Glossary

Masculinities: Liberation through Photography

African diaspora

refers to all people of African descent who are living outside the continent of Africa such as the African American, Afro-Colombian, Afro-Canadian, Afro-Caribbean and Afro-German populations, Afro-Diasporic people in the rest of the world and the migrant population of African origin and their descendants.

BDSM

stands for bondage and discipline, domination and submission, sadism and masochism. It describes a series of mostly sexual practices that involve various positions of power associated with dominance and submission, playful punishment, bondage, lust and pain, among other things. In BDSM, the participants voluntarily move from an equal position into one defined by a power dynamic – the submissive partner giving up part of his or her own autonomy to the dominant partner in a consensual manner. Both partners gain pleasure from this.

Black

is a political term and neither describes a biological characteristic nor a skin colour, but a social position of groups of people affected by racism. The capitalisation of Black underlines Black people and People of Colour’s united front against the racism they all experience and their potential for resistance.

butch

is a self-description of people who – according to heterosexual standards and stereotypes – appear “masculine” or fit societal definitions of masculinity. Some consider “butch” to be a gender identity of its own.

cross-dresser

refers to people who wear clothes that – according to traditional and stereotypical gender roles – do not fit their own gender. Cross-dressing is seen as a performance and cross-dressers can have different gender identities.

drag performers

are people who wear and display clothing, make-up and behaviour that society perceives as “feminine” or “masculine” as an exaggerated act of performance, playing with and deconstructing gender roles and expectations.

dyke

is a term that has been formerly used as a slur radicalism and a refusal to conform to the middle-class norms of respectability.

faggot

is a term used as a means of describing “feminine” or gay men. It was formerly used as a slur, but has since been reclaimed by many gay men as empowering.

fragile masculinity

describes subjective experiences of powerlessness and fear felt by men who believe that they do not meet the standards of masculinity associated with power and assertiveness. Men have to continuously prove themselves as men, and in their compulsive pursuit to live up to their masculine role, they may become more violent towards themselves. Masculinity is thus not permanent and fixed, but always fragile.

gay

used as a modern term to mean “homosexual” appears to have emerged from the 19th-century use of the word to describe a sex worker or an absence of sexual inhibition (“the gay life”, “a gay girl”, “a gay boy”). By the first half of the 20th Century, “gay” was emerging as a synonym for “queer”. The mid- to late-20th-century gay rights movements used the word as a positive and often inclusive alternative to “homosexual”; this coincided with its emergent usage as an insult, peaking with its slang use as a pejorative stand-in for “bad” in the early 2000s.

gay cruising spots

describes public places where mostly gay men meet to actively search for physical contact or potential sex partners.

gender

should be understood in distinction to the assigned sex at birth, with gender referring to the socially-constructed idea of what it means to be a man or woman in society. These ideas are imposed through social behaviours, roles and expectations and obligate people to conform to one of two gender roles matching their apparent sex; for example, male equals man or masculine and female equals woman or feminine.

gender ambiguity

describes the circumstance in which a person is perceived as both stereotypically male and female in his or her appearance, and therefore cannot be clearly assigned to a gender based on external characteristics.

gender fluidity

is defined as having a changing sense of one’s gender.

gender hierarchy

refers to a gender order that divides people into two opposite sexes that are mutually exclusive but “complementary”: the female and male sex. The relation between these two sexes is one of domination, with men considered superior to women. Non-binary sexual orientations and gender identities are also characterised as being subordinate to the male sex.

Harlem Renaissance

(ca. 1918–37) was an influential social and artistic movement of African American artists and writers, which originated in the New York district of Harlem. The movement defined itself explicitly in demarcation from existing racist stereotypes of the African American population in the US.

hegemonic masculinity

was coined by the scholar Raewyn Connell and describes forms of masculinity that are culturally and socially superior to other images and roles of masculinity. These dominant images of masculinity do not only refer to the oppression of women; hegemonic masculinity is always defined in relation to masculinities perceived as inferior, including marginalised, oppressed and complicit masculinity.

homosociality/homosocial

is a term that was coined by the queer theorist Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick. Instead of using the concept merely as a tool to analyse social bonds and power relations between men, Sedgwick examined the relationship between different types of desire and intimacy between men and the normative impact they have on society.

hyper-camp

describes an excessive extravagant behaviour mainly cultivated in gay communities. It is marked by sharp wit, theatricality, attention to artifice and self-irony. The term was once used as a pejorative to describe effeminate gay men, but has been positively reclaimed.

hypermasculinity/hypermasculine

describes an extreme form of hegemonic masculinity and is comprised of four essential components: toughness, violence, danger and a degrading attitude towards women.

Indians

is a colonial term used by European colonial masters to describe the indigenous peoples they encountered in the course of colonising North America. This term is offensive and pejorative. More appropriate self-descriptions and means to describe indigenous peoples from North America include Native Americans and First Nations.

Keffiyeh

is a traditional head scarf mostly worn by men in the Arab world. The term is derived from the city Kufa in Iraq. The garment is also known as a symbol of Palestinian struggle in the Middle East.

Latinx

is a self-description of people of Latin American origin in the US and has been used since the mid-2000s by activists and increasingly, since 2014, at US universities. People who self-identify as Latinx want to establish the term as an inclusive, neutral and non-discriminatory alternative to the gendered Spanish word Latino/Latina.

lesbian

describes a homosexual women or person. “Lesbian” covers an enormous variety of different cultures, subcultures, histories and beliefs, such as the second-wave “political lesbians” (who believed that sexuality was a conscious political choice and that women could, and should, choose to become lesbians as part of the struggle against patriarchy) and the contemporary importance of trans lesbianism in trans feminism in broader trans subcultures.

male gaze

describes the way of looking at the world through a masculine lens that objectifies and sexualises women. In art, the male gaze can be a projection of the artist’s fantasy onto a female figure. The gaze can also be a lesbian or gay projection onto someone so that she or he becomes an object of desire.

masculinity

see “fragile masculinity”, “hegemonic masculinity” and “toxic masculinity”

#MeToo movement

was founded by the African American activist Tarana Burke in 2006. It aimed to raise awareness about the sexual abuse that Black women and women from other ethnic minorities face by way of strengthening solidarity and empathy among people who have experienced sexualised violence. It proclaims: “it happened to me, it happened to you and together we stand in solidarity”. In October 2017 this hashtag went viral as millions of women used #MeToo to describe their experiences of sexual abuse.

Mizrahi Jewish

comes from Hebrew and means “Oriental” or “oriental”. It is a term used to describe Jewish ethnic groups in Israel that originate from Africa, Asia and especially the Middle East. These groups self-identify as “Mizrahim” (plural). The term is also used to differentiate Mizrahim from Jewish Israelis originating from Europe, although it is not possible to define the group of Mizrahim precisely.

non-conformist

refers to a critical, non-adjusted attitude towards socially accepted standards. It is also a term used to describe people who do not follow gender stereotypes based on the sex they were assigned at birth.

Orientalist gaze

is a prejudiced point of view that asserts dominance by objectifying and exoticising people from the East who are not white, thereby transforming them into “others”. Coined by scholar Edward Said in his book Orientalism (1978), he discussed the Western essentialism that reduces societies in the Middle East, Asia and North Africa as being seemingly static and undeveloped in contrast to Western societies being developed and, therefore, superior, thereby justifying both the judgement and consumption of these cultures.

patriarchy

describes a social system and form of domination that divides people into two sexes as part of a hierarchical order: men are deemed to be dominant, whilst women and other genders are subordinate. In patriarchal societies male dominance is part of social institutions and practices in which women and other gender identities are in principle disadvantaged or not considered equal nor treated as such, which then becomes reinforced through structural bias.

People of Colour (PoC)

is a political term and is used as a self-description by people with experiences of racism. PoC marks a social position for non-white people in racist societies who are collectively identified as “other” by the dominant society and thus constructed as not having agency or actively belonging to that society.

performativity (of gender)

draws on the concept of performativity in John Langshaw Austin’s speech act theory, from which the American philosopher and queer theorist Judith Butler put forth her theory of gender performativity relating to sex and gender. She demonstrates that hegemonic discourses create our perception of the “woman/man” binary – a distinction that is constructed through language. Performative acts (words, gestures, actions) produce and continuously reinforce gender identity through repetition as part of a social context in which the subject is being constituted through discursive processes: the child is made into a “girl” at birth and later repeatedly regarded and treated as such by institutions.

Progressive Era

refers to the period between 1880 and 1920 in the US, which was characterised by massive social and political reforms. These aimed to make progress toward a better society by harnessing the power of the state to counteract the negative effects of modern industrial societies, such as poverty, crime, corruption and cartels.

queerness/queer

is a self-description used by people who do not fit into the narrowly defined, rigid social norms and expectations regarding gender identity, sexuality or desire. Moreover, “queer” also refers to a critical theory in academia in which pigeonhole thinking is deconstructed and various intersecting forms of oppression are jointly examined.

race

refers to a socially constructed hierarchical concept in which people are divided into a limited number of groups (originally geographically defined) according to supposedly inherent biological differences based on physical characteristics – skin colour, for example – which are passed on from generation to generation.

racism

is a white supremacist system in which racialised groups are mostly assigned negative characteristics and prejudices by the power elite in order to enable and normalise their discrimination, oppression and exploitation, and limit their access to vital societal resources.

racist gaze

see “white gaze”

stud

refers to an African American and/or Latinx masculine presenting lesbian. It is sometimes used as a synonym for a butch or masculine woman.

toxic masculinity

describes a notion of masculinity prevalent in our society that is based on a traditional, stereotypical and patriarchal image of men. Such perceptions suggest that men should not show any weakness or feelings, at most anger; they should be hard, aggressive and not tender or loving, especially not with each other. This one-dimensional image of masculinity can have negative effects on society as a whole and may cause men to harm themselves and others through violence against women, men and people of other genders, race, class and ableism.

Vogue/Voguing

refers to a powerful dance art form and subculture that emerged in the Black and Latinx queer communities in New York in the 1970s and 1980s and consists of striking poses with a fluid progression of precise and often quick movements.

Western gaze

see “white gaze”

white

neither describes a skin colour nor is it a self-description, but designates a privileged position of power within a racist system.

white gaze

is a point of view that asserts dominance by staring at, objectifying and judging those considered inferior to the white subject and transforming them into “others” – white people photographing and subjecting Black people from a position of superiority and power, for example. The most spectacular staging of the Western gaze was the so-called “Völkerschauen” (which translates as “human zoo”) and colonial exhibitions at the turn of the 19th Century, which were staged and arranged to construct and display the “other”.

Glossar

Masculinities: Liberation through Photography

afrikanische Diaspora

bezeichnet die Gesamtheit der Menschen afrikanischer Abstammung, die außerhalb des afrikanischen Kontinents leben, wie z.B. die afroamerikanische, afrokolumbianische, afrokanadische, afrokaribische, afrodeutsche Bevölkerung, afrodiasporische Menschen in der restlichen Welt sowie die migrantische Bevölkerung afrikanischer Herkunft und ihre Nachkommen.

BDSM

setzt sich aus den Anfangsbuchstaben der englischen Bezeichnungen „Bondage & Discipline“, „Dominance & Submission“ und „Sadism & Masochism“ zusammen. Dabei wird eine Reihe von meist sexuellen Verhaltensweisen beschrieben, die unter anderem mit Dominanz und Unterwerfung, spielerischer Bestrafung, Fesselspielen und Lustschmerz im Zusammenhang stehen können. Beim BDSM begeben sich die Beteiligten freiwillig aus einer gleichberechtigten Position in ein Machtgefälle, dabei gibt die*der devote Partner*in einen Teil der eigenen Autonomie an die dominante Person ab. Beide Partner*innen erzielen daraus einen Lustgewinn.

Butch

ist eine Selbstbezeichnung von queeren Personen, die – gemäß heterosexueller Stereotype – „maskulin“ auftreten. Manche Butches bezeichnen sich als „eine Butch“, andere sprechen von sich als „ein Butch“.

Crossdresser

bezeichnet Menschen, die Kleidung tragen, die – den traditionellen und stereotypischen Rollenbildern nach – nicht zum eigenen Geschlecht passt. Bei Crossdressing handelt es sich um eine Performance. Crossdresser können verschiedenste Geschlechtsidentitäten haben.

Cruising Spots

beschreibt öffentliche Plätze, an denen sich meist schwule Männer treffen, um aktiv nach potenziellen Sexpartnern oder Körperkontakt zu suchen.

Drag-Performer*innen

bezeichnet Personen, die Kleidung, Make-up und Verhalten, die gesellschaftlich z.B. als „feminin“ oder „maskulin“ gelten, als Kunstform tragen, zeigen und mit Gendererwartungen spielen.

fragile Männlichkeit

beschreibt subjektive Machtlosigkeitserfahrungen bei Männern und die Angst, die Männer empfinden, die glauben, dass sie den Standards der mit Macht und Durchsetzungsvermögen assoziierten Männlichkeit nicht entsprechen. Männer müssen sich – so die Theorie – täglich aufs Neue als Männer beweisen. Im Zwang ihrer männlichen Rolle gerecht zu werden üben sie mehr Gewalt gegen sich selbst aus.

Gender

kommt aus dem Englischen und bezeichnet das soziale Geschlecht in Unterscheidung zum biologischen/körperlichen Geschlecht, oder die Geschlechtsidentität. Mit dem Begriff Gender wird verdeutlicht, dass Verhalten, Rollen und Identitäten innerhalb der Gesellschaft nicht naturgegeben sind, sondern erst im sozialen Kontext konstruiert werden. Er entlarvt damit auch die Unterscheidung zwischen körperlichem Geschlecht und Geschlechtsidentität als kulturell konstruiert.

Genderambiguität

beschreibt den Umstand, bei dem eine Person in ihrem Erscheinen und/oder ihrem Auftreten sowohl als stereotypisch männlich als auch stereotypisch weiblich wahrgenommen wird und daher dieser Person ein Geschlecht anhand äußerlicher Merkmale nicht eindeutig zugeordnet werden kann.

Genderfluidität

bezeichnet eine Geschlechtsidentität, die sich mit der Zeit oder bezogen auf bestimmte Situationen ändert. Die Identität ändert sich, ist jedoch nicht immer außerhalb des Zwei-Geschlechter-Systems zu verorten.

Geschlechterhierarchie

bezeichnet eine Geschlechterordnung, die Menschen in zwei einander ausschließende, aber sich als Gegenteile „ergänzende“ Geschlechter einteilt: dem weiblichen und männlichen Geschlecht. Diese beiden Geschlechter stehen in einer Herrschaftsbeziehung zueinander, bei der Männer den Frauen übergeordnet sind und andere sexuelle Orientierungen und Geschlechtsidentitäten nicht vorgesehen bzw. ebenfalls dem männlichen Geschlecht untergeordnet sind.

Geschlechternormen

beschreibt ein Bündel von stereotypischen geschlechtsspezifischen Verhaltenserwartungen, das in sozialen Situationen angewendet werden kann: verlangt werden Erscheinungs-, Handlungs- und Erlebensweisen, die als „weiblich“ oder „männlich“ angesehen werden. Diese Regeln werden in sozialen Institutionen wie der Familie, der Schule, dem Arbeitsplatz etc. hervorgebracht und beständig reproduziert.

Harlem Renaissance

(ca. 1918–37) war eine einflussreiche soziale und kulturelle Bewegung afroamerikanischer Künstler*innen und Schriftsteller*innen, die vom New Yorker Stadtteil Harlem ausging. Die Bewegung definierte sich ausdrücklich in Abgrenzung zu existierenden, rassistischen Stereotypisierungen der afroamerikanischen Bevölkerung in den USA.

hegemoniale Männlichkeit

definiert der Soziologe Raewyn Connell als Formen von Männlichkeit, die kulturell und sozial anderen Männlichkeitsbildern übergeordnet sind. Diese dominanten Männlichkeitsbilder beziehen sich nicht nur auf die Unterdrückung der Frauen. Hegemoniale Männlichkeit definiert sich auch immer in Relation zur untergeordneten Männlichkeit: marginalisierte, unterdrückte und komplizenhafte Männlichkeit.

Homosozialität/homosozial

wurde als Begriff durch die Queertheoretikerin Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick bekannt. Mit diesem Konzept wollte Sedgwick darauf aufmerksam machen, dass es weit über das Sexuelle hinaus Beziehungen zwischen gleichen Geschlechtern gibt und dass das Verhältnis von Männern untereinander ein Zusammenspiel vieler Faktoren (u.a. der Sexualität) ist, die normativ auf die Gesellschaft zurückwirken.

Hyper-Camp

bezeichnet ein extravagantes Verhalten, das vor allem in der schwulen Subkultur vorzufinden ist und sich durch exzessive Theatralik sowie Dramatik, eine gewisse Künstlichkeit und Selbstironie auszeichnet. Die schwule Subkultur hat sich diese vormals meist abwertende Bezeichnung zu Eigen gemacht.

Hypermaskulinität/hypermaskulin

beschreibt eine extreme Form der hegemonialen Männlichkeit und umfasst vier wesentliche Bestandteile: Härte, Gewalttätigkeit, Gefährlichkeit und eine abwertende Einstellung zu Frauen.

„Indianer“

ist eine kolonialrassistische Fremdbezeichnung für die indigenen Gemeinschaften, welche die europäischen Kolonialherr*innen im Zuge der Kolonisierung Nordamerikas antrafen, und wurde in dieser Zeit geprägt. Selbstbezeichnungen indigener Gemeinschaften Nordamerikas sind u.a. Native Americans und First Nations.

Kufija

ist eine meist von Männern getragene Kopfbedeckung in der arabischen Welt. Der Begriff ist abgeleitet von der irakischen Stadt Kufa. Durch den Nahostkonflikt ist das Tuch auch als Palästinensertuch bekannt.

Latinx

ist eine Selbstbezeichnung von Menschen lateinamerikanischer Herkunft in den USA und wird seit Mitte der 2000er von Aktivist*innen und seit 2014 vermehrt an US-amerikanischen Universitäten verwendet. Der Anspruch ist, den Begriff als inklusive, neutrale und geschlechtergerechte Alternative für das im Spanischen gegenderte Wort Latino/Latina zu etablieren.

lesbisch

nennen sich Frauen oder Personen, die sich in andere Frauen verlieben und/oder sich sexuell zu ihnen hingezogen fühlen und mit ihnen Beziehungen eingehen.

Männlichkeit

siehe „fragile Männlichkeit“, „hegemoniale Männlichkeit“ und „toxische Männlichkeit“

#MeToo-Bewegung

Die #MeToo-Bewegung wurde von der Schwarzen Aktivistin Tarana Burke 2006 ins Leben gerufen, um auf den sexuellen Missbrauch von afroamerikanischen Frauen aufmerksam zu machen und um Solidarität und Empathie zwischen Menschen, die Erfahrungen mit sexualisierter Gewalt machen mussten, zu stärken: Mir ist es passiert, dir ist es passiert und wir sind solidarisch miteinander. Im Oktober 2017 ging dieser Hashtag viral um die Welt, nachdem Millionen von Frauen #MeToo nutzten, um ihre Erlebnisse zu schildern.

Mizrachi

kommt aus dem Hebräischen und bedeutet „Orientale“ oder „orientalisch“ und ist eine Bezeichnung für aus Afrika, Asien und vor allem dem Nahen Osten stammende jüdische Bevölkerungsgruppen in Israel, die sich auch selbst als „Mizrachim“ (Plural) identifizieren. Der Begriff wird auch in Abgrenzung zu den aus Europa stammenden jüdischen Israelis verwendet, wobei eine genaue Definition der Gruppe der Mizrachim nicht möglich ist.

Nonkonformist/nonkonformistisch

bezeichnet eine kritische, nicht angepasste Haltung gegenüber gesellschaftlich anerkannten Normen. Mit dem Begriff werden auch Menschen bezeichnet, die nicht den Geschlechterstereotypen entsprechen, die auf dem Geschlecht basieren, das ihnen bei der Geburt zugewiesen wurde.

orientalistischer Blick

bezeichnet eine voreingenommene Sichtweise, die nicht-weiße Menschen aus dem sogenannten „Orient“ als die „Anderen“ objektiviert und exotisiert und somit Dominanz ausübt. Der Begriff ist von Edward Saids Buch Orientalismus (1978) geprägt. Darin kritisiert er den westlichen Essentialismus, der Gesellschaften im Nahen Osten, Asien und Nordafrika als scheinbar statisch und unterentwickelt, westliche Gesellschaften im Gegensatz dazu als entwickelt und überlegen darstellt und damit sowohl das Urteil über als auch den Konsum von diesen Kulturen rechtfertigt.

Patriarchat/patriarchal

beschreibt eine Gesellschafts- bzw. Herrschaftsform, die Menschen in zwei Geschlechter einteilt, die in einer hierarchischen Beziehung zueinanderstehen: Männer sind dominant, Frauen untergeordnet, andere Gender nicht vorgesehen bzw. marginalisiert. Die männliche Dominanz ist dabei Teil gesellschaftlicher Institutionen und Praktiken, in denen Frauen und andere Geschlechtsidentitäten prinzipiell benachteiligt werden.

People of Colour (PoC)

ist eine internationale Selbstbezeichnung von Menschen mit Rassismuserfahrungen, die von der Mehrheitsgesellschaft ausgegrenzt und kollektiven Zuschreibungen des „Andersseins“ ausgesetzt werden. PoC ist eine verbindende Bezeichnung für nicht-weiße Menschen in rassistischen Gesellschaften. Der Begriff markiert eine gesellschaftliche Position und politisch gewählte Selbstbezeichnung in Ablehnung kolonialrassistischer Fremdbezeichnungen.

Performativität (von Geschlecht)

Den Begriff hat die US-amerikanische Philosophin und Queertheoretikerin Judith Butler aus der Sprechakttheorie John Langshaw Austins übernommen und in Bezug auf Geschlecht und Gender weiterentwickelt. Mit dem Konzept der Performativität von Geschlecht legt sie dar, dass Zweigeschlechtlichkeit nicht natürlich gegeben ist. Die Wahrnehmung zweier Geschlechter ist Effekt diskursiver Prozesse, also von Sprache, die Bedeutung hervorbringt. Die Unterscheidung „Frau“/„Mann“ wird damit als sprachlich konstruiert begriffen. Diese Konstruktion wird mit der Performativität von Sprache erfasst: Performative Akte bringen soziale Realität hervor. Mit Worten, Gesten und Handlungen wird die Herstellung der Geschlechtsidentität immer wieder vollzogen. Nicht subjektiver Wille ist dabei entscheidend, sondern der soziale Kontext, in dem das Subjekt durch den diskursiven Prozess erst konstituiert wird. Performativität entfaltet ihre dauerhafte Wirkung in der Wiederholung: Das Kind wird bei der Geburt zum „Mädchen“ gemacht und später von Institutionen immer wieder als solches betrachtet.

Progressive Era

bezeichnet die Epoche von 1880 bis 1920 in den USA, die von sozialen, politischen und zivilgesellschaftlichen Prozessen und Reformen gekennzeichnet war. Die Reformer*innen versuchten, den Problemen der modernen Industriegesellschaft, wie Armut, Kriminalität, Korruption und Kartellbildung durch staatliche Intervention entgegenzuwirken, um eine Besserung der Lebensverhältnisse der Bürger* innen voranzutreiben.

Queerness/queer

ist eine Selbstbezeichnung von Menschen, die nicht den gesellschaftlichen Normen und Erwartungen in Bezug auf Geschlechtsidentität, Sexualität oder Begehren entsprechen. Zudem bezeichnet queer auch einen Theorie- und Wissenschaftszweig, in dem Schubladendenken aufgebrochen wird und verschiedene Unterdrückungsformen miteinander verknüpft gedacht werden.

race

bezeichnet ein System, in dem Menschen in eine begrenzte Anzahl von (ursprünglich geografisch definierten) Gruppen anhand vermeintlich inhärenter biologischer Unterschiede, die auf körperlichen Merkmalen (z.B. Hautfarbe) beruhen, eingeteilt werden, die von Generation zu Generation weitervererbt werden. Um die soziale Konstruiertheit dieser Kategorie zu betonen, verwenden wir den englischen Begriff race und nicht den deutschen Begriff der „Rasse“, da sich dieser im deutschsprachigen Kontext oft nur auf seine Verwendung im Nationalsozialismus bezieht und damit meist nur die wissenschaftlich nicht haltbare biologistische Konstruktion gemeint wird.

Rassismus

ist ein strukturelles Herrschaftsverhältnis, in dem Gruppen essentielle, konstruierte, meist negative Merkmale und unterschiedliche Wertigkeiten zugeschrieben werden. Diese Hierarchisierung ermöglicht und normalisiert die Diskriminierung, Unterdrückung und Ausbeutung der so abgewerteten, rassifizierten Gruppen, denen nur ein eingeschränkter Zugang zu Ressourcen gewährt wird.

Schwarz

ist keine biologische Eigenschaft und keine reelle Hautfarbe, sondern beschreibt eine von Rassismus betroffene gesellschaftliche Position von Personengruppen. Die Großschreibung von Schwarz unterstreicht das von Schwarzen und People of Colour dieser Kategorie eingeschriebene Widerstandspotenzial und verdeutlicht, dass es sich um eine politisch gewählte Selbstbezeichnung handelt, in Ablehnung kolonialrassistischer Fremdbezeichnungen.

schwul

Als schwul bezeichnen sich Männer oder Personen, die sich in andere Männer verlieben und/oder sich sexuell zu ihnen hingezogen fühlen und mit ihnen Beziehungen eingehen.

Schwuchtel

ist eine Bezeichnung für sich „weiblich“ benehmende schwule Männer. Diese Fremdbezeichnung wurde früher meist salopp und abwertend als Schimpfwort benutzt. Mittlerweile haben viele schwule Männer sich den Begriff angeeignet und verwenden ihn als positive Selbstbezeichnung.

toxische Männlichkeit

beschreibt eine in unserer Gesellschaft herrschende Vorstellung von Männlichkeit, die auf einem traditionellen, stereotypischen und patriarchalen Männerbild basiert, wie etwa: Männer sollen keine Schwäche zeigen, Gefühle außer Wut nicht zulassen, sie sollen hart, aggressiv und nicht zärtlich sein, schon gar nicht miteinander. Ein solch eindimensionales Männlichkeitsbild kann negative Auswirkungen auf die ganze Gesellschaft haben und Männer dazu veranlassen, sich selbst und anderen zu schaden: durch Gewalt gegen Frauen, Männer und Menschen anderer Geschlechter.

Voguing

bezeichnet eine kraftvolle tänzerische Kunstform und Subkultur, die in den Schwarzen und Latinx queeren Communitys im New York der 1970er und 1980er Jahre entstanden ist.

weiß

beschreibt keine reelle Hautfarbe und ist keine Selbstbezeichnung, sondern benennt eine privilegierte Machtposition innerhalb eines rassistischen Systems.

weißer Blick

bezeichnet einen kolonialrassistischen Blick, der sich als überlegen und berechtigt sieht, Wahrheiten schaffen zu können, auf „Andere“ zu blicken und deren Lebensrealitäten zu bewerten. Beispiele: weiße Menschen fotografieren und betrachten aus einer Machtposition heraus Schwarze Menschen, die keine Macht haben. Die wohl spektakulärsten Inszenierungen des weißen Blicks waren die „Völkerschauen“ und Kolonialausstellungen um die Jahrhundertwende, die zur Unterhaltung der Öffentlichkeit inszeniert und arrangiert wurden.

westlicher Blick

siehe „weißer Blick“