Rebecca Saunders

With her distinctive and intensely striking sonic language, Berlin-based British composer Rebecca Saunders (b. 1967) is a leading international representative of her generation. Born in London, she studied composition with Nigel Osborne in Edinburgh and Wolfgang Rihm in Karlsruhe.

Saunders pursues an intense interest in the sculptural and spatial properties of organised sound. “chroma I – XX” (2003–2017), “Stasis” and “Stasis Kollektiv” (2011/16) are expanding spatial collages of up to twenty-five chamber groups and sound sources set in radically different architectural spaces. “insideout”, a 90-minute collage for a choreographed installation, created in collaboration with Sasha Waltz, was her first work for the stage and received over 100 international performances. Most recently in 2017, “Yes”, an expansive 80-minute spatial installation composition, was written for Musikfabrik, Donatienne Michel-Dansac and Enno Poppe for the extraordinary architectural spaces of the Berlin Philharmonie and the St. Eustache Cathedral in Paris.

Since 2013, Saunders has written a series of solos and duos for performers with whom she has collaborated closely over many years, including “Bite” (2016) for bass flute, “Aether” (2016) for bass clarinet duo, “dust” (2017/18) for percussion, “O” (2017) for soprano, “hauch” (2018) for violin, and “Flesh” (2017/18) for accordion. She has simultaneously pursued her keen interest in works in the concertante form, writing a double percussion concerto “Void” (2014), a trumpet concerto “Alba” (2015), and both “Skin” (2016) and “Yes” (2017) for soprano and large ensemble. “Alba” and “Void” marked the close of a triptych of works which also includes the violin concerto “Still” (2011). In 2016, her extended violin concerto “Still” (2011/16) was performed in collaboration with the choreographer Antonio Rúz, the dancers of Sasha Waltz & Guests, Carolin Widmann, the Junge Deutsche Philharmonie and Sylvain Cambreling. In 2018 her double bass concerto “Fury II” was choreographed by Emanuel Gat in collaboration with Ensemble Modern as part of the Story Water project.

Saunders’ music has been performed and premiered by many prestigious ensembles, soloists and orchestras including Ensemble Musikfabrik, Klangforum Wien, Ensemble Modern, Quatuor Diotima, Ensemble Dal Niente, Asko | Schönberg, the Arditti Quartet, Ensemble Resonanz, Ensemble Recherche, ICE, the Neue Vocalsolisten, Ensemble Remix, SWRSO, WDRSO and the BBCSO, amongst many others.

Her compositions have been recognised with numerous international prestigious awards, including the 2019 Ernst von Siemens Music Prize (following one of the Young Composers’ Prizes of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation in 1996), the ARD und BMW musica viva Prize, the Paul Hindemith Prize, four Royal Philharmonic Society Awards (for “Stirrings Still” in 2008, “Fletch” in 2013, “Skin” in 2017, and “Yes” in 2019), four BASCA British Composer Awards (for “Solitude” in 2013, “Alba” in 2016, “Skin” in 2017 and “Unbreathed” in 2018), and the GEMA Music Prize for Instrumental Music. In 2015, Saunders received the Hans und Gertrud Zender Foundation Prize and the prestigious Mauricio Kagel Music Preis. Accordionist Teo Anzellotti’s CD, “...of waters making moan”, which included Saunders’ eponymous work, won the German Record Critics’ Award of the Year for 2016.

Saunders is in great demand as a composition tutor and teaches regularly at, amongst others, the Darmstadt Summer Courses and at the Impuls Academy in Graz. She was professor of composition at the Hannover University of Music, Theatre and Media. She lives in Berlin and is a member of the Berlin Academy of Arts and the Sachsen Academy of Arts in Dresden.

Saunders’ music has been published by Edition Peters since 1997.

www.rebeccasaunders.net

As of June 2020

Rebecca Saunders

© Camille Blake

Upcoming Events

Past Events

Rebecca Saunders

Mit ihrer unverkennbaren und bemerkenswerten Klangsprache ist die in Berlin lebende britische Komponistin Rebecca Saunders eine der führenden internationalen Vertreterinnen ihrer Generation. 1967 in London geboren, studierte sie Komposition bei Nigel Osborne an der University of Edinburgh sowie bei Wolfgang Rihm an der Universität Karlsruhe.

Saunders hegt ein großes Interesse an den plastischen und räumlichen Eigenschaften von organisierten Klängen. „chroma I-XX“ (2003 – 2017), „Stasis“ und „Stasis Kollektiv“ (2011/16) sind sich ausdehnende räumliche Kollagen von bis zu 25 Kammermusikgruppen und Klangquellen, die in architektonisch extrem unterschiedlichen Räumen angeordnet sind. „Insideout“, eine 90-minütige Kollage für eine choreographierte Installation, die sie in Zusammenarbeit mit Sasha Waltz schuf, war ihr erstes Bühnenwerk und wurde weltweit über 100mal aufgeführt. 2017 schrieb sie für das Ensemble Musikfabrik, Donatienne Michel-Dansac und Enno Poppe „Yes“, eine 80-minütige räumliche Kompositionsinstallation, die für die architektonisch außergewöhnlichen Räume der Berliner Philharmonie und der Kathedrale St. Eustache (Paris) konzipiert ist.

Seit 2013 schreibt Saunders eine Reihe von Solos und Duos für Künstler, mit denen sie schon viele Jahre eng zusammenarbeitet: „Bite“ (2016) für Bassflöte, „Aether“ (2016) für Bassklarinettenduo, „dust“ (2017/18) für Perkussion, „O“ (2017) für Sopran, „hauch“(2018) für Violine und „Flesh“ (2017/18) für Akkordeon. Gleichzeitig hat sie ihr leidenschaftliches Interesse für konzertante Formen verfolgt und schrieb das Doppelkonzert für Perkussion „Void“ (2014), das Trompetenkonzert „Alba“ (2015) sowie „Skin“ (2016) und „Yes“ (2017), die beiden letzteren für Sopran und großes Ensemble. „Alba“ und „Void“ bilden den Abschluss eines Triptychons, zu dem auch das Violinkonzert „Still“ (2011) zählt. 2016 wurde „Still“ in erweiterter Fassung in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Choreographen Antonio Rúz, den Tänzern von Sasha Waltz & Guests, Carolin Widman, der Junge Deutsche Philharmonie und Sylvain Cambreling aufgeführt. 2018 wurde ihr Kontrabasskonzert „Fury II“ in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Ensemble Modern und von Emanuel Gat für das „Story Water“ Projekt choreographiert aufgeführt.

Rebecca Saunders Musik wurde bereits von vielen renommierten Ensembles, Solisten und Orchestern gespielt und uraufgeführt, u. a. vom Ensemble Musikfabrik, Klangforum Wien, Ensemble Modern, Quatuor Diotima, Dal Niente, Asko | Schönberg, dem Arditti Quartett, Ensemble Resonanz, Ensemble Recherche, ICE, den Neuen Vocalsolisten, Ensemble Remix und den Sinfonieorchestern des SWR, WDR und der BBC.

Für ihre Kompositionen hat sie zahlreiche international renommierte Preise erhalten, zuletzt den Ernst von Siemens Musikpreis 2019 (bereits 1996 erhielt sie einen der Komponisten-Förderpreise der Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung), weiter den ARD und BMW musica viva-Preis, den Paul-Hindemith-Preis, den Royal Philharmonic Society Award (2008 für „Stirrings Still“, 2013 für „Fletch“, 2017 für „Skin“, und 2019 für „Yes“) sowie den BASCA British Composer Award (2013 für „Solitude“, 2016 für „Alba“, 2017 für „Skin“, und 2018 für „Unbreathed“), und den GEMA-Musikpreis für Instrumentalmusik. Des Weiteren wurde Saunders mit dem Hans und Gertrud Zender-Stiftungspreis und dem renommierten Mauricio-Kagel-Musikpreis ausgezeichnet. Die CD „…of waters making moan“ des Akkordeonisten Teo Anzellotti, die Saunders titelgebendes Stück enthält, gewann den Jahrespreis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik 2016.

Saunders ist eine gefragte Kompositionsdozentin und unterrichtet regelmäßig bei den Darmstädter Ferienkursen sowie an der Impuls Akademie in Graz. Sie war Professorin für Komposition an der Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover. Sie ist Mitglied der Berliner Akademie der Künste und der Sächsischen Akademie der Künste in Dresden.

Rebecca Saunders Musik wird seit 1997 bei der Edition Peters verlegt.

www.rebeccasaunders.net

Stand: Juni 2020

Rebecca Saunders

© Camille Blake

Vergangene Veranstaltungen