On Masculinities

Curator Alona Pardo introduces the group exhibition at the Gropius Bau

Masculinities: Liberation through Photography explores across six thematic sections how masculinity has been coded, performed and socially constructed through photography and film from the 1960s to the present day.

What we have thought of as ‘masculine’ has changed considerably during different historical periods and within different cultures. In the twenty-first century, it seems more apt to reflect on ‘masculinities’ in the plural to underscore the many ways in which one can be a man or indeed become one.

With ideas around masculinity under increasing scrutiny and terms such as ‘toxic’ and ‘fragile’ masculinity filling endless column inches, an investigation of this expansive subject is particularly timely given the current global socio-political climate, which has seen the rise of a ‘masculinist nationalism’ characterised by male world leaders shaping their image as ‘strong’ men, set against the backdrop of the #MeToo movement.

Touching on themes of queer identity, the Black body, power and patriarchy, the perception of men by women, heteronormative stereotypes, hegemonic masculinity and the family, the works in the show present masculinity as an unfixed performative identity shaped by cultural and social forces. Over the last five decades, artists have consistently sought to disrupt and disturb the narrow definitions of gender that determine social structures in order to encourage new ways of thinking about identity, gender and sexuality.

Thomas Dworzak, Taliban portrait. Kandahar, Afghanistan, 2002
© Collection T. Dworzak/Magnum Photos

Sam Contis, Untitled (Neck), 2015
© Sam Contis, Courtesy: the artist and Klaus von Nichtssagend Gallery, New York

Soldiers, cowboys, athletes as well as body builders and wrestlers are all rendered subversive through the razor-sharp gaze of the artists presented in the first chapter ‘Disrupting the Archetype’. The military looms large in Thomas Dworzak’s found photographs of Taliban fighters that directly contradict their uber-masculine public image while Collier Schorr and Sam Contis tackle the enduring archetype of American masculinity that is the contemporary cowboy.

‘Male Order’ invites the viewer to reflect on the construction of male power, gender and class. The relationship between dominant masculinity and political leadership is explored through Richard Avedon’s ambitious project The Family (1976) for which he photographed key politicians, lawmakers and captains of industry who clasped the reins of economic and cultural power in their grasp. Inviting the viewer to reflect on the position of patriarchy, both Karen Knorr’s sardonic series Gentlemen (1981-83) and Clare Strand’s playfully subversive work Men Only Tower (2017) reflect on how women and other marginalised identities have been excluded from the corridors of power.

Masahisa Fukase, Upper row, from left to right: A, a model; Toshiteru, Sukezo, Masahisa. Middle row, from left to right: Akiko, Mitsue, Hisashi Daikoji. Bottom row, from left to right: Gaku, Kyoko, Kanako, and a memorial portrait of Miyako, 1985
From the series Family, 1971–90
© Masahisa Fukase Archives

Since its invention photography has been a powerful vehicle in the construction and documentation of family narratives. In contrast to the conventions of the traditional family portrait, the artists in ‘Too Close to Home: Family and Fatherhood’ deliberately set out to record the ‘messiness’ of life, reflecting on misogyny, violence, sexuality, mortality, intimacy and unfolding family dramas. The Japanese artist Masahisa Fukase’s works are a tender and poignant study of his father through both life and death and serve as a meditation on the loss of masculinity in old age.

In defiance of the prejudice and legal constraints against homosexuality in Europe, the United States and beyond over the last century, the works presented in ‘Queering Masculinity’ highlight how artists from the 1960s onwards have forged a new politically charged queer aesthetic. For artists such as Robert Mapplethorpe, Peter Hujar, George Dureau, David Wojnarowicz and Sunil Gupta, who came to artistic prominence in the decade following the Stonewall Riots in 1969, their intention was not only to problematise the heterosexual gender binary discourse and shatter oppressive homosexual stereotypes but to revel in their queerness as a natural state of being and consequently affirm their rights.

Giving visual form to the complexity of the black male experience, ‘Reclaiming the Black Body’ foregrounds artists who have consciously subverted expectations of race, gender and the white gaze by reclaiming the power to fashion their own identities. Rooted in social, cultural and economic oppression and repression, the representation of black masculinity in the US is born out of a violent history of slavery and prejudice. Unbranded: Reflections in Black by Corporate America 1968-2008 by Hank Willis Thomas draws attention to the ways in which corporate America has commodified the African American male experience while simultaneously perpetuating and reinforcing cultural and racial stereotypes.
As the second-wave feminist movement gained momentum through the 1960s and ’70s, female activists sought to expose and critique entrenched ideas about masculinity and to articulate alternative perspectives on gender and representation. Against this background, or motivated by its legacy, the artists gathered here have made men their subject with the radical intention of subverting their power, calling into question the notion that men are active and women passive. Laurie Anderson’s incisive series Fully Automated Nikon (Object/Objection/Objectivity) from 1973 exposes the casual sexism women encountered daily in 1970s New York, while Marianne Wex’s prescient encyclopaedic work Let’s Take Back Our Space (1977), calls out manspreading long before the term was invented.

Alona Pardo
Curator of the exhibition

Rotimi Fani-Kayode, Untitled, ca. 1985

Rotimi Fani-Kayode, Untitled, c. 1985
© Rotimi Fani-Kayode, courtesy: Autograph, London

Über Männlichkeiten

Kuratorin Alona Pardo stellt die Gruppenausstellung im Gropius Bau vor

Die Ausstellung Masculinities: Liberation through Photography untersucht in sechs thematischen Abschnitten, wie Männlichkeit durch Fotografie und Film von den 1960er Jahren bis heute kodiert, dargestellt und gesellschaftlich konstruiert wurde.

Was als „männlich“ betrachtet wurde, hat sich in verschiedenen historischen Epochen und innerhalb verschiedener Kulturen erheblich verändert. Im 21. Jahrhundert erscheint es angebrachter, über „Männlichkeiten“ im Plural nachzudenken, um zu unterstreichen, auf welch vielfältige Arten man ein Mann sein oder eben werden kann.

Dabei stehen Vorstellungen von Männlichkeit zunehmend auf dem Prüfstand und werden als „toxisch“ oder „fragil“ diskutiert. Besonders aktuell ist eine Untersuchung dieses weitreichenden Themas angesichts des globalen soziopolitischen Klimas: Ein „maskulinistischer Nationalismus“, gekennzeichnet durch männliche Führer, die der Welt ihr Bild als „starke“ Männer präsentieren, steht den Aktivitäten der #MeToo-Bewegung gegenüber.

Indem die Arbeiten der Ausstellung Themen wie queere Identität, den Schwarzen Körper, Macht und Patriarchat, die Wahrnehmung von Männern durch Frauen, heteronormative Stereotypen, hegemoniale Männlichkeit und die Familie berühren, präsentieren sie Männlichkeit als eine unfixierte performative Identität, die von kulturellen und sozialen Kräften geprägt ist. In den letzten fünf Jahrzehnten haben Künstler*innen immer wieder versucht, jene engen Definitionen von Geschlecht zu durchbrechen und durcheinander zu bringen, die gesellschaftliche Strukturen bestimmen – und so neue Wege des Nachdenkens über Identität, Geschlecht und Sexualität zu fördern.

Thomas Dworzak, Taliban portrait. Kandahar, Afghanistan, 2002
© Collection T. Dworzak/Magnum Photos

Sam Contis, Untitled (Neck), 2015
© Sam Contis, Courtesy: die Künstlerin und Klaus von Nichtssagend Gallery, New York

Im ersten Ausstellungsabschnitt, Disrupting the Archetype, richten verschiedene Künstler*innen ihren präzisen Blick auf Soldaten, Cowboys und Athleten, auf Bodybuilder und Wrestler – und setzen diese subversiv in Szene. Das Militär spielt eine große Rolle in Thomas Dworzaks gefundenen Fotografien von Taliban-Kämpfern, die in direktem Widerspruch zu deren übermaskulinem Bild in der Öffentlichkeit stehen, während Collier Schorr und Sam Contis den wohl beständigsten Archetyp amerikanischer Männlichkeit thematisieren: den zeitgenössischen Cowboy.

Male Order lädt die Betrachter*innen ein, über die Konstruktion von männlicher Macht, Geschlecht und Klasse nachzudenken. So wird in Richard Avedons ehrgeizigem Projekt The Family (1976) die Beziehung zwischen dominanter Männlichkeit und politischer Führung untersucht, für das er wichtige Politiker, Abgeordnete und Industriekapitäne fotografiert hat, die die Zügel der wirtschaftlichen und kulturellen Macht in der Hand hielten. Sowohl Karen Knorrs sardonische Serie Gentlemen (1981–83) als auch Clare Strands spielerisch-subversives Werk Men Only Tower (2017) laden zum Nachdenken über die Position des Patriarchats ein und reflektieren darüber, wie andere aus den Korridoren der Macht ausgeschlossen wurden.

Masahisa Fukase, Upper row, from left to right: A, a model; Toshiteru, Sukezo, Masahisa. Middle row, from left to right: Akiko, Mitsue, Hisashi Daikoji. Bottom row, from left to right: Gaku, Kyoko, Kanako, and a memorial portrait of Miyako, 1985
Aus der Serie Family, 1971–90
© Masahisa Fukase Archives

Seit ihrer Erfindung ist die Fotografie ein mächtiges Werkzeug bei der Konstruktion und Dokumentation von Familiengeschichten. Im Gegensatz zu den Konventionen des traditionellen Familienporträts haben die Künstler*innen in Too Close to Home: Family and Fatherhood bewusst die „Unordnung“ des Lebens festgehalten, indem sie über Frauenfeindlichkeit, Gewalt, Sexualität, Sterblichkeit, Intimität und sich entfaltende Familiendramen reflektieren. Vertreten sind unter anderem die Werke des japanischen Künstlers Masahisa Fukase, die als zarte und ergreifende Studie über Leben und Tod seines Vaters auch eine Meditation über den Verlust der Männlichkeit im Alter liefern.

Die Werke im Abschnitt Queering Masculinity zeigen, wie Künstler*innen seit den 1960er Jahren allen Vorurteilen und rechtlichen Zwängen zum Trotz, denen die Homosexualität in Europa, den Vereinigten Staaten und darüber hinaus im letzten Jahrhundert ausgesetzt war, eine neue, politisch aufgeladene queere Ästhetik geschaffen haben. Für Künstler wie Robert Mapplethorpe, Peter Hujar, George Dureau, David Wojnarowicz und Sunil Gupta, die im Jahrzehnt nach den Stonewall-Riots 1969 künstlerisch bekannt wurden, ging es nicht nur darum, den heterosexuellen Binärdiskurs der Geschlechter zu problematisieren und unterdrückende homosexuelle Stereotypen zu zerschlagen, sondern auch darum, ihre Queerness als natürlichen Seinszustand zu feiern.

Reclaiming the Black Body stellt Künstler*innen in den Vordergrund, die bewusst die Erwartungen an Race, Geschlecht und den weißen Blick untergraben haben und die Macht zurückforderten, ihre eigene Identität zu gestalten. Die Darstellung Schwarzer Männlichkeit in den USA, die in sozialer, kultureller und wirtschaftlicher Unterdrückung und Repression verwurzelt ist, geht auf die gewalttätige Geschichte von Sklaverei und Vorurteilen zurück. Unbranded: Reflections in Black by Corporate America 1968–2008 von Hank Willis Thomas lenkt die Aufmerksamkeit auf die Art und Weise, wie US-amerikanische Unternehmen die afroamerikanische Männlichkeitserfahrung zur Ware gemacht und gleichzeitig kulturelle und rassistische Stereotypen aufrechterhalten und verstärkt haben.

Als die zweite Welle der feministischen Bewegung in den 1960er und 70er Jahren an Schwung gewann, versuchten Aktivist*innen, tief verwurzelte Vorstellungen von Männlichkeit zu entlarven, zu kritisieren und alternative Perspektiven auf Geschlecht und Repräsentation zu artikulieren. Vor diesem Hintergrund lassen sich viele Arbeiten der in Women on Men: Reversing the Male Gaze versammelten Künstlerinnen lesen: Laurie Andersons prägnante Serie Fully Automated Nikon (Object/Objection/Objectivity) aus dem Jahr 1973 entlarvt den beiläufigen Sexismus, dem Frauen im New York der 1970er Jahre täglich begegnet sind, während Marianne Wex in ihrer vorausschauenden enzyklopädischen Arbeit Let's Take Back Our Space (1977) die Idee des „Manspreading“ aufruft, lange bevor der Begriff erfunden wurde.

Alona Pardo
Kuratorin der Ausstellung

Rotimi Fani-Kayode, Untitled, ca. 1985

Rotimi Fani-Kayode, Untitled, ca. 1985
© Rotimi Fani-Kayode, courtesy: Autograph, London