2019

Garden of Earthly Delights

26 July to 1 December 2019

The exhibition Garden of Earthly Delights sees over 20 international artists using the space of the garden as a metaphor for the state of the world, in an exploration of the complexities of our chaotic and increasingly precarious present.
More about the exhibition

Pipilotti Rist, “Homo sapiens sapiens”, 2005

Wu Tsang
There is no nonviolent way to look at somebody

4 September 2019 to 12 January 2020

Wu Tsang’s solo exhibition There is no nonviolent way to look at somebody presents films in dialogue with her sculptural practice, working with the interaction of glass, light and text, and including a new stained glass commission conceived for the Gropius Bau.
More about the exhibition

Walking Through Walls

12 September 2019 to 19 January 2020

Walking Through Walls marks the 30th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall, one of the most symbolic events of the 20th century, interrogating the experience of vulnerability and anxiety caused by power structures that thrive on confinement and segregation.
More about the exhibition

Jose Dávila, "Untitled (Allure)", 2014
Past Exhibitions

Bani Abidi
They Died Laughing

6 June to 22 September 2019

Bani Abidi is known for her distinctive approach to filmmaking, which derives from the dark absurdities of everyday life. The exhibition They Died Laughing is an extensive presentation of Abidi’s works, bringing together moving image and print-based works that span two decades.
More about the exhibition

Bani Abidi, “Karachi Series I”, 2009

The Black Image Corporation
Theaster Gates

25 April to 28 July 2019

With The Black Image Corporation, Theaster Gates has conceived a participatory exhibition which explores the fundamental legacy of Johnson Publishing Company archives. Featuring more than four million images, they have contributed to shape the aesthetic and cultural languages of African American identity.
More about the exhibition

Moneta Sleet Jr., 1965

Ladies on Paper
Recent Works by Vaginal Davis

12 June to 21 July 2019

Ladies on Paper. Recent Works by Vaginal Davis is the first institutional presentation of Vaginal Davis’ paintings in Berlin. Over a period of six weeks, six different recent portraits will be shown successively in single hangings. Taken from a series of works created over the last two years, the paintings depict six different public figures from the worlds of art, film and literature.
More about the exhibition

Vaginal Davis, Julian Eltinge, The Countess Charming, 2018 (Detail)

Museum in My Head
Artist Books – Walther König Bookshop

22 March to 16 June 2019

The artist book as an art object in and of itself: Under the title of Museum in My Head, the Walther König Bookshop has curated an exhibition of artist books which focus on collecting and archiving a the Gropius Bau.
More about the exhibition

Museum in My Head. Artist books – Walter König Bookshop

And Berlin Will Always Need You
Art, Craft and Concept Made in Berlin

22 March to 16 June 2019

The group show And Berlin Will Always Need You explores the concept of crafts and handmade processes in Berlin’s contemporary art scene, taking its history as a former museum for decorative arts and educational institution as a starting point.
More about the exhibition

Nevin Aladağ, “Paravent, Social Fabric #1”, 2012

Lee Bul: Crash

29 September 2018 to 13 January 2019

Lee Bul is one of the most important Korean artists of her generation, having received significant international recognition for her formally inventive and intellectually provocative work. From 29 September 2018 to 13 January 2019, the Gropius Bau presents Crash, her first solo exhibition in Germany. This comprehensive survey is the first exhibition Stephanie Rosenthal has curated as the new director of the Gropius Bau.
Werkschau ist die erste von Stephanie Rosenthal kuratierte Ausstellung als neue Direktorin des Gropius Bau.
More about the exhibition

Lee Bul, „Willing To Be Vulnerable“, 2015–2016, Exhibition view “Crashing” Hayward Gallery, 2018

Lee Bul, „Willing To Be Vulnerable“, 2015–2016, Exhibition view “Crashing” Hayward Gallery, 2018

Photo: Maxie Fischer, photo courtesy: Gropius Bau

Gurlitt: Status Report
An Art Dealer in Nazi Germany

14 September 2018 to 7 January 2019

News that the Bavarian Public Prosecutor’s office had seized the art collection of Cornelius Gurlitt (1932–2014), caused a national and international sensation when it was made public in November 2013. Spanning a wide range of eras and styles – from Dürer to Monet and from Cranach to Kirchner and Rodin – the exhibition presents works that have been hidden from public view for decades and provides an insight into the current state of the investigation of the Gurlitt trove.
More about the exhibition

Auguste Rodin (1840–1917), Crouching Woman, ca. 1882

Auguste Rodin (1840–1917), Crouching Woman, ca. 1882. Marble, www.lostart.de/521802

Kunstmuseum Bern, Legat Cornelius Gurlitt 2014, Photo: Albrecht Fuchs © Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland GmbH

Restless Times
Archaeology in Germany

21 September 2018 to 6 January 2019

Through spectacular new archaeological finds, and fresh perspectives on old ones, the exhibition reveals an unparalleled network of cultural interaction existing in Europe from earliest times to the recent past. Mobility, conflict, exchange and innovation – their origins, effects and interconnections – have always shaped coexistence in Europe.
More about the exhibition

Himmelscheibe

Himmelscheibe. Oldest European representation of the night sky, found in 1999 by illegal amateur treasure hunters at Mittelberg, Sachsen-Anhalt

© Landesamt für Denkmalpflege und Archäologie Sachsen-Anhalt, photo: Juraj Lipták

2019

Bani Abidi
They Died Laughing

6. Juni bis 22. September 2019

Bani Abidi ist bekannt für ihre unverwechselbare Filmästhetik, die von subtilem Humor und den dunklen Absurditäten des Alltags geprägt ist. Die Ausstellung They Died Laughing ist eine umfangreiche Präsentation der Arbeiten Abidis und zeigt ihre Filme und Drucke aus zwanzig Jahren.
Mehr zur Ausstellung

Bani Abidi, „Karachi Series I“, 2009

Garten der irdischen Freuden

26. Juli bis 1. Dezember 2019

In der Ausstellung Garten der irdischen Freuden interpretieren über 20 internationale Künstler*innen das Motiv des Gartens als eine Metapher für den Zustand der Welt, um die komplexen Zusammenhänge unserer chaotischen und zunehmend prekären Gegenwart zu erforschen.
Mehr zur Ausstellung

Pipilotti Rist, „Homo sapiens sapiens“, 2005

Wu Tsang
There is no nonviolent way to look at somebody

4. September 2019 bis 12. Januar 2020

In der Einzelausstellung There is no nonviolent way to look at somebody werden Wu Tsangs Filme in einen Dialog mit ihrer skulpturalen Praxis gesetzt, die auf dem Zusammenspiel von Glas, Licht und Text aufbaut und eine speziell für den Gropius Bau konzipierte Farbglasarbeit umfasst.
Mehr zur Ausstellung

Durch Mauern gehen

12. September 2019 bis 19. Januar 2020

Zum 30. Jahrestag des Falls der Berliner Mauer untersucht die Gruppenausstellung Durch Mauern gehen auf Teilung und Spaltung basierende Machtstrukturen und richtet den Blick auf die damit verknüpften Erfahrungen und Auswirkungen auf individueller und kollektiver Ebene.
Mehr zur Ausstellung

Jose Dávila, „Untitled (Allure)“, 2014
Vergangene Ausstellungen

The Black Image Corporation
Theaster Gates

25. April bis 28. Juli 2019

Mit The Black Image Corporation hat Theaster Gates eine partizipative Fotoausstellung entworfen, die das weitreichende Erbe der Archive der Johnson Publishing Company erforscht – einem Verlag, der zur Gestaltung der ästhetischen und kulturellen Sprache afroamerikanischer Identität beigetragen hat.
Mehr zur Ausstellung

Moneta Sleet Jr., 1965

Ladies on Paper
Recent Works by Vaginal Davis

12. Juni bis 21. Juli 2019

Mit Ladies on Paper. Recent Works by Vaginal Davis werden erstmalig in Berlin ausgewählte Arbeiten aus Serien von Vaginal Davis gezeigt, die in den letzten beiden Jahren entstanden sind. In einer wechselnden, wöchentlichen Hängung sind sechs unterschiedliche Einzelporträts von Persönlichkeiten aus Kunst, Film und Literatur zu sehen.
Mehr zur Ausstellung

Vaginal Davis, Julian Eltinge, The Countess Charming, 2018 (Detail)

Museum im Kopf
Künstler*innenbücher - Buchhandlung Walther König

22. März bis 23. Juni 2019

Das Künstler*innenbuch als eigenständiges Kunstobjekt: Unter dem Titel Museum im Kopf hat die Buchhandlung Walther König im Gropius Bau eine Ausstellung von Künstler*innenbüchern kuratiert, die das Sammeln und Archivieren thematisieren.
Mehr zur Ausstellung

Museum im Kopf. Künstler*innenbücher – Buchhandlung Walter König

And Berlin Will Always Need You
Kunst, Handwerk und Konzept Made in Berlin

22. März bis 16. Juni 2019

Die Gruppenausstellung And Berlin will Always Need You erkundet die Bedeutung manueller Arbeitsprozesse und das Konzept von Handwerk in der zeitgenössischen Kunstszene Berlins. Ausgangspunkt ist die Geschichte des Gropius Bau, der einst als Kunstgewerbemuseum und Lehrinstitution diente.
Mehr zur Ausstellung

Nevin Aladağ, „Paravent, Social Fabric #1“, 2012

Lee Bul: Crash

29. September 2018 bis 13. Januar 2019

Lee Bul, eine der bedeutendsten koreanischen Künstler*innen ihrer Generation, hat für ihr formal erfinderisches und intellektuell provokantes Werk große internationale Anerkennung erfahren. Vom 29. September 2018 bis 13. Januar 2019 zeigt der Gropius Bau mit Crash ihre erste Einzelausstellung in Deutschland. Die umfassende Werkschau ist die erste von Stephanie Rosenthal kuratierte Ausstellung als neue Direktorin des Gropius Bau.
Mehr zur Ausstellung

Lee Bul, „Willing To Be Vulnerable“, 2015–2016, Ausstellungsansicht „Crashing” Hayward Gallery, 2018

Lee Bul, „Willing To Be Vulnerable“, 2015–2016, Ausstellungsansicht „Crashing” Hayward Gallery, 2018

Foto: Maxie Fischer, Foto Courtesy: Gropius Bau

Bestandsaufnahme Gurlitt
Ein Kunsthändler im Nationalsozialismus

14. September 2018 bis 7. Januar 2019

Als im November 2013 bekannt wurde, dass die bayerische Staatsanwaltschaft die Kunstbestände von Cornelius Gurlitt (1932–2014) beschlagnahmt hatte, war das öffentliche Aufsehen im In- und Ausland groß. Mit einem breiten Spektrum von Kunstepochen und Stilen, das von Dürer bis Monet und von Cranach bis Kirchner und Rodin reicht, zeigt die Ausstellung Kunstwerke, die jahrzehntelang als verschollen galten, und spiegelt den aktuellen Forschungsstand zum Kunstfund Gurlitt.
Mehr zur Ausstellung

Auguste Rodin (1840–1917), Kauernde, ca. 1882

Auguste Rodin (1840–1917), Kauernde, ca. 1882. Marmor, www.lostart.de/521802

Kunstmuseum Bern, Legat Cornelius Gurlitt 2014, Foto: Albrecht Fuchs © Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland GmbH

Bewegte Zeiten
Archäologie in Deutschland

21. September 2018 bis 6. Januar 2019

Mit spektakulären archäologischen Neufunden und neuen Perspektiven auf Altfunde zeigt die Ausstellung ein einzigartiges Netzwerk kultureller Interaktion in Europa seit frühester Zeit bis in die jüngere Vergangenheit. Mobilität, Konflikt, Austausch und Innovation – ihre Ursache, Wirkung und Wechselwirkung – prägen seit jeher das Zusammenleben in Europa.
Mehr zur Ausstellung

Himmelscheibe

Himmelscheibe. Älteste Himmelsdarstellung Europas, gefunden 1999 von Raubgräbern am Mittelberg, Sachsen-Anhalt

© Landesamt für Denkmalpflege und Archäologie Sachsen-Anhalt, Foto: Juraj Lipták