Exhibition Guide

Explore Otobong Nkanga’s exhibition There’s No Such Thing as Solid Ground at the Gropius Bau online.

Otobong Nkanga (*1974, Kano, Nigeria) was the Gropius Bau’s In House: Artist in Residence for one year in 2019. Interested in the relationship between repair and care, she deals with complex relationships between people and land as evinced through global mining and other systems of exploitation, the movement of natural resources and people, and history’s violent legacy.

Land can be understood as earth, soil and landscape, as well as the terrain on which ecological, economic, political and social issues are navigated. Interweaving media such as installation, textile, performance, painting, drawing, texts and stories to create multi-sensory encounters, Nkanga’s work is often based on a period of intensive research, teasing out the many-layered intersections between objects and actions.

Oxygen, voice and the act of breathing are elements that connect the artworks in this exhibition, from Nkanga’s reshaped sound work Wetin You Go Do? Oya Na (2020), a new aural arrangement that reconfigures her existing voice recordings, to her drawings and the three-phase project Carved to Flow (2017–2020), begun at documenta 14. These works resonate with the past and present to reveal hidden secrets, altered histories and forgotten stories.

Taste of a Stone
Kolanut Tales – Dismembered

2010–2020

As a meditative oasis, the site-specific installation opens with an indoor garden of rocks and marble pebbles. It is a landscape full of historical and geological traces, and simultaneously a space for interpersonal encounters. Nkanga probes the cultural value and stories of the stones. She asks what they can reveal about land and soil, and what roles they can take on, for instance when delineating territory or taken as a souvenir from their original location, narrating their own diasporic dislocation.

The surfaces of the limestone slabs show subtle signs of change that testify to contact with insects, plants or people, thus pointing to the interconnectivity of all systems. The freestanding textile work depicts a botanical image of dismembered plants disjoined and dislocated in pieces. Within the installation, rootless plants grow that feel at home almost anywhere. They thrive by absorbing water and nutrients through the air and their leaves, pointing to the idea of displacement: if it is not possible to take root, then adaptability is crucial for survival. The questions that plants and stones ask can also be extended to us: Where are our roots? Where do we come from?

The work is a walk-in invitation for visitors to engage with the stones, listen to how their own footsteps sound on the pebbles and find their own narrative within this context. It offers space for so-called movements and various engagements, which further activate the work during the exhibition as an open platform.

Otobong Nkanga, Taste of a Stone, 2010-2020

Otobong Nkanga, Taste of a Stone, Gropius Bau (2020), site-specific installation, boulders, gneiss, granite, iceland lichen, inkjet prints on limestone, marble pebbles, movements, plants, © Otobong Nkanga, photo: Luca Girardini

Otobong Nkanga, Contained Measures of Shifting States – Evaporate, 2012

Otobong Nkanga, Contained Measures of Shifting States – Evaporate, Gropius Bau (2020), aspirator, distilled water, hot plate, table, photo: Laura Fiorio

Contained Measures of Shifting States – Evaporate

2012

The evaporation process can be observed on the round table. Liquid slowly but steadily drips from the glass container onto a hot plate, which instantly turns into hissing steam. By observing the transformation from fluid to vapour, we witness the change in the state of things.

The installation is part of a series that makes the changing states of different elements perceptible – aiming to make the non-tangible conditions visible. In the reading of Nkanga’s work, these conditions should not only be seen as physical manifestations; they also need to be translated into the larger context of the state of the world and politics. Everything is evolving and connected, and even if – at a certain point in its process – it is not yet visible, it will still find its manifestation.

Diaspore

2014/2020

Performers in Diaspore narrate, sing and focus their stare as they navigate through a topographical map whilst carrying pots of the plant Queen of the Night (Cestrum Nocturnum) on their heads. The women, who are in constant dialogue with the plants, carefully direct their movement over the floor of a cartographic map that does not delineate which territory is being traversed.

Nkanga further explores the language of diaspore and the journey of leaving home looking for a new future. The native West Indian plant was subsequently naturalized in South Asia. It illustrates Nkanga’s interest in the complex network of social and political tensions manifesting when bodies and resources are displaced and uprooted from their origins.

The title refers to the botanical term „diaspore”, which describes all of the fruits and spores that are used to propagate plants, creating new identities. The work is a metaphor for displacement, focusing on the migrations of people and plants that have had to relocate over the course of history. It asks how people who have been displaced under harsh conditions are able to reconstruct and be resourceful. At the same time, this work fosters dialogue about the relationship between care and resistance. How can a space of care be created so that bodies are able to rest and recuperate?

Otobong Nkanga, Diaspore, 2014

Otobong Nkanga, Diaspore, site-specific installation and performance, 14 Rooms, Basel (2014), inkjet-printed topographical map laminated to the floor, Cestrum nocturnum, plant pots, © Otobong Nkanga, photo: Andri Pol

Otobong Nkanga, Manifest of Strains and Double Plot, 2018

Otobong Nkanga, Manifest of Strains, Gropius Bau (2020), aluminium, air compressor, free-floating element, glass, heating rod, metal, neon light, powder-coated steel, photo: Laura Fiorio

In a Place Yet Unknown
Manifest of Strains

2017

The circular sculpture deals with the interconnectedness of actions, with a view to opening up an overall picture of social and political states. It examines how non-visible emotional spaces and social strains can be translated and rendered tangible. In Manifest of Strains, physical and emotional states – such as anger, melancholy or numbness – are manifested in seven material-based parts related to the natural elements of water, air and fire.

As such, one section presents a glaring red neon tube; followed by the expulsion of air represented by air compression; a thermochromic change from black to silver addressing the shifting of states, be it political or emotional; another section refers to the moment of suffocation, depicted by air trapped in the glass sculpture; one section creates heat until it glows blazing red, referring to growing tension and warfare; there is a stone hovering in seeming defiance of gravity, standing for transcending a situation; one segment rusts, addressing decay and also the changeability of the elements and their states.

In this material expression, relating to the very substance of earth, Nkanga considers the state of the world: metaphorical temperatures that heat, cool and resist. It stands for the parallel timelines of violence, resistance and relative peace. The material actions are inseparable in the circle; what happens in one area cannot be disassociated from another. In this way, global events and human emotions are linked to one another in intricate and complex networks.

Double Plot

2018

The tapestry incorporates different perspectives and talks about acts that have affected land and the lives of people. The background depicts the structure of the solar system and star formations. From a bird’s-eye view, a network of lines is reminiscent of land measurements and borders, of structural divisions that create tensions. The frontal perspective shows a man without a head and hands, next to a tree holding a chord to the network of discs on the next layer. This plane zooms into photographic images of explosions and riots – moments of manifestation of power and moments where people are manipulated and controlled by power structures – such as the uprising at Tahrir Square, which is documented here and aligns with the star constellation in the background from that very day. As such, the man invites you to look up, down and forward in order to discover the double narratives and connections.

The textile work also opens up a temporality, like the light of the stars shot into the universe long before their twinkling reaches our eyes, or the politically oppressive situations playing out in parallel globally. Situations and appearances that happened at a certain time and are rendered visible at another. The depicted elements of bodies, land, and plants are literally woven together and connected and remind us that political decisions have human, geological and social repercussions. Similar to the installation Manifest of Strains, this work also thematises the notion of care and explores moments of political strain, where bodies have been pushed to a limit of tension which accumulates in uprisings and manifestations of resistance. Her works of art probe the political space of care, from where stability can be reinstated.

Otobong Nkanga, Manifest of Strains and Double Plot, 2018

Otobong Nkanga, Manifest of Strains and Double Plot, Gropius Bau (2020), tapestry: woven textile and photography; yarns: acryl and inkjet print on five laser cut metal plates, bio cotton, cashwool, polyester, viscose bast, photo: Laura Fiorio

Otobong Nkanga, Solid Maneuvers, 2015

Otobong Nkanga, Solid Maneuvers, Gropius Bau (2020), various metals, acrylic, Forex, make-up, salt, tar, vermiculite, photo: Laura Fiorio

The Leftovers
Solid Maneuvers

2017

This topographical, layered sculpture is like an equation of a negative volume becoming a positive volume: the remaining negative emptiness of one place left behind after the excavation of resources is often not visible in the end product of the erected structure.

The sculpture references the abandoned excavation, which leaves the landscape, and our relationship with it, wounded. The structures consolidate elements from underground, such as petroleum, copper, sheet metal, steel, acrylic and aluminium. Brought together and stacked, it makes us think about human-made processed materials and about how they are artificially interrelated.

The work is inspired by Nkanga’s field trip to Namibia, seeing how mountains are reduced during the process of the exploitation of natural resources. In addition to the layers of material, the sculpture references the places that have been stripped, creating holes in the layered structure. The holes stand for the empty absence of the now disfigured land, contradicting the image of the intact hill and telling of human greed.

We Could Be Allies

2017/2020

The installation We Could Be Allies is composed of visual, textual and sculptural elements, a constellation that delves into the struggles and tensions of human affective relationships, be these psychological, physical or emotional.

Otobong Nkanga, We Could Be Allies, 2017/2020

Otobong Nkanga, We Could Be Allies, Gropius Bau (2020), acrylic paint, metal, poems inkjet printed on cotton cloth, photo: Laura Fiorio

Otobong Nkanga, Drawings, 1997-2020

Otobong Nkanga, Drawings, Gropius Bau (2020), photo: Laura Fiorio

Drawings

1997–2020

“Drawing can be the first approach to think about a work or an exhibition, starting with quick sketches or drawing directly into space in order to think things through; or it can be an intimate moment in my studio that never results in an actual piece”, says Otobong Nkanga.

The artist’s works on paper from 1997-present depict bodies, landscapes and matter that connect as one entity. Such threads reinforce her approach to drawing, using it as a space that loops into her wider material practice and thinking through making. As with the inhale and exhale of breath, where we exchange invisible lines, the rhythm of drawing is a life force for Nkanga that is fundamental in forming relationships. Further information about the works is delineated on the labels in Room 6.

Wetin You Go Do? Oya Na

2020

Recorded in 2015 and transformed into a spatial composition for the Gropius Bau, the piece is a reaction to the feeling of powerlessness in the current world – facing a wave of political tension and uprising against political systems, which have often collapsed and stayed unanswered. The broken English Wetin You Go Do? asks the question What are you going to do?, which is as urgent today as it was five years ago.

Nkanga’s own voice takes different styles when lending a voice to characters and materials, especially the material of concrete, which is taken for granted, stepped on, used and extracted. Her voice splits into different characters and states when whispering, screaming, flirting, chirping and complaining. These characters all have different approaches to life, the angry one resisting a situation, the drunken voice not even being aware of the situation, or the excited one just voicing enthusiasm without action. The voices are accompanied by snapping and singing and guttural tones, carrying the poetry of the work further.

Otobong Nkanga, Wetin You Go Do? Oya Na, 2020

Otobong Nkanga, Wetin You Go Do? Oya Na, Gropius Bau (2020), multi-channel sound installation, loop 20 min, 28 sec, photo: Laura Fiorio

Otobong Nkanga, Carved to flow, Gropius Bau (2020)

Otobong Nkanga, Carved to Flow, Gropius Bau (2020), Architect and researcher: Nuno Vasconcelos, photo: Laura Fiorio

Carved to Flow
Germination

2017–2020

The project Carved to Flow is a support structure that is embedded within art and the social sphere. Consisting of three phases, the first was the Laboratory in 2017, a workshop installation in Athens during documenta 14. Ten soap prototypes were created including O8 Blackstone Soap – a coldproduction process soap comprising water, coal, lye and seven butters and oils from the Mediterranean, the Middle East, North and West Africa. The production process and the combination of these raw materials in one object reflects on the circulation of goods, bodies, geographies, traditions and stories. It contrasts the fecundity of these regions with the charred aftermath of crisis, destruction, extraction or mismanagement: states that leave peoples and environments physically gasping for air.

The second phase, Warehouse and Distribution, took place later that year during documenta 14 in Kassel as a 100-day performance involving the selling of the O8 Blackstone Soap through conversations with the public. The sale of the soaps finances the Carved to Flow Foundation, creating circularity with the previous phases.

Currently the third phase, Germination, focuses on local ecologies through research and knowledge sharing, structured around exhibitions, workshops and events. The transmission of knowledge through conversation, horizontal learning, poiesis and bodies in flow is a key aspect of this platform for research, communal production and connection. Carved to Flow is conceived as fluid and developing, replacing economies of extraction and displacement with a system of transference, where what is removed is replaced or repaid in some form. The ground-floor work space, inspired by African architecture and managed by Nuno Vasconcelos during the course of the exhibition, is a continuation of Otobong Nkanga’s residency at the Gropius Bau in 2019. It will be activated by workshop formats and conversations and the constant evolving presence of materials.

Ausstellungsguide

Entdecken Sie Otobong Nkangas Ausstellung There’s No Such Thing as Solid Ground im Gropius Bau online.

Otobong Nkanga (*1974, Kano, Nigeria) war 2019 für ein Jahr In House: Artist in Residence im Gropius Bau. Ihr Interesse gilt Strukturen von Reparatur und Fürsorge. Die Künstlerin beschäftigt sich mit den komplexen Beziehungen zwischen Mensch und Land, die sich in den globalen Systemen von Ausbeutung und Bergbau sowie in den Strömen von Menschen und natürlichen Ressourcen zeigen.

Land ist in ihren Arbeiten auf vielfache Weise zu verstehen: als die Erde, der Boden und die Landschaft; als ein Bereich, auf dem ökologische, wirtschaftliche, politische und soziale Themen verhandelt werden. Nkangas Werk beruht auf intensiven Recherchen und verwebt unterschiedliche Medien miteinander, darunter Installation, Textil, Performance, Zeichnung, Texte und Erzählungen.

Es erinnert daran, dass Objekte und Handlungen nicht losgelöst voneinander betrachtet werden können. Sauerstoff, Stimme und der Vorgang des Atmens verbinden die Kunstwerke in dieser Ausstellung miteinander: Von Nkangas Soundarbeit Wetin You Go Do? Oya Na (2020), einer neuen Version von Stimmaufnahmen für den Gropius Bau, zu ihren Zeichnungen oder dem dreiteiligen Projekt Carved to Flow (2017–2020), das seinen Ursprung während der documenta 14 nahm. Ihre Werke resonieren mit der Vergangenheit und der Gegenwart, um verborgene Geheimnisse, neu erzählte und vergessene Geschichten zu enthüllen.

Taste of a Stone
Kolanut Tales – Dismembered

2010–2020

Die Installation Taste of a Stone eröffnet eine meditative Oase, einen Innengarten aus Felsen und weißen Kieselsteinen. Es entsteht eine Landschaft voller geschichtlicher und geologischer Spuren und zugleich ein Raum für menschliche Begegnungen. Nkanga fragt nach den Geschichten von Steinen und ihrem kulturellen Wert. Und sie fragt, was Steine über das Land und den Boden erzählen können. Welche Rollen können sie übernehmen, wenn Steine zum Beispiel ein Grundstück abstecken? Oder wenn sie als Erinnerung von ihrem ursprünglichen Ort mitgenommen werden und so auch über Entfremdung erzählen?

Die Oberflächen der Kalksteinplatten zeigen feine Veränderungen, die vom Kontakt mit Insekten, Pflanzen oder Menschen zeugen. Die freistehende Textilarbeit Kolanut Tales – Dismembered zeigt botanische Abbildungen von zerlegten Pflanzenteilen. In der raumgreifenden Installation wachsen zwischen den Steinen wurzellose Pflanzen, die Wasser und Nährstoffe durch ihre Blätter aufnehmen und sich grundsätzlich überall zu Hause fühlen. Mit diesen Pflanzen deutet Nkanga auf das Thema der Vertreibung hin: Umso weniger es möglich ist Wurzeln zu schlagen, desto entscheidender ist Anpassungsfähigkeit für das Überleben. Diese Fragen, die die Künstlerin den Pflanzen und Steinen zuschreibt, können auch auf uns Menschen erweitert werden: Wo sind unsere Wurzeln, woher kommen wir?

Die Installation ist eine begehbare Einladung für Besucher*innen sich mit den Steinen zu beschäftigen, den eigenen Schritten zuzuhören und ihre eigene Erzählung darin zu finden. Sie bietet Raum für sogenannte Movements, die die Installation während der Ausstellungsdauer weiter beleben.

Otobong Nkanga, Taste of a Stone, 2010-2020

Otobong Nkanga, Taste of a Stone, Gropius Bau (2020), Ortsspezifische Installation, Findlinge, Gneis, Granit, Inkjet-Druck auf Kalkstein, Islandmoos, Marmorkies, Movements, Pflanzen, © Otobong Nkanga, Foto: Luca Girardini

Otobong Nkanga, Contained Measures of Shifting States – Evaporate, 2012

Otobong Nkanga, Contained Measures of Shifting States – Evaporate, Gropius Bau (2020), Tisch, Aspirator, destilliertes Wasser, Heizplatte, Foto: Laura Fiorio

Contained Measures of Shifting States – Evaporate

2012

Auf dem runden Tisch ist ein Verdunstungsprozess zu beobachten. Flüssigkeit tropft stetig auf eine heiße Platte, die sich dort sofort zischend in Dampf verwandelt. Indem wir diese Verwandlung von flüssig zu dampfend verfolgen, beobachten wir die Veränderung eines physikalischen Zustandes. Die Installation ist Teil einer Arbeitsserie, die sich veränderbare Zustände von unterschiedlichen Elementen sinnlich wahrnehmbar macht und die Wandelbarkeit von Materialien thematisiert. Hier werden nicht greifbare Zustände sichtbar.

In Nkangas Arbeitsweise sind diese Zustände nicht nur die physischen Erscheinungsformen von sich ändernden Elementen, sondern müssen in einen größeren politischen Kontext gesetzt werden, mit dem die Künstlerin die Welt begreifen will. Alles ist miteinander verbunden und entwickelt sich ständig weiter. An bestimmten Punkten eines Prozesses mag eine Entwicklung vielleicht noch nicht erkennbar sein, sie wird an einem Punkt aber sichtbar werden.

Diaspore

2014/2020

In der Performance Diaspore durchqueren erzählende und singende Performerinnen auf einer topografischen Karte den Ausstellungsraum. Ihren Blick haben sie konzentriert auf den Boden gerichtet. Auf ihren Köpfen tragen sie Töpfe mit der Pflanze „Königin der Nacht“ (Cestrum nocturnum). Die Frauen befinden sich in einem ständigen Dialog mit der Pflanze. Ihre Bewegungen leiten sie vorsichtig über den Boden mit der Landkarte. Diese gibt nicht zu erkennen, um welches Land es sich handeln könnte.

Die ursprünglich in Westindien wachsende Pflanze wurde in Südasien angesiedelt. Die Arbeit veranschaulicht so das Interesse der Künstlerin an komplexen Netzwerken sozialer und politischer Spannungen. Momente, in denen Körper und Ressourcen von ihrem Ursprung verdrängt und entwurzelt werden. Nkanga erforscht hier Zustände der Diaspora, also dem Leben in der Fremde, wenn die Heimat verlassen werden musste und nach einer neuen Zukunft gesucht wird.

Der Titel verweist auch auf den botanischen Begriff „Diaspore“. Er beschreibt Früchte und Sporen, die der Verbreitung von Pflanzen dienen. Die künstlerische Arbeit ist ein Sinnbild für Entwurzelung und Vertreibung. Sie thematisiert die Migrationen von Menschen und Pflanzen, die im Laufe der Geschichte umsiedeln mussten. Es geht um Menschen, die vertrieben werden und sich wieder etwas aufbauen. Die Performance öffnet den Dialog über das Verhältnis von Fürsorge und Widerstand. Wie kann ein Ort geschaffen werden, in dem sich Körper, die sich widersetzen mussten, wieder erholen und aufbauen können?

Otobong Nkanga, Diaspore, 2014

Otobong Nkanga, Diaspore , ortsspezifische Installation und Performance, 14 Räume, Basel (2014), auf den Boden laminierte topografische Karte (Tintenstrahldruck), Cestrum nocturnum, Pflanzentöpfe, © Otobong Nkanga, Foto: Andri Pol

Otobong Nkanga, Manifest of Strains und Double Plot, 2018

Otobong Nkanga, Manifest of Strains and Double Plot, Gropius Bau (2020), Aluminium, freischwebendes Element, Glas Heizkabel, Luftkompressor, Metall, Neonlicht, pulverbeschichteter Stahl, Foto: Laura Fiorio

In a Place Yet Unknown
Manifest of Strains

2017

Die ringförmige Skulptur Manifest of Strains beschäftigt sich mit der Vernetzung von Handlungen. Sie zeichnet ein Bild unseres politischen und gesellschaftlichen Zusammenlebens. Nkanga untersucht hier, wie Gefühle und der Raum, den sie einnehmen, übersetzt und (be)greifbar werden können. Gefühle und psychologische Zustände wie Melancholie, Taubheit oder Wut werden in sieben Abschnitten sichtbar.

Jeder dieser Abschnitte basiert auf einem besonderen Material, das sich auf die Grundelemente Wasser, Luft und Feuer bezieht. In einem Bereich ist eine leuchtend rote Neonröhre zu sehen. Im Bereich daneben geht es um Luftkompression, also um das Ausatmen von Luft. Es folgt ein thermochromer Wechsel von Schwarz zu Silber, der durch die Veränderung der Temperatur des Farbpigments entsteht. Dieser Effekt verweist auf den politischen und emotionalen Wechsel von Zuständen. Ein anderer Abschnitt bezieht sich auf den Moment des Erstickens. Eingeschlossen Luft in einer Glasskulptur versinnbildlicht dieses Gefühl. Ein weiterer Bereich erzeugt Hitze, bis er flammend rot leuchtet. Er verweist auf wachsende Spannungen und Kriege. An anderer Stelle scheint ein schwebender Stein der Schwerkraft zu trotzen. Auf diese Weise erzählt er von der Möglichkeit der Überwindung eines Zustandes. Und noch ein Bereich rostet. Damit ist er Sinnbild für den Zerfall und die Veränderlichkeit der Elemente und ihrer Zustände.

Die Künstlerin denkt über die Zustände der Welt nach, indem sie mit Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten von Material arbeitet, zum Beispiel mit Temperaturen, die sich abkühlen oder aufheizen. Da sie in einem Kreis zusammengefasst sind, können sie nicht voneinander getrennt betrachtet werden: Was in einem Bereich passiert, kann nicht aus einem anderen ausgesperrt werden. Für Nkanga sind die weltweiten Vorkommnisse und menschlichen Gefühle in weitreichenden Netzwerken miteinander verbunden.

Double Plot

2018

Der Wandteppich Double Plot erzählt von Zuständen und Situationen, die Land und Menschen beeinflussen. In mehreren Bildebenen zeigt er verschiedene, miteinander verwobene Perspektiven. Der Hintergrund des Teppichs ist von dem Sonnensystem und von Sternformationen gegliedert. Aus der Vogelperspektive sieht man ein Liniennetzwerk, das an Landvermessungen und Grenzen erinnert: strukturelle Veränderungen, die an dem Land vorgenommen werden und die zu Konflikten führen können. Die Draufsicht zeigt einen kopflosen Mann neben einem blühenden Baum. Seine Hände halten wie an Zügeln kreisrunde fotografische Bilder, die ein weiteres Element des Wandteppichs bilden. Die Fotografien zeigen Bilder von Unruhen und Ausschreitungen. Es sind Momente, in denen bestimmte Machtsysteme Menschen manipulieren und kontrollieren. So sind zum Beispiel Demonstrationen am Tahrir-Platz (Platz der Befreiung) in Kairo zu sehen, ein zentraler Ort der ägyptischen Volksaufstände im Jahr 2011. Eine Sternenkonstellation im Hintergrund des Bildes bezieht sich auf das Datum einer dieser Unruhen. Der Mann lädt ein nach oben, nach unten und nach vorne zu sehen und so die sich verstrickenden Verbindungen zu entdecken.

Auch verknüpft der Wandteppich verschiedene Zeitlichkeiten miteinander – von der auch die Abbildung der Sterne erzählen: Sie schickten ihr Licht weit vor unserer Zeit im Universum los, bevor ihr Funkeln unser Auge erreicht. Auch Zustände der politischen Unterdrückung auf der ganzen Welt haben ihre ganz eigene Zeitlichkeit: Sie entwickeln sich zu einem bestimmten Moment und werden oft erst zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt sichtbar. Körper, Landschaften und Pflanzen sind in Double Plot miteinander verwoben und verbunden. Sie erinnern daran, dass politische Entscheidungen menschliche, geologische und gesellschaftliche Ursachen und Auswirkungen haben. Zudem behandelt diese künstlerische Arbeit – ebenso wie die mittig im Raum zu sehende Installation Manifest of Strains – die Idee der Fürsorge. Nkanga geht es auch hier darum, wie politische Verhältnisse Körper an die Grenze der Belastbarkeit bringen und wie sich Widerstände als Reaktion darauf regen. Ihre Arbeiten fragen nach einem politischen Ort der Fürsorge, von dem ausgehend Stabilität wiederhergestellt werden kann.

Otobong Nkanga, Manifest of Strains and Double Plot, 2018

Otobong Nkanga, Manifest of Strains and Double Plot, Gropius Bau (2020), Teppich: gewebtes Textil und Fotografie; Garne: Viskosebast, Polyester, Bio-Baumwolle, Schafswolle, Acryl und Inkjet-Druck auf fünf lasergeschnittenen Metallplatten, Foto: Laura Fiorio

Otobong Nkanga, Solid Maneuvers, 2015

Otobong Nkanga, Solid Maneuvers, Gropius Bau (2020), verschiedene Metalle, Acryl, Asphalt, Forex, Make-up, Salz, Vermiculit, Foto: Laura Fiorio

The Leftovers
Solid Maneuvers

2017

Die in Schichten gestapelte Skulptur Solid Maneuvers hat eine topografische Form, also eine Form, die die verschiedenen Oberflächen eines Gebietes abbildet. Sie ist wie eine Gleichung, in der ein negatives Volumen zu einem positiven Volumen wird.

Nkanga beschäftigt sich hier mit der negativen Leere eines Ortes, wie er zum Beispiel nach dem Abbau von Rohstoffen „verwundet“ zurückbleibt. Diese Leere ist nicht mehr sichtbar in dem Endprodukt, das aus den abgebauten Ressourcen geschaffen wurde und sich oft an einem ganz anderen Ort befindet. Die Skulptur bezieht sich auf diejenigen Abbaugebiete, die nicht nur die Landschaft verwundet zurücklassen, sondern auch unsere Beziehung zu ihr. Acryl, Aluminium, Blech, Erdöl, Kupfer und Stahl kommen in dieser Skulptur zusammen. All dies sind Materialien, die unter der Erde gewonnen werden. Die Künstlerin stapelt sie aufeinander, um uns über Materialien, die von Menschen verarbeitet werden, nachdenken zu lassen.

Diese Materialien regen außerdem zum Denken darüber an, wie sie künstlich in Beziehung gesetzt werden. Nkanga entwickelte diese künstlerische Arbeit nach einer Reise nach Namibia, bei der sie die Zerstörung von Bergen beobachtete, die durch die Ausbeutung natürlicher Ressourcen geschah. Die Skulptur offenbart zusätzlich zu den Materialschichten auch diejenigen Bereiche, die entfernt wurden. Diese bleiben als Löcher in der Zusammensetzung der Schichten zurück. Die Löcher stehen für die Leere und Abwesenheit des entstellten Landes, der amputierten Hügel, die von der Habgier der Menschen erzählen.

We Could Be Allies

2017/2020

Die Installation We Could Be Allies besteht aus visuellen, textuellen und skulpturalen Elementen. Miteinander verbunden erzählen sie von den Kämpfen und Spannungen menschlicher Beziehungen und Gefühle – seien sie psychologischer, stofflicher oder emotionaler Natur.

Otobong Nkanga, We Could Be Allies, 2017/2020

Otobong Nkanga, We Could Be Allies, Gropius Bau (2020), Acrylfarbe, Gedichte im Tintenstrahldruckverfahren auf Baumwollstoff gedruckt, Metall, Foto: Laura Fiorio

Otobong Nkanga, Zeichnungen, 1997-2020

Otobong Nkanga, Zeichnungen, Gropius Bau (2020), Foto: Laura Fiorio

Zeichnungen

1997–2020

„Zeichnen kann der erste Ansatz sein, um über eine Arbeit oder eine Ausstellung nachzudenken. Es kann mit schnellen Skizzen oder dem Zeichnen direkt im Raum beginnen, um Dinge zu überdenken; oder es kann ein intimer Moment in meinem Studio sein, der nie zu einer tatsächlichen Arbeit führt“ so die Künstlerin.

Nkangas Papierarbeiten von 1997 bis heute zeigen Körper, Land und Materie, die sich zu einer Einheit verbinden. Diese Themen verflechten sich in ihren Zeichnungen. Sie begreift diese als einen Raum, in dem sich ihre Auseinandersetzung mit Materialien und ihr Denken, das sich in der künstlerischen Umsetzung ausdrückt, verbinden. Wie beim Ein- und Ausatmen, bei dem wir unsichtbare Linien austauschen, ist der Rhythmus des Zeichnens für Nkanga eine wesentliche Lebenskraft, die für die Gestaltung von Beziehungen grundlegend ist. Weitere Informationen zu den Arbeiten finden Sie auf den Labels in Raum 6.

Wetin You Go Do? Oya Na

2020

Für den Gropius Bau verwandelt Nkanga eine Tonaufnahme von 2015 in eine räumliche Komposition. Sie entstand damals als Reaktion auf das Gefühl der Ohnmacht in der heutigen Welt. Sie ist auch eine Reaktion auf eine Zeit, die von politischen Spannungen geprägt ist und von Aufständen gegen politische Systeme, die zusammenbrechen und doch unbeantwortet zurückbleiben. Die Frage Wetin You Go Do? lässt sich aus dem gebrochenem Englisch übersetzen mit Was wirst du tun?.

Nkanga selbst spricht in dieser Tonaufnahme in verschiedenen Charakteren. Sie verleiht auch Materialien eine Stimme, vor allem dem Material Beton. Denn Beton gilt oft als selbstverständlich, wird betreten, verwendet und seine Grundelemente werden abgebaut. Die Stimme der Künstlerin vermittelt unterschiedliche Stimmungen. Sie flüstert, schreit, flirtet, zwitschert und beschwert sich. Die von ihr gesprochenen Charaktere nehmen so immer wieder neue Standpunkte ein: Sie sind wütend und widersetzen sich einer Situation; sie sind betrunken und werden sich einer Situation bewusst; sie sind freudig erregt und bringen nur Begeisterung zum Ausdruck ohne eine Handlung vorzuschlagen. Die Stimme wird von Schnipslauten, von Singen und von kehligen Tönen begleitet, die die Musikalität und Poesie dieser künstlerischen Arbeit unterstreichen.

Otobong Nkanga, Wetin You Go Do? Oya Na, 2020

Otobong Nkanga, Wetin You Go Do? Oya Na, Gropius Bau (2020), Mehrkanal-Sound-Installation, Loop, 20 Min., 28 Sek., Foto: Laura Fiorio

Otobong Nkanga, Carved to flow, Gropius Bau (2020)

Otobong Nkanga, Carved to Flow, Gropius Bau (2020), Architekt und Researcher: Nuno Vasconcelos, Foto: Laura Fiorio

Carved to Flow
Germination

2017–2020

Das Projekt Carved to Flow ist als unterstützende Struktur konzipiert, die aktiv in den gesellschaftlichen Bereich eingebunden ist. Es besteht aus drei Stadien. Das erste Stadium ist das Laboratory, eine Workshop-Installation, in der verschiedene Seifenrezepte ausprobiert werden und die ihren Ursprung während der Großausstellung documenta 14 in Athen nahm. Hier entstanden zehn Seifen-Prototypen, darunter die O8 Blackstone Soap, eine im Kalt-Press-Verfahren hergestellte Seife, die aus Wasser, Kohle und Lauge besteht. Außerdem beinhaltet sie sieben verschiedene Fette und Öle, die aus Regionen rund um das Mittelmeer, dem mittleren Orient sowie Nord- und Westafrika stammen. Der Herstellungsprozess dieser Seife sowie das Vereinen der Rohstoffe zu einem Objekt symbolisieren den Umlauf von Materialien, Körpern, Geografien, Traditionen und Geschichten.

Das zweite Stadium Warehouse and Distribution fand während der documenta 14 in Kassel als eine 100-tägige Performance statt, bei der die O8 Blackstone-Seife bei Gesprächen mit dem Publikum verkauft wurde. Mit dem Verkauf der Seifen wird die Carved to Flow Foundation finanziert, wodurch der Kreis zu den vorhergehenden Stadien geschlossen wird.

Derzeit konzentriert sich das dritte Kapitel Germination auf lokale Ökologien. Workshops und Veranstaltungen, die sich thematisch auf die Ausstellung beziehen, machen Materialforschung und Wissen zugänglich. Die Weitergabe von Wissen durch Gespräche, Lernen, Poiesis und fließenden Körpern ist ein wichtiger Teil des Projekts als Plattform für Forschung, kommunaler Produktion und Beziehungen. Carved to Flow entwickelt sich stetig weiter und ersetzt Ökonomien der Ausbeutung und Verdrängung durch ein System des Austauschs: das was entfernt wird, wird ersetzt oder in einer anderen Form zurückgezahlt. Der Arbeitsraum von Carved to Flow, inspiriert von afrikanischer Architektur und eine Fortsetzung von Otobong Nkangas Aufenthalt am Gropius Bau 2019, wird während der Ausstellung von Nuno Vasconcelos geleitet. Workshop-Formate und Gespräche sowie die stetig wachsende Präsenz von Materialien aktivieren den Raum.