Dr. Thomas Oberender

Dr Thomas Oberender was born in 1966, studied Theatre Studies and Scenic Writing in Berlin and worked as a freelance playwright, critic, essayist and publicist. As the co-founder of the theatre writers’ association Theater neuen Typs (Theatre of a New Kind), he presented new theatre texts written in the German language in Berlin from 1997. In 1999 he completed his PhD on Botho Strauß and was subsequently appointed Head Dramaturg at Schauspielhaus Bochum. For the Ruhrtriennale he devised the literary festivals “Wiedererrichtung des Himmels” (2004) and “Schule der Romantik” (2005). He became Co-Director at Schauspielhaus Zürich for the 2005/06 season, before moving to become Head of Theatre at the Salzburg Festival until 2011. He also developed the event series “Die Erfindung der Freiheit” for the European Capital of Culture RUHR 2010.

He has been Director of the Berliner Festspiele since 2012 and Artistic Director of the Immersion programme that he created since 2016. Here he devised new experiential spaces between exhibition and performance which have included the interdisciplinary formats “Schule der Distanz” (2016), “Limits of Knowing” (2017) and “INTO WORLDS. The Craft of Blurring Boundaries” (2018). The series The New Infinity that he has conceived together with Planetarium Hamburg has opened up the planetarium as a site for the work of artists in the digital age since 2018.

In 2019 the exhibition by Philippe Parreno that he initiated at the Gropius Bau was selected as “Exhibition of the Year 2018”. As a curator Oberender was responsible along with Tino Seghal for the time-based exhibition “Welt ohne Außen. Immersive Spaces since the 1960s” in 2018 and, as part of a wider curatorial team, for the “Palast der Republik” in 2019. The re-examination of the historical transformation of Eastern Germany since 1989 has become an additional focus for his work in recent years.

He has published numerous books, including “Nebeneingang oder Haupteingang? – Gespräche über 50 Jahre Schreiben fürs Theater” (Side Entrance or Main Entrance? – Conversations about 50 Years of Writing for the Theatre, 2014, together with Peter Handke), “Leben auf Probe. Wie die Bühne zur Welt wird” (Life in Rehearsal. How the Stage becomes a World, 2009), the anthology “The New Infinity. New Art in Planetariums” (2019), the artists’ conversation “Occupy History. Decolonisation of Memory” (2019) and most recently “Empowerment Ost. Wie wir zusammen wachsen” (2020).

More on Thomas Oberender’s institutional work

As of February 2020

Dr Thomas Oberender

© Christoph Neumann

Upcoming Events

Past Events

Dr. Thomas Oberender

Thomas Oberender, geboren 1966, studierte Theaterwissenschaft und Szenisches Schreiben in Berlin und arbeitete als Dramatiker, Kritiker, Essayist und Publizist. Als Mitbegründer und Namensgeber der Autorentheatervereinigung Theater neuen Typs präsentierte er ab 1997 neue Theatertexte deutschsprachiger Autor*innen in Berlin. 1999 promovierte er über Botho Strauß und wurde danach Leitender Dramaturg am Schauspielhaus Bochum. Für die Ruhrtriennale entwickelte er 2004 das Literaturfestival „Wiedererrichtung des Himmels“, gefolgt von dem Literaturfestival „Schule der Romantik“ 2005. Er übernahm die Co-Direktion am Schauspielhaus Zürich für die Spielzeit 2005/06 und wurde im Anschluss Schauspieldirektor der Salzburger Festspiele bis 2011. Für die Kulturhauptstadt RUHR 2010 entwickelte er die Reihe „Die Erfindung der Freiheit“.

Seit 2012 ist er Intendant der Berliner Festspiele und seit 2016 Künstlerischer Leiter der von ihm gegründeten Programmreihe Immersion. Hier gestaltet er neue Erfahrungsräume zwischen Ausstellung und Aufführung, unter anderen in den interdisziplinären Formaten „Schule der Distanz“ 2016, „Limits of Knowing“ 2017 und „INTO WORLDS. Das Handwerk der Entgrenzung“ 2018. Die von ihm mit dem Planetarium Hamburg konzipierte Reihe The New Infinity öffnet seit 2018 Planetarien für die Arbeiten von Künstler*Innen des digitalen Zeitalters.

Die von ihm initiierte Ausstellung von Philippe Parreno im Gropius Bau wurde 2019 zur „Ausstellung des Jahres 2018“ gewählt. Als Kurator gestaltete Oberender mit Tino Seghal 2018 die zeitbasierte Ausstellung „Welt ohne Außen. Immersive Räume seit den 60er Jahren“ und 2019 mit einem erweiterten kuratorischen Team den „Palast der Republik“. Die Neubetrachtung der Transformationsgeschichte in Ostdeutschland nach 1989 bildet wurde in den letzten Jahren zu einem weiteren Schwerpunkt seiner Arbeit.

Er veröffentlichte mehrere Bücher u. a. „Nebeneingang oder Haupteingang? – Gespräche über 50 Jahre Schreiben fürs Theater“ (2014, gemeinsam mit Peter Handke), „Leben auf Probe. Wie die Bühne zur Welt wird“ (2009), den Sammelband „The New Infinity. Neue Kunst in Planetarien“ (2019), das Künstlergespräch „Occupy History. Decolonisation of Memory“ (2019), und zuletzt „Empowerment Ost. Wie wir zusammen wachsen“ (2020).

Mehr zur institutionellen Arbeit von Thomas Oberender

Stand: Februar 2020

Dr. Thomas Oberender

© Christoph Neumann

Vergangene Veranstaltungen