Film still from “Ten Years”

Film still from “Ten Years”

Sundays for Hong Kong

Films from and about Hong Kong at the Cinema at Gropius Bau with free admission.

“Sundays for Hong Kong” is a cinematic action. It unfolds some of the multiple layered backgrounds in the culture, history and reality of the former British Crown colony, through the screening of emblematic documentaries and feature films by exceptional Hong Kong film-makers and producers.

The massive protest movement on Hong Kong’s streets has lasted for an entire summer. The movement appears to be persistent, it stirs and produces enduring images. The future, however, remains unclear. The movement itself and the predicament that it finds itself are food for thought. Why Hong Kong? What has made the situation in which Hong Kong finds itself so unique? What does the predicament in Hong Kong tell the rest of the world? What are similarities and differences with regards to freedom struggles in other parts in the world?

Parallel to the screenings here in Berlin, the history of Hong Kong is being re-written. What will Hong Kong’s future be like? This film series is an opportunity to learn about the city, its dynamics and its inhabitants, and to understand why Hong Kong is a portent of many of the challenges contemporary democracies are facing today.

Sunday, 8 December 2019

Sunday, 15 December 2019

Past Events

Sunday, 10 November 2019

Sunday, 3 November 2019

Sunday, 27 October 2019

Filmstill aus „Ten Years“

Filmstill aus „Ten Years“

Sundays for Hong Kong

Filme aus und über Hongkong im Kinosaal des Gropius Bau bei freiem Eintritt

„Sundays for Hong Kong“ ist eine Kino-Aktion. Ihr Ziel ist es, durch die Präsentation von weniger bekannten, beispielhaften Dokumentar- und Spielfilmen bemerkenswerter Filmemacher*innen aus Hongkong eine Reihe der vielschichtigen Hintergründe von Kultur, Geschichte und Lebenswirklichkeit der früheren britischen Kronkolonie zu beleuchten.

Die massiven Proteste auf den Straßen Hongkongs halten bereits einen ganzen Sommer lang an. Die Bewegung scheint dauerhaft zu sein, sie reißt mit und generiert Bilder, die im Gedächtnis bleiben. Die Zukunft bleibt allerdings unklar. Die Bewegung selbst und das Dilemma, in dem sie steckt, bieten Anlass zum Nachdenken. Warum gerade Hongkong? Was macht die Lage, in der die Stadt sich befindet, so einzigartig? Was haben die Probleme in Hongkong der übrigen Welt zu sagen? Wo liegen Ähnlichkeiten und Unterschiede hinsichtlich der Freiheitsbemühungen in anderen Teilen der Welt?

Während diese Filme hier in Berlin gezeigt werden, wird die Geschichte Hongkongs vor Ort neu geschrieben. Wie wird die Zukunft Hongkongs aussehen? Durch diese Filmreihe erhalten wir die Gelegenheit, mehr über die Stadt, ihre Menschen und Dynamiken zu erfahren und zu verstehen, warum Hongkong ein Sinnbild für viele der Herausforderungen ist, mit denen zeitgenössische Demokratien konfrontiert sind.

Sonntag, 15.12.2019

Sonntag, 8.12.2019

Sonntag, 10.11.2019

Sonntag, 3.11.2019

Sonntag, 27.10.2019