Ensemblekollektiv Berlin

Four internationally renowned Berlin ensembles – Ensemble Adapter, Sonar Quartet, Ensemble Apparat and ensemble mosaik – cooperate as a collaborative orchestra under the name Ensemblekollektiv Berlin. This unusual constellation, which is based on chamber music structures, is not only a novelty for Berlin’s cultural scene. The participating ensembles are characterised by their extensive experience, highest quality renditions and clear profiles. Through collaboration, these formations complement each other to create new musical possibilities.

In three programmes funded by the Capital Cultural Fund, the ensemble presented itself publically for the first time at MaerzMusik 2014, the Musikfest Berlin 2014 and Ultraschall Berlin 2015 with a selective repertoire and compositions commissioned by Hanna Eimermacher and Sarah Nemtsov under the baton of the prestigious conductors Titus Engel, Enno Poppe and Manuel Nawri.

For the Ensemblekollektiv Berlin’s second season, this initial phase will be extended and the ensemble’s unusual structure will be brought to the fore. In its programmes for 2016 (and a concert in January 2017), the relationship of the individual ensembles to the collective as well as its chamber music structure and working methods as a basis for collective work are the focus of musical exploration.

In the programmes it has developed for Maerzmusik 2016 and Ultraschall Berlin 2017, one of the four ensembles will determine one half-concert each. The starting point is always an existing piece, which is explicitly dedicated to this particular ensemble and which has been created in close cooperation with the composer. The same composer has now been commissioned to write a 20-25-minute piece for the entire Ensemblekollektiv Berlin stemming from this work, while taking its structure into account.

As of January 2016

Past Events

Ensemblekollektiv Berlin

 

Als Ensemblekollektiv Berlin kooperieren vier international anerkannte Berliner Ensembles als gemeinschaftlicher Klangkörper: Ensemble Adapter, Sonar-Quartett, Ensemble Apparat und ensemble mosaik. Diese besondere Konstellation auf Basis kammermusikalischer Strukturen ist nicht nur für die Berliner Kulturszene eine Neuheit. Die beteiligten Ensembles zeichnen sich durch langjährige Erfahrung, durch Interpretationen auf höchstem Niveau und klare Profile aus. In der Zusammenarbeit ergänzen sich diese Formationen zu einem Klangkörper mit neuen musikalischen Möglichkeiten.

In drei Programmen präsentierte sich das Kollektiv mit Unterstützung durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds mit ausgewähltem Repertoire sowie Kompositionsaufträgen an Hanna Eimermacher und Sarah Nemtsov bei MaerzMusik 2014, dem Musikfest Berlin 2014 und Ultraschall Berlin 2015 unter der Leitung der renommierten Dirigenten Titus Engel, Enno Poppe und Manuel Nawri zum ersten Mal der Öffentlichkeit.

Für die zweite Spielzeit des Ensemblekollektivs Berlin soll nun dieser Ansatz vertieft werden und in drei Konzerten die außergewöhnliche Zusammensetzung des Klangkörpers thematisiert werden. In den Programmen für 2016 (und ein Konzert im Januar 2017) steht also das Verhältnis des einzelnen Ensembles zum Kollektiv, sowie die kammermusikalische Struktur und Arbeitsweise als Basis der Kollektivarbeit im Zentrum der musikalischen Auseinandersetzung.

Für MaerzMusik 2016 und Ultraschall Berlin 2017 wurden Programme entwickelt, bei denen eines der vier Ensembles je eine Konzerthälfte bestimmt. Ausgangspunkt dabei ist jeweils ein bestehendes Werk, das explizit diesem Ensemble gewidmet ist und das in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Komponisten entstanden ist. Derselbe Komponist wurde nun beauftragt, ausgehend von diesem Werk ein Stück mit einer Länge von 20-25 Minuten für die gesamte Besetzung des Ensemblekollektivs Berlin zu schreiben und dabei die Zusammensetzung des Klangkörpers zu berücksichtigen.

Stand: Januar 2016

Vergangene Veranstaltungen