Yayoi Kusama, “Infinity Mirror Room – Phalli’s Field”, 1965

Yayoi Kusama, Infinity Mirror Room – Phalli’s Field, 1965 © YAYOI KUSAMA

Exhibitions 2020

Akinbode Akinbiyi: Six Songs, Swirling Gracefully in the Taut Air

7 February to 17 May 2020

The photography exhibition Six Songs, Swirling Gracefully in the Taut Air brings together works from various long-term series composed by Berlin-based Nigerian photographer Akinbode Akinbiyi, who has captured intimate scenes and communal life in cities such as Lagos, Berlin, Johannesburg, Bamako and Chicago, among many other locations.
More about the exhibition

Lee Mingwei

27 March to 7 June 2020

Lee Mingwei’s artistic practice is primarily concerned with rituals of giving and receiving. From 27 March to 7 June 2020, the Gropius Bau will present a solo exhibition by the artist, showing his installations and performances from the last thirty years. Central to the exhibition is an exploration of art’s potential to be a transformative gift.
More about the exhibition

The Cool and the Cold. Malerei der USA und der UdSSR 1960–1990
Sammlung Ludwig

25 April to 6 September 2020

In the year marking the 30th anniversary of German reunification, the Gropius Bau will host a group exhibition uniting paintings created during the Cold War in both centres of global political power, including works by Andy Warhol, Il’ja Kabakov, Jackson Pollock, Helen Frankenthaler and Erik Bulatov.
More about the exhibition

Otobong Nkanga

30 April to 2 August 2020

Otobong Nkanga’s interest lies in the complex relationship between humans and land. In her works, she explores this relationship within the tension between exploitative extraction processes and structures of care and repair. Following her one-year stay 2019 at the Gropius Bau, the solo exhibition will offer insights into the central issues of her work.
More about the exhibition

Yayoi Kusama

4 September 2020 to 17 January 2021

Yayoi Kusama is one of Japan’s most important contemporary artists. In autumn 2020, the Gropius Bau will devote the first comprehensive retrospective in Germany to Kusama’s work, offering an overview of every creative period from the last seventy years and featuring current paintings as well as a new Infinity Room by the artist.
More about the exhibition

Thea Djordjadze

10 September to 13 December 2020

Thea Djordjadze’s artistic practice can be understood as a process of continually reusing, reconfiguring and rearranging objects. Starting on 10 September 2020, the Gropius Bau presents existing and newly created works by the Berlin-based artist, whose sculptures and interventions engage in a dialogue with the historic building.
More about the exhibition

Masculinities: Liberation through Photography

16 October 2020 bis 10 January 2021

Featuring works by Laurie Anderson, Richard Avedon, Rotimi Fani-Kayode, Isaac Julien and Annette Messager, a comprehensive group exhibition at the Gropius Bau titled Masculinities: Liberation through Photography explores the ways in which masculinity is experienced, performed and socially constructed from the 1960s to the present day.
More about the exhibition

In House: Artist in Residence 2020
Zheng Bo

Artist and theorist Zheng Bo will occupy a studio at the Gropius Bau for one year as new In House: Artist in Residence. Past and future are the central parameters of his politically and scientifically informed artistic practice, in which he deals with socio-economic themes and the relationship between man and nature.
More about the residency

Yayoi Kusama, „Infinity Mirror Room – Phalli’s Field“, 1965

Yayoi Kusama, Infinity Mirror Room – Phalli’s Field, 1965 © YAYOI KUSAMA, Courtesy: Ota Fine Arts, Victoria Miro & David Zwirner

Ausstellungen 2020

Akinbode Akinbiyi: Six Songs, Swirling Gracefully in the Taut Air

7. Februar bis 17. Mai 2020

Die Fotografieausstellung Six Songs, Swirling Gracefully in the Taut Air versammelt Arbeiten des in Berlin lebenden nigerianischen Fotografen Akinbode Akinbiyi, der unter anderem in Städten wie Lagos, Berlin, Johannesburg, Bamako und Chicago das menschliche Zusammenleben festgehalten hat.
Mehr zur Ausstellung

Lee Mingwei: 禮 Li, Geschenke und Rituale

27. März bis 7. Juni 2020

Im Mittelpunkt von Lee Mingweis künstlerischer Praxis stehen Rituale des Schenkens und Beschenktwerdens. Vom 27. März bis 7. Juni 2020 zeigt der Gropius Bau eine Einzelausstellung des Künstlers, die seine Performances und Installationen der letzten drei Jahrzehnte präsentiert und Kunst als transformatives Geschenk untersucht.
Mehr zur Ausstellung

The Cool and the Cold. Malerei der USA und der UdSSR 1960–1990
Sammlung Ludwig

25. April bis 6. September 2020

Im Jahr des 30. Jubiläums der deutschen Wiedervereinigung ist im Gropius Bau eine Gruppenausstellung zu sehen, die zur Zeit des Kalten Krieges entstandene Gemälde aus beiden weltpolitischen Machtzentren vereint – unter anderem Arbeiten von Andy Warhol, Il’ja Kabakov, Jackson Pollock, Helen Frankenthaler und Erik Bulatov.
Mehr zur Ausstellung

Otobong Nkanga

30. April bis 2. August 2020

Otobong Nkangas Interesse gilt der komplexen Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Land, die sie in ihren Arbeiten im Spannungsfeld von ausbeuterischen Extraktionsverfahren und Strukturen von Reparatur und Fürsorge untersucht. Nach ihrer einjährigen Residency 2019 im Gropius Bau bietet die Einzelausstellung einen Einblick in zentrale Fragestellungen ihres Schaffens.
Mehr zur Ausstellung

Yayoi Kusama

4. September 2020 bis 17. Januar 2021

Yayoi Kusama zählt zu den bedeutendsten japanischen Künstler*innen der Gegenwart. Im Herbst 2020 widmet der Gropius Bau Kusama die erste umfassende Retrospektive in Deutschland, die einen Überblick über ihr Schaffen der letzten siebzig Jahre bietet und neben aktuellen Gemälden einen neuen Infinity Mirrored Room und Installation der Künstlerin umfasst.
Mehr zur Ausstellung

Thea Djordjadze

10. September bis 13. Dezember 2020

Thea Djordjadzes künstlerische Praxis lässt sich als Prozess des beständigen Wiederverwertens, Rekonfigurierens und Neuordnens von Objekten begreifen. In der umfangreichen Werkschau der Künstlerin treten bestehende und neue, speziell für den Gropius Bau entwickelte Arbeiten in einen Dialog mit dem geschichtsträchtigen Gebäude.
Mehr zur Ausstellung

Masculinities: Liberation through Photography

16. Oktober 2020 bis 10. Januar 2021

Die Gruppenausstellung Masculinities: Liberation through Photography versammelt unter anderem Arbeiten von Laurie Anderson, Richard Avedon, Rotimi Fani-Kayode, Isaac Julien sowie Annette Messager und untersucht, auf welche Weise Männlichkeit seit den 1960er Jahren erlebt, performativ hergestellt und sozial konstruiert wird.
Mehr zur Ausstellung

In House: Artist in Residence 2020
Zheng Bo

Als dritter In House: Artist in Residence wird der Künstler und Theoretiker Zheng Bo für ein Jahr ein Studio im Gropius Bau beziehen. Vergangenheit und Zukunft sind zentrale Parameter seiner politisch und wissenschaftlich informierten künstlerischen Praxis, in der er sich mit sozialökonomischen Themen und dem Verhältnis von Mensch und Natur befasst.
Mehr über die Residency