The Sun Machine Is Coming Down

Art at the ICC

For ten days, the Berliner Festspiele are opening the International Congress Centre (ICC), which has been unused for years, and will bring this High-Tech architectural icon back to life with Berlin-based and international artists featuring new and adapted art from the fields of performance, circus, music, film, and installation.
To the daily programme

The architecture of the International Congress Centre Berlin (ICC) in digitally modified form against a yellow circular background.

There, where today the aura of what was once state-of-the-art technology has faded, where operations have come to a standstill, and where the deterioration of the building dominantes its presence, bodies, plants, sounds, discourses, and movement are returning, and – with a project named after the title of David Bowie’s song “Memory of a Free Festival” (1969) – are promising light, space, and transformation. At the beginning, there was the desire to make the ICC, which is like a spaceship stranded and floating through time while running on emergency power, able to be experienced as a vessel to other worlds and species. The crackling of time, the groaning of the machine, the echo of the goods of earlier and other cultures – all of this was intended to flow through the ICC as sounds. Eerie, disturbing, and seductive, all at the same time.

The awareness that has arisen onsite connects itself with current discourses regarding cohabitation and can be transferred to other knowledge concepts – indigenous forms of knowledge and a radical media theory that proceeds from the technical implications of media on our thoughts and social behaviour. This project initiated by Thomas Oberender and curated by a team, follows the principle of simultaneity as it was intended in the architectural design by Ursulina Schüler-Witte and Ralf Schüler for the conference building. Visitors experience the gigantic building freely during their 3.5-hour visit and encounter temporary, either announced or spontaneously occurring, elements of the live art programme as well as permanently occurring screenings, concerts, and installations, within a shell that speaks for itself.

There is something mechanical in the paradox between the structural concrete and aluminium facade of the ICC, its outwardly closed typology, and its open space segments on the inside. All of the foyers communicate using visual axes and sound paths, and even the few rooms that can be closed will be open to each other during the event. The challenge that “The Sun Machine Is Coming Down” poses rests not only in the decentralisation of the art parcours of 1,000 people over 28,000 square metres, but also requires transmedial programming of the acoustically and visually overlapping positions. In this manner, an art format is created in which the space itself has the loudest voice and where the friction does not result in loss, but instead contains the promise of the experimental when we individually and gently invite artists who perform and illuminate so that the slumber of the ICC becomes the dream of another world from which can not be awakened.

The permanent programme includes screenings of the Julia Stoschek Collection shown in a loop in hall 1, the largest hall of the architecture: these works, created between 1978 and 2018, question the relationship of human beings to their own bodies and the position of the body in social structures. Be it the hyperreal avatar in the work of Ed Atkins or the dancer on the streets of Guangzhou in Cao Fei’s work, the creators of the selected video works are united by their faith in the power of resistance that is found in simple poetic gestures. Another hall that showcases a daily accessible programme is cinema hall 3 which provides insight into 70 years of Berliner Festspiele history on the occasion of its anniversary.

Using around 1,000 hours of film material from public and private archives, Thilo Fischer and David von Stein restored more than five hours of images and sound, and used them to assemble three video works that bring together news, discourse, and art. In addition, Thilo Fischer curates a film programme with recordings of extraordinary concerts, performances, actions, reports, and conversations, all in full length. Hall 2 is also programmed almost continuously, where music curator Martin Hossbach, with international and Berlin-based musicians, including Alexis Taylor, Nazanin Noori, The White Screen, Rosaceae, and Tegel Media, explore the compatibility of architecture and sound in the ICC with an expanded music programme of concerts and lecture performances.

The visual arts and acoustic installations in the lower foyer are time-based and yet permanently accessible: there, Markus Selg has filled ten glass cabinets with scenarios of future and archaic realities that flow into the large space in light choreographies and sonic worlds from the sound installations by Richard Janssen. Floating University Berlin who has been investigating alternative, biodiverse forms of co-habitation since 2018, has been shaping the discourse and has relocated its culture of conversation and ideas to the upper foyer of the ICC with a variety of talk formats, while the Spider Walks initiated by Studio Tomás Saraceno provide a look at lives pushed to the margins. The connection of knowledge with new needs can be heard here – a focus also placed by the artist Joulia Strauss with sculptures, installations, and discursive séances. These explore the further thinking of the media theory of her famous teacher Friedrich Kittler as she, together with additional companions, mediates the daily scheduled séances in hall 6 like journeys of the soul to Friedrich Kittler in honour of the tenth anniversary of his death.

Artificial and human intelligences come together in Monira Al Qadiri’s and Raed Yassin’s permanently accessible installation in the middle foyer with three kinetic busts whose AI voices tell of the artists’ bizarre experiences and dreams during the coronavirus pandemic. Ayaka Nakama also celebrates the boundary between the grotesque and the magical on the other side of the upper foyer in the botanical world of her four-hour solo “Freeway Dance” in which the earliest memories of dance she has collected with her friends and family become the embodiment of the dance itself.

An additional focus of our exorcism of the coronavirus is art from the fields of dance and circus, the latter curated by Wolfgang Hoffmann. Performances in the water cylinder and qigong on the forecourt of the ICC at the traffic junction Messedamm; repetitive circus exercises and dancing Styrofoam on the landmark protected 1970s carpet in the ICC lounge located at the rear of the foyer; balancing on a centring below the mechanically moveable grandstands system of hall 2 that weighs several tonnes: Chloé Moglia, Jörg Müller, Darragh McLoughlin and Andrea Salustri as well as Alexander Vantournhout, Grace Ellen Barkey. and Tino Sehgal, reinterpret the spatiality through counter gestures.

In their physically poetic and circensic narratives, the power of activating spaces as polytopias through movement becomes visible. Space is the basic condition of this narrative because it marks and defines that world from which the artistic parallel worlds literally move away from as alternatives. In doing so, they play with conditions that are constantly threatened by failure – flying, dreaming, emptiness, transformation, illusion, and transposition.

David Bowie celebrated the art of transformation. He was living in Berlin when the ICC was built. At the time of its opening in 1979, his promising lyrics “The Sun Machine is coming down. And we’re gonna have a party” were already ten years old. In 1969, during the last four minutes of his song “Memory of a Free Festival”, they bundled, almost like a mantra, the spirit of a time of physical closeness and wild parties that today, after 20 months of pandemic, feels so far away.

Dear disco, we will wait for you.

Including works by Monira Al Qadiri & Raed Yassin, Arachnophilia & Studio Tomás Saraceno, Ed Atkins, Grace Ellen Barkey / Needcompany, Dara Birnbaum, Rainer Werner Fassbinder, Cao Fei, Floating University Berlin, Cyprien Gaillard, Barbara Hammer, Arthur Jafa, Richard Janssen, Ilya Khrzhanovsky & Ilya Permiakov, Scott King, John Carroll Kirby, Lawrence, Gordon Matta-Clark, Darragh McLoughlin, Chloé Moglia, Jörg Müller, Ayaka Nakama, Nalan, Nazanin Noori, Ulrike Ottinger, Khien Phuc, James Richards & Leslie Thornton, Rosaceae & Natascha P., Rachel Rose, Andrea Salustri, Tino Sehgal, Markus Selg, Joulia Strauss, Alexis Taylor, Tegel Media, Unguarded, Alexander Vantournhout / not standing, WangShui, The White Screen and many others.

“We scanned the skies with rainbow eyes and saw machines of every shape and size ...“
David Bowie, Memory of a Free Festival

A project organised by Berliner Festspiele together with the programme series Immersion.

Initiated by Thomas Oberender
Programme Management Anja Predeick
Co-curated by Thilo Fischer, Wolfgang Hoffmann, Martin Hossbach, Thomas Oberender, Julia Stoschek Foundation and Jeroen Versteele
Curatorial Assistant Teresa Minn
Production Management Albrecht Grüß, Tilman Hatje, Undine Klose
Technical director Matthias Schäfer
Technical production Maria Kusche
Controlling Marc Pohl
Programme Assistant Irena Osadtsaja
Editorial Office Vanessa Schaefer
Student assistant Merve Cowling
Internship Lea Wolf

Sponsors and project partners

Logo Inga Maren Otto     Julia Stoschek Foundation

Partners

Logo Arte     Logo Arts of the Working Class     Logo Cee Cee     Logo Dussmann     Exberliner    

Monopol – Magazin für Kunst und Leben      Logo Radio Eins     Logo Wall AG     Yorck Kinogruppe

Press

Press Contact

BUREAU N
Katharina Neumann, Malte Bündgen
Naunynstraße 38
10999 Berlin
Tel +49 30 6273 6104

Press

Press Material

Press releases
Press images

The Sun Machine Is Coming Down

Kunst im ICC

Die Berliner Festspiele öffnen das seit Jahren stillgelegte Internationale Congress Centrum (ICC) für zehn Tage und beleben mit Berliner und internationalen Künstler*innen die High-Tech-Architekturikone von 1979 mit neuer und adaptierter Kunst der Bereiche Performance, Artistik, Musik, Film und Installation. Zum Tagesprogramm

Die Architektur des Internationalen Congress Centrum Berlin (ICC) in digital abgewandelter Form vor einem gelben, kreisförmigen Hintergrund.

Dorthin, wo heute die Aura des einst Hochtechnologischen gewichen ist, wo die Funktionen stillgelegt sind und der Verfall die Präsenz des Baus dominiert, kommen nun Körper, Pflanzen, Klang, Diskurs und Bewegung zurück und versprechen mit dem nach einer Songzeile aus David Bowies „Memory Of A Free Festival“ (1969) benannten Projekt Licht, Raum und Verwandlung. Am Beginn stand der Wunsch, das im Weltraum gestrandete und im Notstrombetrieb durch die Zeit schwimmende Raumschiff ICC als Transporteur anderer Welten und Spezies erlebbar zu machen. Das Knistern der Zeit, das Ächzen der Maschine, das Echo von Gütern früherer und anderer Kulturen – all das soll als Klang durch das ICC fließen. Unheimlich, verstörend und verführerisch zugleich.

Das vor Ort wachsende Bewusstsein verbindet sich mit zeitaktuellen Diskursen um Kohabitation und überträgt sich auf alternative Wissenskonzepte – indigene Wissensformen und eine radikale Medientheorie, die von den technischen Implikationen der Medien auf unser Denken und soziales Verhalten ausgeht. Das von Thomas Oberender initiierte und im Team kuratierte Projekt folgt dem Prinzip der Simultaneität, wie es der architektonische Entwurf von Ursulina Schüler-Witte und Ralf Schüler für das Kongressgebäude vorgesehen hat. Besucher*innen erleben das gigantische Gebäude während ihres 3,5-stündigen Besuchs frei und erkunden temporäre – angekündigte oder spontan entstehende – Elemente des Live-Art-Programms, sowie permanent stattfindende Screenings, Konzerte und Installationen innerhalb einer Raumhülle, die für sich selbst spricht.

Es liegt etwas Maschinelles in der Paradoxie zwischen der konstruktionsbetonten Aluminiumfassade des ICC, seiner äußerlich geschlossenen Bautypologie, und seiner im Inneren offenen Raumsegmente. Die Foyers kommunizieren allesamt über Blickachsen und Schallbahnen und auch die wenigen abschließbaren Räume sind während der Veranstaltung durch zahlreiche Türen zueinander hin geöffnet. Die Herausforderung, der sich „The Sun Machine is Coming Down“ stellt, bezieht sich nicht nur auf die Dezentralisierung des Kunstparcours von 1000 Personen auf 28.000 m², sondern erfordert zudem ein transmediales Programmieren der akustisch und visuell ineinander übergreifenden Positionen. So entsteht ein Kunstformat, in dem der Raum selbst die lauteste Stimme hat und in dem die Reibung keinen Verlust, sondern die Verheißung des Experimentellen birgt, wenn wir vereinzelt und behutsam Künstler*innen dorthin einladen, die spielen und erhellen, sodass der Schlaf des ICC zum Traum von einer anderen Welt wird, der sich nicht erwecken lässt.

Zum permanenten Programm zählen das im Loop gezeigte Screeningprogramm der Julia Stoschek Collection im größten Saal 1: Die zwischen 1978 und 2018 entstandenen Arbeiten befragen Verhältnisse des Menschen zum eigenen Körper und dessen Position in sozialen Gefügen. Ob als hyperrealer Avatar bei Ed Atkins oder als Tänzer*in in den Straßen Guangzhous bei Cao Fei, die Akteur*innen der ausgewählten Videoarbeiten eint der Glaube an die Widerstandskraft, die sich in einfachen poetischen Gesten verbirgt. Ebenfalls täglich bespielt ist Kinosaal 3, dessen Kunstfilmprogramm anlässlich des Jubiläums einen Einblick in 70 Jahre Festspielgeschichte gibt.

Aus ca. 1000 Stunden Filmmaterial aus öffentlichen und privaten Archiven restaurierten Thilo Fischer und David von der Stein über fünf Stunden in Bild und Ton und montierten drei Videoarbeiten, die Nachrichten, Diskurs und Kunst zusammenbringen. Außerdem kuratiert Thilo Fischer ein Kinoprogramm mit Aufzeichnungen von außergewöhnlichen Konzerten, Aufführungen, Aktionen, Reportagen und Gesprächen in voller Länge. Ebenso nahezu durchgängig programmiert ist Saal 2, in dem Musikkurator Martin Hossbach mit internationalen und Berliner Musiker*innen – darunter Alexis Taylor, Nazanin Noori, The White Screen, Rosaceae und Tegel Media – in einem erweiterten Musikprogramm aus Konzerten und Lecture Performances die Vereinbarkeit von Architektur und Klang im ICC erprobt.

Zeitbasiert und dennoch permanent zu erleben sind bildkünstlerische und akustische Installationen im Unteren Foyer: Dort füllt Markus Selg zehn Glasvitrinen mit Szenerien zukünftiger und archaischer Realitäten, die in Lichtchoreographien und Klangwelten der Soundinstallationen von Richard Janssen in den großen Raum hineinfließen. Mit der Erprobung biodiverser Formen des Zusammenlebens ist die seit 2018 aktive, selbstorganisierte Gruppe Floating University Berlin diskursprägend. Sie verlagert ihre Gesprächs- und Ideenkultur mit verschiedenen Talk-Formaten ins obere Foyer des ICC, während die vom Studio Tomás Saraceno initiierten Spider Walks den Blick für das an den Rand gedrängte Leben öffnen. Hier klingt die Verbindung von vorhandenem Wissen mit neuen Bedürfnissen an – ein Schwerpunkt, den auch die Künstlerin Joulia Strauss mit Skulpturen, Installationen und diskursiven Séancen auf das Weiterdenken der Medientheorie ihres berühmten Lehrers Friedrich Kittler setzt, wenn sie gemeinsam mit weiteren Weggefährt*innen zu Ehren seines zehnten Todestages in Saal 6 täglich terminierte Séancen als Seelenreisen zu Friedrich Kittler mediiert.

Künstliche und menschliche Intelligenzen verbinden sich in Monira Al Qadiris und Raed Yassins permanent zugänglicher Installation im Mittelfoyer mit drei kinetischen Büsten, deren AI-Stimmen von bizarren Erlebnissen und Träumen der Künstler*innen während der Corona-Pandemie berichten. Die Grenze zwischen Groteskem und Zauberhaftem zelebriert auf der anderen Seite des Oberen Foyers auch Ayaka Nakama in der botanischen Welt ihres vierstündigen Solos „Freeway Dance“, in der ihre bei Freunden und Familie gesammelten, frühesten Erinnerungen an tänzerische Erlebnisse zur Verkörperung des Tanzes selbst werden.

Einen weiteren Schwerpunkt unseres Coronaexorzismus bilden die Künste aus dem Bereich des Tanzes und des Circus, letztere kuratiert von Wolfgang Hoffmann. Performances im Wasserzylinder und Chi Gong auf dem Vorplatz des ICC im Verkehrsknotenpunkt Messedamm; repetitive Zirkusübungen und tanzendes Polystyrol auf dem denkmalgeschützten 70er Jahre Teppich in der nach hinten abgesetzten ICC Lounge des Foyers; Balancieren an einem Bogengerüst unter der maschinell beweglichen, tonnenschweren Tribühnenanlage des Saal 2: Chloé Moglia, Jörg Müller, Darragh McLoughlin und Andrea Salustri sowie auch Alexander Vantournhout, Grace Ellen Barkey und Tino Sehgal deuten durch Gegengesten die Räumlichkeit um.

In ihren körperpoetischen und zirzensischen Narrativen wird das Vermögen sichtbar, Räume durch Bewegung als Polytopien zu aktivieren. Der Raum ist die Grundbedingung dieser Narrative, weil er diejenige Welt markiert und definiert, von der sich die künstlerischen Parallelwelten als Alternative wortwörtlich wegbewegen. Dabei spielen sie mit Zuständen, die immerzu vom Scheitern bedroht sind – das Fliegen, der Traum, die Leere, die Verwandlung, die Täuschung, die Transposition.

David Bowie zelebrierte die Kunst der Verwandlung. Er lebte in Berlin, als das ICC gebaut wurde. Zum Zeitpunkt der Eröffnung 1979 lagen seine verheißungsvollen Zeilen „The Sun Machine is coming down. And we’re gonna have a party“ bereits zehn Jahre zurück. Sie bündelten 1969 in den letzten vier Minuten seines Songs „Memory of a Free Festival“ fast mantraartig den Geist einer heute, nach 20 Monaten Pandemie, weit in die Ferne gerückten Zeit von körperlicher Nähe und ausschweifenden Festen.

Dear Disco, we will wait for you.

Mit Arbeiten von Monira Al Qadiri & Raed Yassin, Arachnophilia & Studio Tomás Saraceno, Ed Atkins, Grace Ellen Barkey / Needcompany, Dara Birnbaum, Rainer Werner Fassbinder, Cao Fei, Floating University Berlin, Cyprien Gaillard, Barbara Hammer, Arthur Jafa, Richard Janssen, Ilya Khrzhanovsky & Ilya Permiakov, Scott King, John Carroll Kirby, Lawrence, Gordon Matta-Clark, Darragh McLoughlin, Chloé Moglia, Jörg Müller, Ayaka Nakama, Nalan, Nazanin Noori, Ulrike Ottinger, Khien Phuc, James Richards & Leslie Thornton, Rosaceae & Natascha P., Rachel Rose, Andrea Salustri, Tino Sehgal, Markus Selg, Joulia Strauss, Alexis Taylor, Tegel Media, Unguarded, Alexander Vantournhout / not standing, WangShui, The White Screen u. v. a.

„We scanned the skies with rainbow eyes and saw machines of every shape and size ...“
David Bowie, Memory of a Free Festival

Ein Projekt der Berliner Festspiele gemeinsam mit der Programmreihe Immersion.

Initiiert von Thomas Oberender
Programmleitung Anja Predeick
Kuratorisches Team Thilo Fischer, Wolfgang Hoffmann, Martin Hossbach, Thomas Oberender, Julia Stoschek Foundation, Jeroen Versteele
Kuratorische Assistenz Teresa Minn
Produktionsleitung Albrecht Grüß, Tilman Hatje, Undine Klose
Technische Leitung Matthias Schäfer
Technische Produktionsleitung Maria Kusche
Administration Marc Pohl
Programmassistenz Irena Osadtsaja
Redaktion Vanessa Schaefer
Studentische Mitarbeit Merve Cowling
Praktikum Lea Wolf

Förderer und Projektpartner

Logo Inga Maren Otto     Julia Stoschek Foundation

Partner

Logo Arte     Logo Arts of the Working Class     Logo Cee Cee     Logo Dussmann     Exberliner    

Monopol – Magazin für Kunst und Leben     Logo Radio Eins     Logo Wall AG     Yorck Kinogruppe

Presse

Pressekontakt

BUREAU N
Katharina Neumann, Malte Bündgen
Naunynstraße 38
10999 Berlin
Tel +49 30 6273 6104

Presse

Pressematerial

Pressemeldungen
Pressebilder