmäßig Sinfoniekonzerte mit führenden Solist*innen und ist dabei sowohl im Haus in der Bismarckstraße wie in der Berliner Philharmonie zu erleben. Zudem bereichern zahlreiche von Mitgliedern des Orchesters gebildete Ensembles – vom Streichquartett bis zur Bigband – mit ihren Konzerten den Spielplan der Deutschen Oper. Die Diskografie des Orchesters umfasst mehr als 200 Titel, zu denen zahlreiche herausragende Einspielungen gehören. Die Aufnahme mit Jonas Kaufmanns Wagner-Recital wurde vielfach ausgezeichnet, unter anderem erhielt der Sänger für diese Aufnahme den Echo Klassik. Die DVD von Leoš Janáčeks „Jenufa“ mit dem Orchester und Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin unter Sir Donald Runnicles erhielt 2015 eine Grammy-Nominierung in der Kategorie Best Opera Recording. Der Aufnahme von Aribert Reimanns „L’Invisible“ folgte Erich Wolfgang Korngolds „Das Wunder der Heliane“ und Alexander von Zemlinskys „Der Zwerg“, 2020 ebenso für einen Grammy nominiert.

www.deutscheoperberlin.de

Stand: Juni 2021

Orchester Deutsche Oper Berlin

© Bettina Stöß

Vergangene Veranstaltungen