Meg Stuart

Meg Stuart (*1965 in New Orleans) is a choreographer and dancer, living and working in Berlin and Brussels. After her dance studies at the New York University she created her first full-length piece “Disfigure Study” (1991), commissioned by the Belgian Klapstuk Festival, which launched her choreographic career in Europe. Stuart founded her company Damaged Goods in Brussels in 1994. Together they created more than thirty productions, ranging from solos to large-scale choreographies and including site-specific creations and installations. Over the years, Meg Stuart has initiated and performed several improvisation projects. Her artistic practice constantly redefines itself while searching for new presentation contexts and territories for dance.

Meg Stuart has collaborated with numerous artists, including Pierre Coulibeuf, Philipp Gehmacher, Ann Hamilton, Gary Hill, Benoît Lachambre, Jorge León and Hahn Rowe. During artistic residencies at Schauspielhaus Zürich (2000-2004) and Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz in Berlin (2005-2010), she developed projects with theatre directors Stefan Pucher, Christoph Marthaler and Frank Castorf. Her works have been presented at theatres worldwide as well as at documenta X in Kassel (1997) and at Manifesta 7 in Bolzano (2008). In 2008, her complete oeuvre won a Bessie Award and the Flemish Culture Award. The Academy of the Arts bestowed the Konrad-Wolf-Preis on her in 2012 and she received a Golden Lion in the category Dance from the Biennale di Venezia for her lifetime’s achievements. Furthermore, Meg Stuart and Damaged Goods were awarded the German Dance Award for extraordinary artistic achievements in 2018.

Meg Stuart developed her latest choreographic work “Celestial Sorrow” (2018) in collaboration with the Indonesian visual artist Jompet Kuswidananto. In 2019, she was the first female choreographer to become the artistic director of Tanzkongress, which took place at Hellerau – European Centre for the Arts. Moreover, there is an ongoing cooperation between Meg Stuart / Damaged Goods and the Kaaitheater in Brussels as well as HAU Hebbel am Ufer in Berlin.

www.damagedgoods.be

As of February 2020

Past Events

Meg Stuart

Meg Stuart (*1965 in New Orleans) lebt und arbeitet als Choreografin und Tänzerin in Berlin und Brüssel. Nach ihrem Tanzstudium an der New York University entwickelte sie für das belgische Klapstuk Festival ihr erstes abendfüllendes Stück „Disfigure Study“, das den Beginn ihrer choreografischen Karriere in Europa markiert. Stuart gründete 1994 ihre eigene Kompagnie Damaged Goods. Gemeinsam haben sie mehr als 30 Produktionen erarbeitet, von Solos bis groß angelegten Choreografien, ortsspezifischen Arbeiten und Installationen. Über die Jahre initiierte und praktizierte Stuart mehrere Improvisationsprojekte. Auf der Suche nach neuen Präsentationskontexten und Territorien für den Tanz definiert sich ihre künstlerische Arbeit ständig neu.

Meg Stuart hat mit zahlreichen Künstler*innen zusammengearbeitet, darunter Pierre Coulibeuf, Philipp Gehmacher, Ann Hamilton, Gary Hill, Benoît Lachambre, Jorge León und Hahn Rowe. Aus Artist-in-Residence-Aufenthalten am Schauspielhaus Zürich (2000-2004) und an der Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz Berlin (2005-2010) entwickelten sich Projekte mit den Theaterregisseuren Stefan Pucher, Christoph Marthaler und Frank Castorf. Ihre Arbeiten gastieren in Theatern weltweit und waren daneben zur documenta X (1997) in Kassel und zur Manifesta7 (2008) in Bozen eingeladen. 2008 wurde ihr Gesamtwerk mit dem Bessie Award und dem Flämischen Kulturpreis ausgezeichnet. Die Akademie der Künste verlieh ihr 2012 den Konrad-Wolf-Preis und die Biennale di Venezia 2018 den Goldenen Löwen für ihr Lebenswerk in der Kategorie Tanz. 2018 erhielt Meg Stuart außerdem, gemeinsam mit Damaged Goods, den Deutschen Tanzpreis für herausragende künstlerische Leistungen.

Ihre jüngste choreografische Kreation, „Celestial Sorrow“ (2018), entwickelte Stuart in Zusammenarbeit mit dem indonesischen bildenden Künstler Jompet Kuswidananto. Als erste Choreografin übernahm sie 2019 die künstlerische Leitung des Tanzkongresses, der in diesem Jahr in Hellerau – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste stattfand. Außerdem besteht eine laufende Zusammenarbeit zwischen Meg Stuart / Damaged Goods und dem Kaaitheater in Brüssel sowie dem HAU Hebbel am Ufer in Berlin.

www.damagedgoods.be

Stand: Februar 2020

Aktuelle Veranstaltungen

Vergangene Veranstaltungen