Introduction: Crash

“I want to get across a sense of walking through time, through different periods. My works are a kind of journey to another place, another time. We travel, but the stories are in the landscape and you can see that it’s always the same place. It’s like a diorama: there is a journey, but it is always the same view. The same site.” — Lee Bul

Lee Bul is one of the most important Korean artists of her generation, having received significant international recognition for her formally inventive and intellectually provocative work. From 29 September 2018 to 13 January 2019, the Gropius Bau presents Crash, her first solo exhibition in Germany and an expression of Lee Bul’s extensive exploration of the nature of bodies and how they define our experience of the world by evoking sensations of their boundaries and borders. The exhibition is organised around the thematic focal points of her work; each section is arranged chronologically to lead the visitor through a developmental trajectory of her work. Crash presents documentation from the artist’s early performances, sculptural works from series such as Monster and Cyborg, key pieces from utopia-inspired sculptures, recent immersive installations, drawings and paintings as well as Lee Bul’s latest artwork Scale of Tongue.

Lee Bul, "Untitled (Willing To Be Vulne-rable – Velvet #6 DDRG24OC)", 2017

Lee Bul, "Untitled (Willing To Be Vulne-rable – Velvet #6 DDRG24OC)", 2017

Photo courtesy: Studio Lee Bul

The Gropius Bau: Location and Inspiration

The Gropius Bau serves not only as the location but also as a point of inspiration for the exhibition Crash. In the post-war era, the Berlin Wall was erected directly alongside the north facade of the building, situating the Gropius Bau in the vicinity of the border crossing and in the midst of political conflict. Embedded in the history of the building, the exhibition Crash highlights not only how Korea’s division and period of dictatorship impacted upon Lee Bul’s work, but also how emotional topographies are reflected in utopian architectural visions.

Many of Lee Bul’s works subtly allude to Korean history and politics. Her point of view is both deeply personal and outwardly oriented at the same time. Lee Bul seeks to give voice to the oppression, the physical pain, the numbness and the vulnerability that shaped the eras that she personally experienced. The exhibition also uncovers parallels between German and Korean history. From a historical point of view, both countries share similarities, in particular with regard to their division, the national trauma related to this, as well as the question of reunification.

Lee Bul, "Cravings", 1989

Lee Bul, "Cravings", 1989. Performance, Jang Heung, Korea

Performance, Jang Heung, Korea

Photo courtesy: Studio Lee Bul

Lee Bul’s Artistic Career

Born in South Korea in 1964, Lee Bul grew up as the daughter of two activists in a politically charged environment, amid turbulent social changes. South Korea in the 1980s and 1990s was a period of transition from military dictatorship to democracy, and of development in modernisation and economic strength. After graduating in sculpture from Hongik University, Seoul in 1987, Lee Bul shifted her artistic practice from the studio to public space performances. With these works, she called into question the perception of “female” beauty and crucially the role of women in society. For example, in Cravings (1989), she went against the typical artistic convention by donning a monstrous form made from soft fabric, that featured tentacle-like limbs. During the performance Abortion (1989), she hung naked and upside down for nearly two hours, tied to a corset, alluding to the suffering associated with having an abortion, which is still illegal in Korea.

When Lee Bul started her widely known series Cyborg (1997–2011) in the mid-1990s, she turned almost entirely away from performance to explore three-dimensional sculptural works and the pursuit of perfection by fusing humans and machines. The poses portrayed by these female cyborgs recall iconic, classical sculptures such as the Venus of Milo, while their buxom proportions are typical of depictions of Western women in sexually-charged Japanese comics and cartoons. Every figure in this series is, however, in some way incomplete. Their missing heads or limbs suggest that the notion of the “perfect” figure is still undergoing transformation. In Lee Bul’s later work, the cyborgs take on darker and more complex manifestations with references to surrealist archetypes. The artist calls these extravagant hybrids, both living organism and machine, “anagrammatic morphologies”. Her paintings and wall-mounted works made of silk, leather and mother of pearl such as Untitled (Silk Painting – Yellow), Untitled (Silk Painting – Black), Untitled (Mekamelencolia – Yellow Velvet # 1) and Untitled (Willing To Be Vulnerable – Velvet # 6 DDRG24OC) are shown in this exhibition for the first time and attest to the artist’s profound and long-standing interest in experimenting with organic materials.

Lee Bul’s examination of bodies led her to explore models of utopian urban landscapes. In 2005 she began creating models inspired by modernist architectural designs. These complex sculptures and accompanying works on paper and canvas form an imaginative topography of utopian aspiration and failure. The topographies seem to expose the inner workings of her earlier works and become a metaphor for the networked, subterranean root-like systems of our cities, and furthermore for societies and their utopian ideas. Lee Bul’s visions of an ideal society are inspired, among other things, by the architectural fantasies of German architect Bruno Taut, particularly by his Alpinen Architektur (1919), in which buildings recall enormous mountain ranges. It is Lee Bul’s interest in how perfection is pursued that links these visionary landscapes to her earlier work.

Lee Bul, "Civitas Solis II", 2014

Lee Bul, "Civitas Solis II", 2014. Exhibition view “MMCA Hyundai Motor Series 2014: Lee Bul”, National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Korea, 2014-2015

Exhibition view “MMCA Hyundai Motor Series 2014: Lee Bul”, National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Korea, 2014-2015

© Lee Bul, photo: Jeon Byung-cheol, photo courtesy: National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Korea

Lee Bul’s later works allude to various cultural and intellectual references, from critical theory to the dystopian dream worlds of speculative fiction and films. During the development of her oeuvre, Lee Bul’s work evolved from large-format compositions such as Mon grand récit: Weep into stones ... (2005), where she collides together two divergent utopian architectural visions, into immersive installations that alter our perception in particular through the use of mirrors. Her expansive landscapes can be described as mediators between architecture and the body, and assume a variety of forms and configurations: utopian urban landscapes and cartographies; textures and surface structures such as human skin; or forms bristling with the incessant search for an ideal place. Bunker (M. Bakhtin) (2007/2012), a black, rocky mountain with a cavernous interior that can be accessed through a large crevice, transports us into a disorienting soundscape, whereas the labyrinthine works Via Negativa (2012) and Via Negativa II (2014) interrupt and disturb our sense of space with highly reflective surfaces. The drawings presented in the exhibition provide insight into Lee Bul’s creative thought process, revealing the evolution of her three-dimensional works and how various themes flow intertwined across her entire body of work. Willing To Be Vulnerable – Metalized Balloon (2015-16) is a 17-meter-long sculpture evoking the Hindenburg Zeppelin and referencing its disaster in 1937. The work is both ambitious and optimistic, reflecting technical failure, fragmentation and destruction, and crucially the underlying tensions that are inherent to all attempts at utopian idealism. Lee Bul’s latest work, Scale of Tongue, was originally conceived as a form of portable architecture and recalls a boat’s hull, an improvised shelter, or a mountainous landscape, and subtly alludes to the Sewol ferry accident on 16 April 2014. The MV Sewol incident serves as an internal point of reference, only becoming evident at the sight of the boat, which slowly disintegrates into abstract forms and merges with the formations of the surrounding landscape.

Einführung: Crash

„Ich möchte das Gefühl vermitteln, man bewege sich durch die Zeit, durch verschiedene Epochen. Meine Arbeiten sind wie Reisen an einen anderen Ort, in eine andere Zeit. Wir reisen, aber die Landschaft trägt Geschichten in sich und man kann sehen, dass es sich immer um denselben Ort handelt. Es ist wie bei einem Diorama: Man macht eine Reise, aber es ist immer dieselbe Aussicht, derselbe Ort.“ — Lee Bul

Lee Bul, eine der bedeutendsten koreanischen Künstler*innen ihrer Generation, hat für ihr formal erfinderisches und intellektuell provokantes Werk große internationale Anerkennung erfahren. Vom 29. September 2018 bis 13. Januar 2019 zeigt der Gropius Bau mit Crash ihre erste Einzelausstellung in Deutschland, eine umfangreiche Auseinandersetzung mit der Beschaffenheit von Körpern und wie diese unsere Erfahrung der Welt definieren und Gefühle von Grenzerfahrungen hervorrufen können. Die Ausstellung gliedert sich entlang der thematischen Schwerpunkte ihres Werks, wobei die chronologische Anordnung innerhalb der einzelnen Sektionen es ermöglicht, die Entwicklung ihres Schaffens nachzuvollziehen. Der Werkschau zeigt Dokumentationen von frühen Performances, skulpturale Arbeiten aus Serien wie Monster und Cyborg, zentrale Werke ihrer utopisch inspirierten Skulpturen, neuere immersive Installationen, Zeichnungen und Gemälde sowie ihre neueste Arbeit Scale of Tongue.

Lee Bul, "Untitled (Willing To Be Vulne-rable – Velvet #6 DDRG24OC)", 2017

Lee Bul, "Untitled (Willing To Be Vulne-rable – Velvet #6 DDRG24OC)", 2017

Foto Courtesy: Studio Lee Bul

Der Gropius Bau: Ort und Inspiration

Der Gropius Bau ist nicht nur Ort, sondern auch Inspiration für die Ausstellung Crash. In der Nachkriegszeit wurde die Berliner Mauer direkt entlang der Nordseite des Gebäudes errichtet, sodass der Gropius Bau in unmittelbarer Nähe zum Grenzübergang und inmitten politischer Brennpunkte lag. Eingebettet in die Geschichte des Gebäudes, beleuchtet die Ausstellung Crash nicht nur den Einfluss, den die Teilung Koreas und die Zeit der Diktatur auf Lee Buls Schaffen hatten, sondern auch, wie emotionale Topografien in utopischen architektonischen Visionen widergespiegelt werden.

Viele Arbeiten von Lee Bul enthalten subtile Anspielungen auf die Geschichte und Politik Koreas. Ihr Standpunkt ist dabei zutiefst persönlich und zugleich nach außen gerichtet. Lee Bul möchte die Unterdrückung, den körperlichen Schmerz, die Taubheit und Verletzlichkeit zum Ausdruck bringen, welche die Zeiten geprägt haben, die sie selbst erlebt hat. Die Ausstellung macht auch die Parallelen der deutschen und der koreanischen Geschichte sichtbar. Von einem historischen Blickpunkt aus betrachtet, teilen beide Länder Gemeinsamkeiten, insbesondere hinsichtlich ihrer Teilung, des damit einhergehenden nationalen Traumas sowie der Frage nach einer Wiedervereinigung.

Lee Bul, "Cravings", 1989

Lee Bul, "Cravings", 1989. Performance, Jang Heung, Korea

Performance, Jang Heung, Korea

Foto Courtesy: Studio Lee Bul

Lee Buls künstlerischer Werdegang

Lee Bul, 1964 in Südkorea geboren, wuchs als Tochter zweier Aktivisten in einem politisch engagierten Umfeld inmitten turbulenter gesellschaftlicher Veränderungen auf. Die 1980er und 1990er Jahre in Südkorea waren eine Phase des Übergangs von der Militärdiktatur zur Demokratie und der Entwicklung in Bezug auf Modernisierung und wirtschaftliche Stärke. Nach ihrem Abschluss im Fach Bildhauerei an der Hongik Universität, Seoul, im Jahr 1987 verlagerte Lee Bul ihre künstlerische Praxis mit Performances aus dem Studio in den öffentlichen Raum. Mit diesen Arbeiten hinterfragte sie das Verständnis „weiblicher“ Schönheit sowie die Rolle der Frau in der Gesellschaft. Sie widersetzte sich den gängigen künstlerischen Konventionen, indem sie etwa bei Cravings (1989) monströse Formen aus weichem Stoff trug, aus denen tentakelartige Gliedmaßen herauswuchsen. Während der Performance Abortion (1989) hing sie fast zwei Stunden nackt und kopfüber, in ein Korsett eingeschnürt, und verwies auf das Elend der Durchführung einer – in Korea nach wie vor illegalen – Abtreibung.

Als Lee Bul Mitte der 1990er Jahre mit ihrer bekannten Serie Cyborg (1997–2011) begann, wandte sie sich weitgehend von Performance-Arbeiten ab und erforschte mittels dreidimensionaler skulpturaler Arbeiten das Streben nach Perfektion durch die Verschmelzung von Mensch und Maschine. Die Posen der weiblichen Cyborgs erinnern an ikonische klassische Skulpturen wie die Venus von Milo, während ihre üppigen Proportionen typisch für die Darstellung westlicher Frauen in sexuell aufgeladenen japanischen Comics und Zeichentrickfilmen sind. Jeder Körper in dieser Serie ist jedoch in gewisser Weise unvollständig. Die fehlenden Köpfe oder Gliedmaßen deuten darauf hin, dass diese „perfekten“ Figuren noch in der Transformation begriffen sind. In Lee Buls späteren Arbeiten nimmt der Cyborg dunklere und komplexere Ausformungen an und verweist auf surrealistische Vorbilder. Diese extravaganten Hybriden aus lebendem Organismus und Maschine werden von Lee Bul als „anagrammatische Morphologien“ bezeichnet. Ihre Gemälde und Wandarbeiten aus Seide, Leder und Perlmutt wie Untitled (Silk Painting – Yellow), Untitled (Silk Painting – Black), Untitled (Mekamelencolia – Yellow velvet #1) und Untitled (Willing To Be Vulnerable – Velvet #6 DDRG24OC) werden erstmals in dieser Ausstellung gezeigt und zeugen von ihrem tiefen und langjährigen Interesse am Experimentieren mit organischen Materialien.

Lee Buls Auseinandersetzung mit Körpern führte unmittelbar zu ihrer Erforschung von Modellen utopischer Stadtlandschaften. 2005 begann sie Modelle zu entwerfen, die von modernistischen architektonischen Entwürfen inspiriert sind. Diese komplexen Skulpturen und verwandte Arbeiten auf Papier und Leinwand bilden eine fantasievolle Topographie utopischer Sehnsüchte und Misserfolge. Diese Topographien erscheinen wie ein Nach-außen-Stülpen früherer Arbeiten und werden zu einer Metapher für das vernetzte unterirdische Wurzelsystem unserer Städte, aber auch für Gesellschaften mit ihren utopischen Ideen. Lee Buls Visionen für eine ideale Gesellschaft sind unter anderem von den architektonischen Fantasien des deutschen Architekten Bruno Taut inspiriert, nicht zuletzt von seiner Alpinen Architektur (1919), in der Gebäude an riesige Bergketten erinnern. Es ist Lee Buls Interesse am Streben nach Perfektion, das diese visionären Landschaften mit ihren früheren Arbeiten verbindet.

Lee Bul, "Civitas Solis II", 2014

Lee Bul, "Civitas Solis II", 2014. Ausstellungsansicht “MMCA Hyundai Motor Series 2014: Lee Bul”, National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Korea, 2014-2015

Ausstellungsansicht “MMCA Hyundai Motor Series 2014: Lee Bul”, National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Korea, 2014-2015

© Lee Bul, Foto: Jeon Byung-cheol, Foto Courtesy: National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Korea

Lee Buls spätere Arbeiten verweisen auf vielfältige kulturelle und intellektuelle Referenzen, von der Kritischen Theorie bis hin zu den dystopischen Traumwelten spekulativer Romane und Filme. Ihr Werk entwickelt sich von großformatigen Kompositionen wie Mon grand récit: Weep into stones … (2005), wo sie verschiedene utopische architektonische Visionen kollidieren lässt, hin zu immersiven Installationen, die unsere Wahrnehmung insbesondere durch den Einsatz von Spiegeln verändern. Ihre raumgreifenden Landschaften lassen sich als Mittler zwischen Architektur und Körper beschreiben und können vielfältige Formationen annehmen: utopische Stadtlandschaften und Kartografien; Texturen und Oberflächenstrukturen wie die unserer Haut; Verkörperungen der unablässigen Suche nach einem idealen Ort. Bunker (M. Bakhtin) (2007/2012), ein schwarzer felsiger Berg mit einem höhlenartigen Inneren, das durch eine große Spalte betreten werden kann, versetzt uns in eine verwirrende Geräuschkulisse, während die labyrinthischen Arbeiten Via Negativa (2012) und Via Negativa II (2014) unser Raumgefühl durch stark reflektierende Oberflächen unterbrechen und verstören. Die in der Ausstellung zu sehenden Zeichnungen geben Einblick in Lee Buls künstlerische Praxis und beleuchten die Entwicklung ihrer dreidimensionalen Arbeiten sowie das Ineinanderfließen der verschiedenen Stränge ihres Werks. Willing To Be Vulnerable – Metalized Balloon (2015–16) ist eine 17 Meter lange Skulptur, die an den Zeppelin Hindenburg erinnert und auf dessen Absturz im Jahr 1937 Bezug nimmt. Die Arbeit ist gleichermaßen ehrgeizig wie optimistisch und spiegelt technisches Versagen, Zertrümmerung und Zerstörung aber auch die Anspannung, die allen Versuchen des utopischen Idealismus zugrunde liegt. Lee Buls neueste Arbeit Scale of Tongue war ursprünglich als transportable Architektur gedacht und erinnert an den Rumpf eines Bootes, eine improvisierte Unterkunft oder eine bergige Landschaft, die subtil auf das Fährunglück der „Sewol“ vom 16. April 2014 verweist. Die Anspielung auf die „Sewol“ fungiert als unsichtbare Struktur, die die Arbeit von innen heraus zusammenhält. Deutlich wird sie nur beim Anblick des Bootes, wie es sich langsam in abstrakte Formen auflöst und eins wird mit der Formation der umgebenden Landschaft.