Lee Mingwei

禮 Li, Gifts and Rituals

Discover Lee Mingwei’s exhibition 禮 Li, Gifts and Rituals online and learn more about individual projects: In addition to an interview with the artist you can find digital activations of the show as well as two new works conceived in response to the global spread of the coronavirus and the temporary closure of the Gropius Bau.

Lee Mingwei’s Vision of Peace for Contemporary Times

An Essay by Clare Molloy

Clare Molloy wrote an essay about Lee Mingwei’s new commission for the Gropius Bau, Our Peaceable Kingdom, for the exhibition catalogue. This essay traces the genesis of the work and considers how the Quaker view of peace influenced Lee.
To the essay

Lee Mingwei, Our Peaceable Kingdom, 2020. Installation view Lee Mingwei: 禮 Li, Gifts and Rituals, Gropius Bau, Berlin, 2020, photo: Laura Fiorio

An Exchange That Happens in Different Directions

An Interview between Lee Mingwei and Stephanie Rosenthal

For the exhibition catalogue, director and co-curator Stephanie Rosenthal and Lee Mingwei talked about the meaning of faith and chance for the artist’s work, the background of the monumental installation Guernica in Sand and the notion of healing in connection to art.
To the interview

Lee Mingwei, Guernica in Sand, 2006/2020

Lee Mingwei, Guernica in Sand, 2006/2020. Installation view Lee Mingwei: 禮 Li, Gifts and Rituals, Gropius Bau, Berlin, 2020
Photo: Laura Fiorio

Exhibition Guide

Lee’s installations and performances challenge the limits of how art institutions host audiences and artworks. His projects create spaces for encounters to unfold.
To the projects

The Dining Project

With The Dining Project, Lee Mingwei examines whether an art institution is capable of offering space for emotional connection. For the Gropius Bau, this work will be adapted to current circumstances and take place in an altered form in digital space.
To the project

Lee Mingwei, The Dining Project, 1997/2020

Lee Mingwei, The Dining Project, 1997/2020. Installation view Lee Mingwei and His Relations, Taipei Fine Arts Museum, 2015

Courtesy: Taipei Fine Arts Museum

Fabric of Memory

Fabric of Memory reveals how objects can function as an archive. For the exhibition, volunteers have submitted numerous fabric items and related personal stories, which are digitally presented and activated through short readings.
To the project

Lee Mingwei: Fabric of Memory (2006/2020)

Lee Mingwei: Fabric of Memory (2006/2020). Installation view 禮 Li, Gifts and Rituals, Gropius Bau, Berlin, 2020

Photo: Laura Fiorio

Letter to Oneself

A ritual of active contemplation: With his new work Letter to Oneself, Lee Mingwei invites members of the public to write letters to themselves that deal with the global crisis. These letters will be presented as part of his exhibition at the Gropius Bau.
To the project

Lee Mingwei: Letter to Oneself

Invitation for Dawn

Conceived for the digital realm, Lee Mingwei’s new work Invitation for Dawn virtually brings together classically trained opera singers and individuals. You can register here via e-mail to receive a one-on-one performance of a song online.
To the project

Lee Mingwei, Sonic Blossom, 2020

Lee Mingwei, Sonic Blossom, 2020. Installation view 禮 Li, Gifts and Rituals, Gropius Bau, 2020

Photo: Laura Fiorio

Lee Mingwei

禮 Li, Geschenke und Rituale

Entdecken Sie Lee Mingweis Ausstellung 禮 Li, Geschenke und Rituale online und erfahren Sie mehr über den Hintergrund einzelner Projekte: Neben einem Interview mit dem Künstler finden Sie hier digitale Aktivierungen der Ausstellung und zwei neue Arbeiten, die in Reaktion auf die globale Ausbreitung des Coronavirus und die vorübergehende Schließung des Gropius Bau entstanden sind.

Lee Mingweis Vison von Frieden in der heutigen Zeit

Ein Essay von Clare Molloy

Clare Molloy hat für den Katalog der Ausstellung einen Essay über Lee Mingweis neue Installation Our Peaceable Kingdom geschrieben. Sie skizziert die Entstehungsgeschichte des Werkes und beleuchtet, inwieweit die quäkerische Vorstellung von Frieden Lee beeinflusste.
Zum Essay

Lee Mingwei, Our Peaceable Kingdom, 2020. Installationsansicht Lee Mingwei: 禮 Li, Geschenke und Rituale, Gropius Bau, Berlin, 2020, Foto: Laura Fiorio

Ein Austausch in verschiedene Richtungen

Ein Interview zwischen Lee Mingwei und Stephanie Rosenthal

Für den Katalog zur Ausstellung haben Direktorin und Co-Kuratorin Stephanie Rosenthal und Lee Mingwei über die Bedeutung von Vertrauen und Zufall für die Arbeit des Künstlers, den Hintergrund der monumentalen Installation Guernica in Sand und den Begriff der Heilung im Zusammenhang mit Kunst gesprochen.
Zum Interview

Lee Mingwei, Guernica in Sand, 2006/2020

Lee Mingwei, Guernica in Sand, 2006/2020. Installationsansicht Lee Mingwei: 禮 Li, Geschenke und Rituale, Gropius Bau, Berlin, 2020
Foto: Laura Fiorio

Einblicke in die Ausstellung

Lees Installationen und Performances stellen Kunstinstitutionen und die Art und Weise, wie sie ihr Publikum und Kunstwerke bei sich aufnehmen, auf die Probe. Seine Projekte eröffnen Räume, in denen Begegnungen stattfinden und sich entfalten können.
Zu den Projekten

The Dining Project

Mit The Dining Project geht Lee Mingwei der Frage nach, ob eine Kunstinstitution Raum für emotionale Verbindungen bieten kann. Für den Gropius Bau wird diese Arbeit an die aktuelle Situation angepasst und in einer veränderten Form im digitalen Raum stattfinden.
Zum Projekt

Lee Mingwei, The Dining Project, 1997/2020

Lee Mingwei, The Dining Project, 1997/2020. Installationsansicht Lee Mingwei and His Relations, Taipei Fine Arts Museum, 2015

Courtesy: Taipei Fine Arts Museum

Fabric of Memory

Fabric of Memory zeigt, wie Gegenstände als Archiv fungieren können. Für Lee Mingweis Ausstellung wurden zahlreiche Kleidungsstücke und dazugehörige Geschichten eingereicht, die durch Lesungen digital aktiviert werden und hier online entdeckt werden können.
Zum Projekt

Lee Mingwei: Fabric of Memory (2006/2020)

Lee Mingwei: Fabric of Memory (2006/2020). Installationsansicht 禮 Li, Geschenke und Rituale, Gropius Bau, Berlin, 2020

Foto: Laura Fiorio

Letter to Oneself

Ein Ritual der aktiven Kontemplation: Lee Mingwei lädt mit seiner neuen Arbeit Letter to Oneself dazu ein, Briefe an sich selbst zu schreiben, die sich mit der globalen Krise beschäftigen. Diese werden dann im Rahmen seiner Ausstellung im Gropius Bau präsentiert.
Zum Projekt

Lee Mingwei: Letter to Oneself

Invitation for Dawn

Lee Mingweis neue Arbeit Invitation for Dawn, entwickelt für den digitalen Raum, bringt klassisch ausgebildete Opernsänger*innen und Einzelpersonen virtuell zusammen. Sie können sich hier anmelden, um online eine Einzeldarbietung eines Liedes zu erhalten.
Zum Projekt

Lee Mingwei, Sonic Blossom, 2020

Lee Mingwei, Sonic Blossom, 2020. Installationsansicht 禮 Li, Geschenke und Rituale, Gropius Bau, 2020

Foto: Laura Fiorio