Lucinda Childs

© Cameron Wittig

Lucinda Childs

Lucinda Childs is one of America’s most important choreographers. She began her career in 1963 as an original member of New York’s Judson Dance Theater. After forming her own company in 1973, Ms. Childs collaborated with Robert Wilson and Philip Glass on “Einstein on the Beach” in 1976 participating as principal performer and solo choreographer for which she received an Obie award. In the ’84 and ’92 revivals, Childs choreographed the two “Field Dances”, and was cast again as principal performer. Childs has appeared in five of Wilson’s major productions including, Marguerite Duras’ “Maladie de la Mort” opposite Michel Piccoli, “I Was Sitting on my Patio This Guy Appeared I Thought I Was Hallucinating” opposite Robert Wilson, and Heiner Muller’s “Quartett”, and Wilson and Glass’s opera “White Raven”.

Since 1979, Ms. Childs has collaborated on a series of large-scale productions. “Dance”, choreographed in 1979 with music by Philip Glass, and a film/decor by Sol LeWitt continues to tour extensively and was cited by the Wall Street Journal (2011), as “one of the greatest achievements of the 20th Century.” The “Washington Post” wrote, “a genuine breakthrough, defining for us new modes of perception and feeling and belonging as much to the future as to the present.” “Available Light” (1983) with music by John Adams and set designed by Frank Gehry will be revived for the company’s 2014–15 season along with a new work with Philip Glass and visual artist, James Turrell.

Since 1981, Ms. Childs has received a number of commissions from ballet companies and has choreographed and directed opera productions including: Gluck’s “Orfeo ed Euridice” for the Los Angeles Opera, Mozart’s “Zaide” for La Monnaie in Brussels, Stravinsky’s “Le Rossignol” and “Oedipus Rex”, Vivaldi’s “Farnace”, and a new production of John Adams’ “Dr. Atomic” for the Opera du Rhin in 2014. Most recently she choreographed and directed Handel’s “Alessandro” for Parnassus Arts Productions featuring Max Emanual Cencic in the lead role which was voted “Opera of the Year” by Mezzo-TV.

Childs received a Guggenheim Fellowship in 1979. She is also the recipient of the NEA/NEFA American Masterpiece Award, and in 2004 she was elevated to Commander in France’s Order of Arts and Letters.

As of January 2014

Past Events

Lucinda Childs

© Cameron Wittig

Lucinda Childs

 

Lucinda Childs ist eine der bedeutendsten Choreografinnen der USA. Sie begann ihre Karriere 1963 als festes Mitglied des Judson Dance Theater in New York. Nach der Gründung ihrer eigenen Compagnie im Jahr 1973 arbeitete sie 1976 als Solochoreografin und Hauptdarstellerin in „Einstein on the Beach“ mit Robert Wilson und Philip Glass zusammen. Für ihre Leistung erhielt sie einen Obie Award. Für die Neuproduktionen des Werks in den Jahren 1984 und 1992 entwickelte sie die Choreografien der beiden „Field Dances“ und wurde erneut als Hauptdarstellerin engagiert. Childs wirkte in fünf großen Produktionen von Robert Wilson mit, darunter zusammen mit Michel Piccoli in „Maladie de la Mort“ (Die Krankheit Tod) von Marguerite Duras, zusammen mit Robert Wilson in „I Was Sitting on my Patio This Guy Appeared I Thought I Was Hallucinating“, in „Quartett“ von Heiner Müller und in der Oper „White Raven“ von Wilson und Glass.

Seit 1979 hat Lucinda Childs im Rahmen größerer Projekte außerdem mit weiteren Künstlern zusammengearbeitet: Ihre Choreografie für „Dance“ (1979) mit Musik von Philip Glass und Ausstattung und Videos von Sol LeWitt ist bis heute weltweit auf Tourneen zu sehen und wurde 2011 vom „Wall Street Journal“ als „eine der größten Leistungen des 20. Jahrhunderts“ hervorgehoben. Die „Washington Post“ schrieb: „Ein Geniestreich, der neue Arten der Wahrnehmung und des Empfindens definiert und sowohl in die Zukunft weist als auch die Gegenwart trifft.“ „Available Light“ (1983) mit Musik von John Adams und in der Ausstattung von Frank Gehry wird von Childs‘ Compagnie in der Spielzeit 2014/15 wiederaufgenommen, im Rahmen eines Tanzabends mit einem neuen Werk von Philip Glass und dem bildenden Künstler James Turrell.

Seit 1981 realisierte Lucinda Childs eine Reihe von Aufträgen von Ballettkompagnien und inszenierte und choreografierte Opernproduktionen, darunter „Orfeo ed Euridice“ von Christoph Willibald Gluck für die Los Angeles Opera, „Zaide“ von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart für das Théâtre Royal de la Monnaie in Brüssel, „Le rossignol“ und „Œdipus Rex“ von Igor Strawinsky, „Farnace“ von Antonio Vivaldi und für die Opéra National du Rhin in Strasbourg 2014 eine Neuproduktion von „Dr. Atomic“ von John Adams. 2012 schuf sie die Choreografie für „Allessandro“ von Georg Friedrich Händel für die Parnassus Arts Productions mit Max Emanuel Cencic in der Titelpartie, eine Produktion, die vom französischen Fernsehsender Mezzo-TV zur „Oper des Jahres“ gekürt wurde.

Im Jahr 1979 erhielt Lucinda Childs ein Guggenheim Fellowship. Sie ist zudem Trägerin des NEA/NEFA American Masterpiece Award und wurde 2004 in den Rang eines Commandeur im französischen Ordre des Arts et des Lettres erhoben.

Stand: January 2014